We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Poplars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Poplars
Ranked #26 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Extremely Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stopped one night at The Poplars to meet up with some friends. The property is a Victorian house with magnificent views over the city and beyond. The bedroom (one of 20~) was well appointed with a good range of tea and coffee to choose from, the bed was really comfortable with duvet covers. Plenty of space in the room and the bathroom was large too with underfloor lighting for those night time visits. There were two hand basins and a really modern shower. All shampoos and body washes were supplied too. Breakfast is a serve yourself affair with a choice of cereals and yoghurts. There is a toaster and you can boil an egg in a magic machine in the corner. Sip your tea and look out over Lincoln. It cost £65 for the night, breakfast included. Extremely good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ww1guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Manager at The Poplars, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
What a lovely fellow you are, we were very pleased you chose us for your visit to Lincoln.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    55
    31
    11
    12
See reviews for
24
81
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a lovely b&b inside & out and great friendly staff. A big thumbs up to Liam who gave me a lovely chatty welcome. My room felt homely and was spotless. Only criticism have, which is more about my rubbish level of fitness than populars ! Defo need to start hitting the gym as walking up that steep hill to get to the b&b with heavy suitcase had me panting lol :-p. Populars will defo be my first choice when have to stay in Lincoln again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Clare,
Was lovely to have you stay, save your gym membership and stay with us !!, good job we have the short cut to the Catherdral. Hope see you again soon regards Martin and Liam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Fantastic location, homely feel and great vaule for money.
Helpfull and friendly personally staff and good service. Would recomend this b&b for anyone looking for an alternative to generic on mass accomadation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soozdoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review, you have hit the nail on the head of what we are about !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Having decided to stop in Lincoln at last minute without booking ahead drove into a fairly central street and looked on the Google map for possibles. I wanted a place near to the Cathedral and old part. The nearest was The Poplars so phoned and Martin said I could stay as one room was available but was then very relieved when he said that I could park in the drive. Some hotels or car parks could make a hefty charge but was able to use a free space ! Was shown my single room with a shared bathroom at the top of the house which had views over the city (not towards the Cathedral and was perfectly adequate for my overnight stay. Was able to make some tea and checked into wifi and all fine. One small thing was the double glazed windows had internal condensation so could not see out well caused presumably by cold air outside and warm room and a broken seal. Am sure that this type of thing would not occur at other times of the year but did affect my view. But the better views were outside with exit to the castle and Cathedral area made easier by use of the back gate which leads to a steep path known as Motherby Hill. One warning - because of the steep slope leading up from the house there is a steep flight of steps to the gate and then Motherby Hill path is also steep. No place for anyone with walking difficulties. The breakfast was simple and not at all over the top with boiled eggs as the choice prepared in a closed cooker with soft medium or hard dependent on amount of water poured into the thing. Eggs came out fine although did need some help from charming trainee Makita who had seen it all before ! Had a chance to chat to Martin the owner and can understand the hard work put in to get the place up and running and in my judgement it would appeal very much to the younger crowd who are able to make use of that back gate to explore the highest point of the area as well as the more agile older lot like me who just want a good priced bed for the night with potential for free parking. The parking by the way,as has been commented upon before, is up a steep drive and only space for maybe 3 cars so as long as your car is not a low slung Ferrari then is good. I drove a small 4x4 so had no trouble whatsoever. If I went back to Lincoln then would surely look to stay again and try an en suite room. Lincoln is a city full of shops and Estate Agents and students and of course splendid history.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Wow it was such a pleasure to read such a glowing review from such a seasoned traveller and reviewer. Kind regards and best wishes Martin and of course Makita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Really enjoyed staying here. The owner is very welcoming and helpful with anything. Rooms are appealing and comfortable with sky and good wifi connection. It is in a central location with the town and cathedral in very close walking distance. Will definitely be staying here again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Manager at The Poplars, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Katie,
Thank you for your review, we have many satisfied guests about 98% but it's really appreciated when a review is left and yes we now have super fast BT Infinity broadband and it's will always be free, kind regards Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Poplars is a family run guesthouse with a great homely feel, a 5 min walk from Lincolns hot spots. The staff are polite, friendly and very helpful and the manager was fantastic- contactable at any time if I had any problems (which I did not),
I was greeted at the door,luggage carried up the stairs, routes and maps of the area were also provided which was great as i had not visited Lincoln before.
Facilities were all very clean and modern, bathroom clean and stocked with products, the room light airy and comfortable with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space etc.
Breakfast is continental style, available whenever and self serve- great, everything clean and polished.
Was perfect for my needs, very warm and homely feel with great hospitality. Will definitely stay here if ever on business in Lincoln again and would recommend to friends and family.
Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursestudent101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hahndorf, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very disappointing. As soon as you walk in, the stench hits you and attempts to disguise it with deodorant spray only made it worse. The room was awful, lumpy bed, curtains not covering windows adequately, furniture awkwardly placed. We left after 5 minutes because the energy there was negative and we knew we weren't going to get a good nights sleep let alone a decent breakfast. The manager didn't even ask why we were leaving, he was only interested in getting his money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#6 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pemberton House
Pemberton House
#47 of 52 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars

Property: The Poplars
Address: The Poplars Beaumont Fee, Lincoln LN1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Poplars 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Poplars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing