We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Carholme Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carholme Guest House
Ranked #39 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Carholme Guest House was perfect for our stay in Lincoln: comfy beds, well-appointed room, really good breakfast (for one vegetarian and one meat-eater). It's also a really good location, with parking permits available FOC, and a lovely walk into town. And Paula is the perfect host - really helpful suggestions, and great with our last-minute changes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nether Wallop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the best breakfasts in Lincolnshire, a truly perfectly poached egg with crisp bacon, lots of coffee and toast. Lynne was so friendly and made me really welcome on what will be the first of many visits. Comfortable room, beautifully clean with nice sheets and fluffy towels. Carholme will be hard to beat, thank you for a good stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Agalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

It was the first time we visited Lincoln and we did so for a wedding locally. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. We knew we didn't want a soul-less chain hotel but we couldn't have picked better. Paula was flexible around our timings for the wedding and her plans (for her birthday) to let us check in and the small touches when we came home didn't go unnoticed. From chocolates and water (ideal if you need a bit of rehydration) to a spotless room with incredibly fresh bedding, the type of things you notice because they're worth noticing. Paula must work incredibly hard to maintain the high standards of Carholme because the reviews seem consistent, well deserved. And the breakfast, we couldn't have asked for anything more. She had everything and offered more, including lovely conversation both with her and Steve and good city recommendations. Would love to visit Lincoln again and without a doubt would only stay here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03Hannah-E75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have just spent a great weekend in Lincoln staying at the Carholme Guest House. This is a lovely, family-run B & B. My room was very comfortable and, though I had only booked a single room, Paula had thoughtfully "promoted" me to a double with ensuite because she's had a cancellation. There's a great deal of choice on offer at breakfast and both of mine were delicious. I'd recommend the Carholme to anyone looking for good-value, welcoming accommodation in Lincoln.

Catherine from Edinburgh

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I have been working in Lincoln for the last month,and have stayed at the Carholme for the past 3 weeks.Paula and john and wonderful hosts and the place is spotless,nicely decorated and unlike other houses everything in the rooms work i.e remote control for tv.
For as long as I am working in Lincoln I will definitely only be staying at the Carholme guesthouse.
So if your ever in Lincoln either on business or pleasure do yourself a favour
Dont even bother looking anywhere else cause the Carholme will be hard to beat

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Paula and Steve thoroughly deserve all the excellent reviews they receive for their hard work at Carholme. We had a fantastic stay and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. We couldn't fault anything. The room was lovely, breakfast amazing, and Carholme is in an ideal location with easy access by foot into Lincoln. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Although in Lincoln for business, our stay at Carholme transformed it into a holiday experience. Paula and Steve are wonderful hosts, rooms were very clean and nicely decorated, and I think I gained 5 kilos due solely to the outstanding breakfasts. I know I will stay at Carholme the next time I am in Lincoln.

Thank you for a wonderful experience!
Jeff Tomberlin

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.3 mi away
Brayford Guest House
Brayford Guest House
#9 of 48 in Lincoln
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tennyson
The Tennyson
#20 of 48 in Lincoln
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#29 of 48 in Lincoln
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tennyson Court
Tennyson Court
#36 of 48 in Lincoln
97 reviews
4.3 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carholme Guest House

Property: Carholme Guest House
Address: 175 Carholme Road, Lincoln LN1 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4* rated Guest House situated within walking distance of Lincoln City Centre, University, Cathedral and Castle (Bailgate), and all local shopping areas. En-suite rooms with flat screen TV's with Freeview, Free unlimited Wifi throughout, well stocked beverage trays and comfortable beds. Freshly prepared breakfasts and special diets can be catered for. Free parking permits allowing parking at front of Guest House. Secure parking for 2 cars, numerous pushbikes and motorbikes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing