We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in heart of historic Lincoln ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location in heart of historic Lincoln ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We visited for a friend's wedding. Our room was above average: comfortable, light and attractive. Plenty of tea and coffee and an extensive and delicious range of food in the buffet style breakfast. All staff lovely and helpful. A really pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gilmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, the food served at breakfast and of course the service offered by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little

General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    649
    224
    67
    34
See reviews for
199
909
43
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

After reading the reviews for this hotel we felt confident that it would be good. Although it does not affect your stay at the hotel, the exterior of the building is most unattractive. Free parking is a bonus and the location of the hotel is perfect. On entering the hotel and arriving at the ground floor level from the car park I was surprised to see a rather unpleasant stain on the hall carpet. Reception staff were very pleasant . The room was ok but had an odd odour to it which was a little unpleasant. The balcony was very small and not attractive -- made from concrete and crumbling in places, there was just one very tattty wooden chair to sit on. The view however of the cathedral was superb. Breakfast was plentiful and the usual fayre which was replenished frequently. Eggs cooked to order if poached or fried requested.

Room Tip: Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flossy5323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments, following your recent visit to The Lincoln Hotel.

Although the building is old and of a 1960s ‘Marmite’ design, we believe that this adds to its charm and character. As we are privately owned, we have the freedom to constantly update and refurbish each room in turn to ensure that we continue to modernise our offer.

The stained carpet that you mentioned is being replaced at the beginning of June along with the carpet within our main function room. As the hotel is a 24 hour operation it takes careful planning and coordination to have works like this carried out without causing disruption to our guests. In fact we have just completed a complete refurbishment of our male public toilets and have almost completed installing a brand new electronic door entry system along with new doors to each and every bedroom.

I shall certainly investigate the other points that you have raised and make any necessary changes. On a more positive note, I’m pleased that you enjoyed both the service from our pleasant staff and our breakfast fayre.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Lincoln Hotel again very soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little

General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Following a visit to friends in Lincolnshire, we decided to have a night in Lincoln itself. Never having been there before, not sure of which hotel to pick - but pleased with our choice of The Lincoln Hotel.

It was well worth paying the extra for a top floor room (with small balcony) for the best view of Lincoln cathedral it's possible to get.

The hotel is handily placed to visit cathedral, castle & the narrow shopping streets of the old part of the city. Not far either from the main shopping areas either - but quite a hike back up the (very steep) hill.

There are restaurants nearby too, but we had an excellent meal in the hotel's own restaurant.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view of the cathedral - you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliadarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, especially as you were able to take in some of the best views of Lincoln Cathedral whilst you were here.

I agree, we are ideally situated and in very easy walking distance of uphill Lincoln enabling you to explore the Bailgate area, especially the beautiful Cathedral.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My daughter got married on 18th April 2014 at the Lincoln Hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff at this hotel could not do enough for us.

Petra and Connor are just two of the people that stand out to me. Petra being there when my daughter and myself came down to see the registrar and then to the wedding ceremony. Connor being our spokes person was so polite, professional, organised and funny.

The meal was absolutely gorgeous we had a roast beef dinner and our compliments to your chef as the beef just melted in your mouth. The chocolate pudding to follow was delicious, Also the buffet in the evening was excellent. We could not fault any of the food.

The whole day and evening went so smoothly and I would recommend this hotel for anyone arranging a wedding. We had had recommendations from quite a few people who also had their weddings at the Lincoln Hotel but when you experience it yourself and the outstanding and dedication of their staff, please do not hesitate to book your wedding with The Lincoln Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnylincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your celebrations at The Lincoln Hotel - congratulations to the happy couple once again!

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

It is also very pleasing to hear your positive comments about the standard of food, both for the wedding meal and the evening buffet. The kitchen team are still celebrating after winning Select Lincolnshire's Restaurant of the Year 2014 award!

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
199 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for. Family wedding. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The wedding meal was very good with a flavoursome vegetarian option. The lobby is quite relaxed for sitting and chatting and plenty of papers and magazines. The rooms aren't massive but ok. Clean and modern. Decent bathroom. The bed could be more comfortable - it was a bit lumpy. The rooms are quiet. Great parking facilities. The breakfast was fresh and a decent choice. Cracking location as it's opposite the cathedral and walking distance to the tower and Bailgate.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Simnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, the food served both at breakfast and for your wedding meal and of course the service offered by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Located right next to Lincoln Cathedral, the Lincoln Hotel is ideally situated as a base from which to explore this historic city. The restaurant (which I didn't use) has just won an award as the best in Lincoln & unusually for a hotel, the bar actually does have 'real' beer.

The staff are cheerful & welcoming, breakfast is good, plentiful & tasty, all plus points for me. I believe the car park is charged, I parked my motorbike next to the service entrance & didn't pay, sometimes it is better by 'bike!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel.

It is very nice to hear your positive comments about the standard of food, especially at Breakfast. All the staff are extremely excited because of the Green Room Restaurant recently winning Restaurant of the Year in the Select Lincolnshire Food, Drink & Hospitality Awards 2014.

The use of our car park is chargeable, however, if you book your room direct with the team at The Lincoln Hotel you will receive car parking complimentary.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My cousin and his wife held their wedding reception at the Lincoln Hotel this weekend, lovely. The wedding was fabulous, the wedding breakfast was delicious, couldn't have wished for a better day. Congratulations to the Happy Couple.

As for our room it was on the second floor, htere was no view but by the same token no-one could see in either. It was very nice, big enough for the three of us as it was a family room. The shower was easy to use and fab, the towels were lovely, soft and clean, the bed was great, we all slept well both nights of our stay.
It was a very pleasant hotel, the staff are lovely and friendly and very helpful. I would definately stay again and I certainly would recommend to friends and family. Carry on the good work.
Dawn, Kris and Rhiannon Lloyd-Griffiths

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view the Cathedral is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAWN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel over the weekend. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

Congratulations to the happy couple, once again!

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Property: The Lincoln Hotel
Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing