We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night in January while attending a party in the hotel. Room was good, small but nicely decorated. If we hadn't been at the party then noise from the disco may have been an issue as you could hear it clearly from the room. Breakfast was good with a lovely view of the cathedral. Food at the party was also good.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the room you occupied, the food served both at breakfast and for the party and of course the service offered by our team.

We look forwards to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Right next to the cathedral and close to the town centre makes this a convenient location for the visitor to the city.
Room adequate but compact, everything worked and clean.
The staff were all very pleasant, breakfast and evening meal both excellent.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TedCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, the food served both at breakfast and for your evening meal and of course the service offered by our team.

We look forwards to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel in order to sight-see Lincoln. A perfect location close to the cathedral with easy access to castle and the remainder of the city centre. Has its own car park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Themed as a 60s hotel in colour and decor but service was 21st century. Would have been perfect except for 7.30 am alarm call one morning that we hadn't ordered!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us and of course the service offered by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived on a late Friday night train to find the hotel blasting out loud music from a party being held right across the public areas, including reception, making check-in very difficult. The music was so loud that even shouting didn't help, We asked for a room as far away as possible, and the noise levels up there were not too bad, though the open stairwells funnelled the booming bass to the very top. What it was like at the front I dread to think, at least it stopped at one in the morning. The bells woke us in the morning, but that was quite pleasant, nothing to worry about. The next night there was a Christmas party - late in January, go figure - but that was much quieter, thank god. Clean comfortable well furnished room, decent breakfast and price, helpful staff too, but check that there's no parties before booking this hotel. I see that others have had the same problem, but thought it was just a Christmas thing. It's not.

Room Tip: Never mind an expensive front room for the view, we had a back room on the top floor and had a perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

Like all hotels, we do host weddings from time to time and Christmas Party Nights on specified dates during December. Occasionally a couple of private parties come to visit in January instead of December but this certainly isn’t commonplace.

We do endeavour to minimise any potential disruption to any guest that may not be part of these private functions, as all of our guests’ experiences are equally important to us.

It is also extremely pleasing to hear your positive comments about the cleanliness of our rooms, quality of our breakfast and the helpfulness of our staff.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for a number of years when attending the Lincoln Christmas Market, we always book a Cathedral view room on the top floor. The night time view is magical when the Cathedral is lit up. The bells are silenced at night but act as a great alarm clock in the morning. The rooms are being refurbished but the modern furniture is not in keeping with the style of the Hotel. The food is of good quality and the breakfast buffet is well stocked. We booked a D,B&B package, the evening meals the food is good but with only a few other diners in the large restaurant the atmosphere is dull, we will eat out next year. The free carpark is essential during the market due to the road closures it one of a few hotels that can offer parking.

Room Tip: Cathedral view is worth the additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Real_Ale_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Lincoln Christmas Market. It is also very pleasing to hear your positive comments about the standard of food, both at Breakfast and in the restaurant. I will ensure all your comments are passed on to our restaurant staff.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It was our 1st time staying at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. The decor was super, the room was brilliant and faced the cathedral and perfect in anyway. However, sadly the noise levels from the main xmas party was horrendous. We knew it was xmas party season, even told at the time of booking, but didn't expect to hear every single word from every single song at 1 am in the morning. We where on the top floor, the disco was in the main reception area above our room and we never slept a single wink!!!!!!!! I personally thought the disco would be at the back of the hotel or where it was, but sound proofed, but wasn't. The main dining area was OK, but the area we ate was sole-less and had no ambiance, was more like eating in a empty room. Food was good and so was the breakfast - both first class! We tend to go away prior to xmas, so we can go shopping in the city, but not too sure if we'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOuchPoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear your positive comments about the standard of our rooms and the quality of breakfasts and restaurant food. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned who all work extremely hard to maintain high standards of service.

Like all hotels, we do host Christmas Party Nights on specified dates during December. We do endeavour to minimise any potential disruption to any guest that may not be part of these private functions, as all of our guests’ experiences are equally important to us.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed over the New Year.
This hotel is very well managed and staffed by a friendly and efficient team.
From booking to checking out every care was taken to make our stay a brilliant one.
The quality, range of food and service in the restaurant was very good ,
Great care has been taken with the overall decoration of the rooms and public areas which were all spotlessly clean. All of which made our stay an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Cathedral view rooms are well worth the small extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your New Year stay with us at The Lincoln Hotel.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain our high standards.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
753 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £64 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. Our dishes are made using fine, locally sourced, seasonal Lincolnshire produce. You can enjoy your meal with a glass of wine from our carefully chosen list, or another drink from our bar. Finish your day off in style with a delicious three-course meal from our Green Room restaurant. Our chefs have created a menu combining traditional flavours with a contemporary twist. For the perfect end to your dinner, indulge in a delicious dessert or try some of our local Lincolnshire cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing