We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

stayed 2 nights for the xmas market the hotel is in a good location, found the staff friendly and helpful. the breakfast was good, the room was big enough for 2 people ,good car park .easy walk into town, you can use the shuttle buses to get back up the hill if you don't want to walk. I would use this hotel again and recommend it and would recommend Lincoln as a good weekend break destination

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william57Castleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Christmas Market. Your kind comments about our staff have been passed on to the team, they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,364 - 1,370 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Lincoln Hotel has the perfect location. Pay the small premium for Cathedral view , it is worth it.
Staff very helpful , breakfast good , rooms reasonable priced.
Only thing they can improve on is better choice of draught beers in the bar; 2 lagers , no bitters or Guiness

Room Tip: Cathedral view with balcony , but can hear bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your kind comments will be passed on to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Leaving aside the attributes of the hotel itself, what makes this establishment so exceptional is the staff team.
We stayed there for the Christmas market and paid a premium for a cathedral view room. The bedroom although a little on the small side was adequate and contained everything that was needed for a short stay, but as with most of the hotel was a little dated and would benefit from freshening up. The VIEW though was unbelievable to sit and listen to the cathedral bells and to see this glorious building lit up at night was worth every penny.
The view we felt was surpassed by the dedication and efficiency of the staff. Requests were attended to with quiet efficiency by a friendly endearing team who felt it their mission in life to ensure customer satisfaction where it was deserved.
The food on offer was of an excellent standard. Our compliments to the chef for food that would be at home served by any of the celebrity chefs on television.
Although a mistake was made it was met with the quiet efficiency already mentioned. One night at dinner I requested particular requirements, and the next night this was remembered without reminder. This is service that we found typifies this hotel.
This is a hotel that boasts a service given by a staff team that all hotels should aspire to.
Thank you for making our stay such a memorable occasion.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 52John48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel over the Christmas Market weekend. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Booked this as a last minute romantic break, and were a little disappointed. Our room was small, all rooms are advertised as either having a view of the cathedral or gardens but ours looked at a wall and other room windows.. The room was cold, bathroom freezing (no heater, not even a heated towel rail), toilet didn't flush properly and bathroom door didn't lock. Taps had no temperature variation - you could either have boiling water or freezing despite all taps being mixer taps. Bed was a small double with a very uncomfortable mattress, and a thin, inadequate quilt.

We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night - I ordered the smoked salmon starter, and was clearly served the beef starter.. The waiter insisted it was salmon (jeez, am I really that dense??!), and I had to ask another waitress to get me the correct starter (she confirmed I had indeed been given beef - no s*** Sherlock!)

On the plus side breakfast was good, plenty of choice and no queue, staff were friendly, and the location of the hotel was perfect.

Would we stay here again? No

Would definitely recommend cafe Zoot though!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Louwilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest

I was sorry to read your comments following your recent visit to The Lincoln Hotel and please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment or problems you experienced during your stay.

I would be happy to discuss the problems you encountered further and would ask that you contact me direct at the hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went to the Lincoln Hotel for my cousin's wedding in October. The reception dealt with us promptly on arrival. We were allocated two rooms next but one to each other. The views were over a wall at the back but to be honest we weren't there for the view from the hotel but the rooms themselves were beautifully furnished. There was no hair dryer which I take as a given in a hotel like this.
The reception was in the bar beneath the hotel and was a cocktail party. Only two bar staff to cater for all the guests, mixing cocktails to order was a nightmare. Either there should have been more staff or cocktails should have been mixed in quantities. No glass collection and it fell to a member of staff who was on her night off who volunteered to collect glasses. When we moved upstairs to have a drink after the reception we were told the couldn't serve us straight away. Not quite sure why. Eventually we did get served and the drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel.
The following morning there was a queue for breakfast. Fortunately my sister and brother in law were 10 minutes ahead of me so I joined them. The layout of the food servers for the dining room could have been so much better as everybody was stood on top of each other. There was a delay in some hot items that mean that some people were stood waiting whilst others were trying to get to the other items like coffee and toast.
Two weeks later I got a visa bill for the wrong amount followed by a week later by another bill on a MasterCard with a different wrong amount. The hotel did sort it out after several phone calls backwards and forwards. They also credited the £5 car park charge as a gesture of good will however the barrier to the car park was open all weekend and we didn't need to say we had parked in the car park and also other hotel clients could have parked there for free!

Room Tip: If you aren't bothered about a view then you can take what room is offered but if you want a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel and please accept my apologies for any problems you experienced with the customer service you received.

I shall certainly address the problems you mentioned internally with my management team, to ensure our usual high standards are maintained.

Once again, I am sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Lovely clean warm room, great views of the cathedral. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Would definately stay again and recommend this hotel. We walked into Lincoln city centre took less than 10 minutes

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all the staff concerned as they work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Staff friendly and helpfull. Breakfast and bar meals tasty and well presented. Bar and lounge have lovely views of the cathedral. In historic uphill area of Lincoln and only a 5 minuete walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: The front rooms of the hotel have lovely views of the cathedral,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 240,848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments about our staff have been passed on to the team, they all appreciate direct feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#8 of 9 in Lincoln
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lincoln
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
2.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lincoln
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. Our dishes are made using fine, locally sourced, seasonal Lincolnshire produce. You can enjoy your meal with a glass of wine from our carefully chosen list, or another drink from our bar. Finish your day off in style with a delicious three-course meal from our Green Room restaurant. Our chefs have created a menu combining traditional flavours with a contemporary twist. For the perfect end to your dinner, indulge in a delicious dessert or try some of our local Lincolnshire cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing