We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a lovely room”

The Green Room Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 453 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely room”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We took friends from out of town and they were impressed by the stunning view of the Cathedral from our table. The room itself is well-proportioned and attractively decorated with a pleasant ambience. The steaks with creamed leeks or garlic mushrooms were delicious, and the chips were excellent. The puddings were the best kind - made with skill and love - and the cheese selection was generous and varied. One small concern we raised was dealt with professionally and discreetly, and the staff were excellent throughout. Prices were very reasonable compared with other restaurants in Lincoln serving food of a similar quality. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gapdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    37
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My wife and I were on a 3 night stay in the Lincoln Hotel, where the Green Room restaurant is located. We ate in the restaurant on 2 of the nights. The decor of the restaurant is subtle and attractive and made for an enjoyably relaxing meal. Portions were not huge but just right. Altogether we had the steak, lamb cutlet, trout and cod with accompanying vegetables and all were superbly cooked and presented and tasted delicious. For dessert the cheesecake and maple pannacotta were lovely. Added to that the service was excellent, i.e. friendly but not overbearing. We would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and will definitely return to it when we are next in Lincoln!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Sunday evening can be a problem but dinner in the Green Room at the Lincoln Hotel was very good. Good portions well served.The champagne was a little warm but reasonably priced.
Well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrexon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect....lincoln's best kept secret!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The restaurant is excellent, I'm very unsure why there are not more reviews for it. The food and service are fantastic and a great location overlooking the cathedral has to be one of the best views in the city. We got married at this hotel 5 years ago (prior to the Green Room opening), we have eaten at the hotel sometime ago and the food has always been great, I've also used the hotel for a work conference with dining, this too was first class....nothing too much trouble.

I think most of the diners are hotel guests, however the restaurant to open to non-residents. I'm not sure why this restaurant/hotel is not more talked about as on every occasion I have found it to be more superior than The white hart and Castle hotels.

I'm sure if you visit you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank markjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value, and excellent quality”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Friendly staff, good quality food well served. View of the Cathedral from your table. Reasonably priced wine list.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pecabarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Room Restaurant also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Green Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing