We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early Eater”

The Green Room Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Early Eater”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Well-cooked and relatively adventurous cooking. The overall impression was pleasant, though the room itself is rather dismal and blank.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    34
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and good food”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Now open for dinner all week this is a safe choice. A one rosette restaurant in the Lincoln Hotel is clearly busier than before. Interesting menu. Fair wine prices and excellent service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank vincitveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went for birthday meal :
Standard of the food was a little
of a let down, very small portions , ham hock terrine urghh . Poor value for the cost .
Desserts were the same . Been in past it seemed better then ?
Service and surroundings good

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank samelainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely room”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We took friends from out of town and they were impressed by the stunning view of the Cathedral from our table. The room itself is well-proportioned and attractively decorated with a pleasant ambience. The steaks with creamed leeks or garlic mushrooms were delicious, and the chips were excellent. The puddings were the best kind - made with skill and love - and the cheese selection was generous and varied. One small concern we raised was dealt with professionally and discreetly, and the staff were excellent throughout. Prices were very reasonable compared with other restaurants in Lincoln serving food of a similar quality. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gapdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My wife and I were on a 3 night stay in the Lincoln Hotel, where the Green Room restaurant is located. We ate in the restaurant on 2 of the nights. The decor of the restaurant is subtle and attractive and made for an enjoyably relaxing meal. Portions were not huge but just right. Altogether we had the steak, lamb cutlet, trout and cod with accompanying vegetables and all were superbly cooked and presented and tasted delicious. For dessert the cheesecake and maple pannacotta were lovely. Added to that the service was excellent, i.e. friendly but not overbearing. We would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and will definitely return to it when we are next in Lincoln!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Room Restaurant also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Green Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing