We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Poplars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Poplars
Ranked #26 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable stay, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Really enjoyed staying here. The owner is very welcoming and helpful with anything. Rooms are appealing and comfortable with sky and good wifi connection. It is in a central location with the town and cathedral in very close walking distance. Will definitely be staying here again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Manager at The Poplars, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Katie,
Thank you for your review, we have many satisfied guests about 98% but it's really appreciated when a review is left and yes we now have super fast BT Infinity broadband and it's will always be free, kind regards Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    57
    31
    11
    12
See reviews for
24
83
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Poplars is a family run guesthouse with a great homely feel, a 5 min walk from Lincolns hot spots. The staff are polite, friendly and very helpful and the manager was fantastic- contactable at any time if I had any problems (which I did not),
I was greeted at the door,luggage carried up the stairs, routes and maps of the area were also provided which was great as i had not visited Lincoln before.
Facilities were all very clean and modern, bathroom clean and stocked with products, the room light airy and comfortable with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space etc.
Breakfast is continental style, available whenever and self serve- great, everything clean and polished.
Was perfect for my needs, very warm and homely feel with great hospitality. Will definitely stay here if ever on business in Lincoln again and would recommend to friends and family.
Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursestudent101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hahndorf, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very disappointing. As soon as you walk in, the stench hits you and attempts to disguise it with deodorant spray only made it worse. The room was awful, lumpy bed, curtains not covering windows adequately, furniture awkwardly placed. We left after 5 minutes because the energy there was negative and we knew we weren't going to get a good nights sleep let alone a decent breakfast. The manager didn't even ask why we were leaving, he was only interested in getting his money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

After looking at pictures on the internet I decided this would be a perfect place for my mum to stay for one night with free parking and a great location.

Upon arrival we were shocked by the driveway which they do not give you any warning about. It is narrow and steep with little room to manoeuvre. We asked one of the owners of the b&b to help us and he proceeded to put the car in third gear and force it up the drive which resulted in the front wheel spinning and the clutch almost burning out. He laughed this off with no apology and this didn't thrill either of us. We had a similar experience when leaving the next day but with no help. The we only have a small car but the gradient of the hill meant the front of the car scraped along the ground.

We were greeted by Liam the manager who was pleasant, informative and attentive. He brightened up our day and couldn't do enough for us.

The breakfast was a huge disappointment as it was only toast, cereal and boiled eggs, no cooked English breakfast in sight. This is the first b&b we have come across that did not offer this.

The were few staff around to ask any queries and there was no check out as such we just had to leave the keys in the room.

I would not recommend this b&b and would not stay here again, such a disappointment for my mum on her first trip to Lincoln.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

it's near the hot spot, but you have to climb up with your luggage first..
when we arrived, there was no one to greet us.
we knocked the door, one of the guests helped us to find out the house holder kindly...
the room is very clean and cute, the ensuit is very modern.
they also offer some tea bags in your room that you can have one before you go to bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellytigerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

No email or instructions given on how/when to arrive. Upon arriving there was no one to greet us. Waited 5 mins to find someone finally! Very awful decor - looked like something from fawlty towers! Door didn't lock properly and neither did shared bathroom door. No milk in room so could not have tea upon arrival. Very lumpy beds - student accomodation was better at £10 a night!! Woke up after the most awful nights sleep to a very awful breakfast. There was mess on the tables from previous guests. Cereals had been in those jars god knows how long and jams left in direct sunlight! No water to fill the kettle! Pictures of third world countries on the walls - why not have local photos/art?! No routine about checking out and given no receipt for our stay! The house has potential to be so beautiful - its such a shame.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khj58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this accommodation after searching a few places in the area, close to the centre, and different from your run of the mill hotel chains.

Martin is a very helpful man, and a warm welcome awaits you. We had an en-suite room. Its important to request this when you book here, as not all rooms are en-suite. That said, the room we had was excellent, well maintained and well decorated.

There is a rear entrance out the back which takes you up a steel hill where you can walk up to the cathedral. out the main entrance, you can be in the centre of lincoln in a 10 minute walk.

The price is very reasonable for what you get. The breakfast is continental and laid out in a dedicated breakfast room.

The only thing to be aware of is the VERY steep hill up the driveway to the accommodation itself, the driveway. We caught the front of our car on it when we started up it, it was that steep.

Also, children are not allowed here. This is for couples only.

Overall, if you want a reasonably priced accommodation in the heart of the city, then you can't go far wrong with this.

Room Tip: remember to choose whether you want an en-suite room or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#5 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pemberton House
Pemberton House
#49 of 52 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tennyson
The Tennyson
#18 of 52 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen In The West
Queen In The West
#25 of 52 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars

Property: The Poplars
Address: The Poplars Beaumont Fee, Lincoln LN1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Poplars 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Poplars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing