We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, fantastic location.”
Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great room, fantastic location.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have just returned from a 2 nights stay at this hotel. We stayed in a Cathedral view room with balcony on the 3rd floor. The room was lovely and spacious, the decor was also spot on. The bathroom was nice and modern with a bath tub/shower and free toiletries. The view was spectacular sadly it was far too cold to spend any time out on the balcony but I bet it would be lovely to sit there on a summers evening looking at the view and listening to the bells. The bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out of it in the morning. The staff were polite and welcoming. There was a christmas party on the Friday night (this must be a common thing as I've seen a review from a couple of weeks ago stating the same) and a wedding on the Saturday. I must admit the music was only heard faintly and didn't cause us any loss of sleep but it would have been nice to have been informed of this when booking, as we only upgraded our room to a 3rd floor one last minute after seeing pictures of the balcony rooms on the website, we heard a guest saying at breakfast he was on the 2nd floor above the party and the music was very loud in his room (so much that the glass on the side of the bed was vibrating) so it might be worth opting for a room on the 3rd floor if there is any party's/wedding's on during your stay. My only other gripe is that the hotel bar was closed to guests both nights and we were directed to a residents lounge with no bar and told to wait for somebody to come and take our drinks order, the lounge had no atmosphere and was very dull so we just went back to our room. I would stay at this hotel again but I'd check if there was a party/wedding on as that was the only thing that let this place down.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clo8728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

Like all hotels, we do host weddings from time to time and Christmas Party Nights on specified dates during December. Occasionally a couple of private parties come to visit in January instead of December but this certainly isn’t commonplace.

We do endeavour to minimise any potential disruption to any guest that may not be part of these private functions, as all of our guests’ experiences are equally important to us.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    678
    235
    74
    39
See reviews for
215
971
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in January while attending a party in the hotel. Room was good, small but nicely decorated. If we hadn't been at the party then noise from the disco may have been an issue as you could hear it clearly from the room. Breakfast was good with a lovely view of the cathedral. Food at the party was also good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the room you occupied, the food served both at breakfast and for the party and of course the service offered by our team.

We look forwards to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Right next to the cathedral and close to the town centre makes this a convenient location for the visitor to the city.
Room adequate but compact, everything worked and clean.
The staff were all very pleasant, breakfast and evening meal both excellent.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TedCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, the food served both at breakfast and for your evening meal and of course the service offered by our team.

We look forwards to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel in order to sight-see Lincoln. A perfect location close to the cathedral with easy access to castle and the remainder of the city centre. Has its own car park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Themed as a 60s hotel in colour and decor but service was 21st century. Would have been perfect except for 7.30 am alarm call one morning that we hadn't ordered!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us and of course the service offered by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived on a late Friday night train to find the hotel blasting out loud music from a party being held right across the public areas, including reception, making check-in very difficult. The music was so loud that even shouting didn't help, We asked for a room as far away as possible, and the noise levels up there were not too bad, though the open stairwells funnelled the booming bass to the very top. What it was like at the front I dread to think, at least it stopped at one in the morning. The bells woke us in the morning, but that was quite pleasant, nothing to worry about. The next night there was a Christmas party - late in January, go figure - but that was much quieter, thank god. Clean comfortable well furnished room, decent breakfast and price, helpful staff too, but check that there's no parties before booking this hotel. I see that others have had the same problem, but thought it was just a Christmas thing. It's not.

Room Tip: Never mind an expensive front room for the view, we had a back room on the top floor and had a perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

Like all hotels, we do host weddings from time to time and Christmas Party Nights on specified dates during December. Occasionally a couple of private parties come to visit in January instead of December but this certainly isn’t commonplace.

We do endeavour to minimise any potential disruption to any guest that may not be part of these private functions, as all of our guests’ experiences are equally important to us.

It is also extremely pleasing to hear your positive comments about the cleanliness of our rooms, quality of our breakfast and the helpfulness of our staff.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for a number of years when attending the Lincoln Christmas Market, we always book a Cathedral view room on the top floor. The night time view is magical when the Cathedral is lit up. The bells are silenced at night but act as a great alarm clock in the morning. The rooms are being refurbished but the modern furniture is not in keeping with the style of the Hotel. The food is of good quality and the breakfast buffet is well stocked. We booked a D,B&B package, the evening meals the food is good but with only a few other diners in the large restaurant the atmosphere is dull, we will eat out next year. The free carpark is essential during the market due to the road closures it one of a few hotels that can offer parking.

Room Tip: Cathedral view is worth the additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real_Ale_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Lincoln Christmas Market. It is also very pleasing to hear your positive comments about the standard of food, both at Breakfast and in the restaurant. I will ensure all your comments are passed on to our restaurant staff.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It was our 1st time staying at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. The decor was super, the room was brilliant and faced the cathedral and perfect in anyway. However, sadly the noise levels from the main xmas party was horrendous. We knew it was xmas party season, even told at the time of booking, but didn't expect to hear every single word from every single song at 1 am in the morning. We where on the top floor, the disco was in the main reception area above our room and we never slept a single wink!!!!!!!! I personally thought the disco would be at the back of the hotel or where it was, but sound proofed, but wasn't. The main dining area was OK, but the area we ate was sole-less and had no ambiance, was more like eating in a empty room. Food was good and so was the breakfast - both first class! We tend to go away prior to xmas, so we can go shopping in the city, but not too sure if we'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOuchPoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear your positive comments about the standard of our rooms and the quality of breakfasts and restaurant food. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned who all work extremely hard to maintain high standards of service.

Like all hotels, we do host Christmas Party Nights on specified dates during December. We do endeavour to minimise any potential disruption to any guest that may not be part of these private functions, as all of our guests’ experiences are equally important to us.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
334 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Property: The Lincoln Hotel
Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. Our dishes are made using fine, locally sourced, seasonal Lincolnshire produce. You can enjoy your meal with a glass of wine from our carefully chosen list, or another drink from our bar. Finish your day off in style with a delicious three-course meal from our Green Room restaurant. Our chefs have created a menu combining traditional flavours with a contemporary twist. For the perfect end to your dinner, indulge in a delicious dessert or try some of our local Lincolnshire cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing