We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent dining experience”
Review of Yo Yo in Beijing

Yo Yo in Beijing
Ranked #325 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had lunch here, and it was outstanding! A self service 'as much as you can eat' restaurant, something I usually see as a personal challenge, the food was so good that I had a small 'one of everything'. As each dish was eaten the plates were cleared and the table wiped.
The dishes were arranged in heated containers, all the hot dishes were hot, there was a good selection of main courses and a good selection of sweets. I was particularly impressed with the softy ice cream machine and the chocolate fountain, an irresistible combination. All the staff were genuinely friendly and welcoming, which made the whole experience worthwhile. Incidentally, the toilets were clean and regularly inspected.
My compliments and thanks to all the staff and cooks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    87
    46
    45
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scarborough, yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Won't be going back”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Not a bad selection of food but the quality was not good, service was pretty good but then again it wasn't very busy for a Friday evening, sure there must be better places to eat in lincoln try them instead

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Service friendly if you walk in with a smile on your face. Ambience OK; obviously not intimate. Price....I guess about right.

Otherwise not up to standard and I contrast this with the long defunct Big Wok which, for all it's faults, served hot tasty food:
- Sauces were unnecessarily greasy because there were no slotted serving spoons to drain.
- Most food was lukewarm, especially rice, noodles, breaded mushrooms etc. It helped to 'stir before you serve', but staff should be doing this.
- I question whether I was really eating the protein described, particularly the beef. It had a slithery texture.
- The website advertised '10% OFF and a FREE DRINK, which I claimed but was denied.
- The online menu included specifically 'Deep Fried King Prawn' as a daytime dish but the waiter confirmed that this was only served in the evening. He also shrugged in acknowledgement when I asked for my free drink.

So in summary not a disaster, but I won't go again and intend reporting the website false claim to Lincoln Trading Standards.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illbeburgered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lots of choice”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The price as gone up since my last visit, so quite expensive now. Lots of choice, but smaller plates/bowls so if you want your moneysworth you have to have several helpings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerihen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Expensive, poor quality food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Having not been to Yo Yo for around 5 years, I decided to give it a go again.

We visited on a Saturday lunch time with open minds, looking forward to some Asian cuisine.

At over £8 per head on a Saturday lunch, this is very expensive for what turned out to be over-cooked slimy food with very little taste.

The meat was very poor quality and of slimy consistency. It's here was no texture, which was extremely disappointing.

The starters section consisted of prawn crackers, spring rolls, vegetable samosas, prawn toast, vegetable won-tons and deep-fried chicken wings. The prawn toast was incredibly dry.

There were also onion rings and potato wedges. Whilst the selection was plentiful, the quality was poor.

The shredded chicken for filling the pancakes was incredibly dry and tough.

The rest of the main courses were bland and uninteresting.

The staff quickly cleared plates away but weren't overly friendly.

I won't be returning to the restaurant again. I'd much rather spend more and eat a better standard of food at Harbour City (all you can eat, but table-served).

Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yo Yo in Beijing also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Yo Yo in Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing