We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff”
Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I recently had a 4-night stay at The Lincoln, which we both enjoyed thoroughly. Our room was spacious, with a balcony commanding a magnificent view of the north side of the huge cathedral, especially in the late evening when the cathedral was floodlit. The food and service were equally not to be faulted, but what really stood out for us was the charm, friendliness and efficiency of the young team of staff. To a man (and woman) they were absolutely first class, and a real credit to whoever recruited them, trained them and manages them. Apart from an eccentric lift, and dated air-conditioning in the room, this was a 5-star experience for a 3-star price. Strongly recommended

Room Tip: Book a cathedral (south) side room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on our trip advisor website.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel, especially as you were able to take in some of the best views of Lincoln Cathedral from your private balcony.

It is especially pleasing to hear your positive comments regarding the high standard of food offered and the helpfulness of our staff. I will ensure that your comments are passed on as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

Suzanne Watson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
There are newer reviews for The Lincoln Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights 13 and 14 June for a family reunion. Our deal was bed breakfast and evening meal. Dinner was booked for 6.30 both evenings and made at the time of booking several months earlier. There were 5 couples so we were a little miffed to find that they were not expecting us for dinner on the Friday night and this was put down to lack of communication between reception and the restaurant. However the restaurant staff made up for this faux pas and the subsequent meal was excellent although over 3 hours was really not acceptable. Hence 4 not 5 stars.

The next night's dinner was excellent in every way the food and service was top notch. All the staff in the hotel were attentive and efficient. The bar and outside lawn right opposite the Cathedral added to the joy of the experience. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the rest of the city, but beware if you are infirm, that there is a very steep hill down to the river and other shops. There are loads of pubs and restaurants nearby.

The car park is spacious and handy for transporting your luggage to the rooms and accessing reception. Much to everybody's relief the Cathedral clock chimes are switched off at 10 until 7, the hour bell is certainly powerful.

By the way the breakfast was also magnificent. I would definitely stay here again if in the area and would recommend it, but check that they have your dinner reservation logged if you are dining in.

Room Tip: We had a Cathedral view room, with excellent floodlit views in the evening.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peteinbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments following your recent stay with us at The Lincoln Hotel.

On your arrival at the hotel I am disappointed to hear that your booking for dinner in our Green Room Restaurant was overlooked. I shall certainly address this with the staff involved as they work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

On a positive note I am very pleased to hear that the staff took the appropriate measures to ensure that your request was met and your experience with us was a positive one.

It is also very pleasing to hear your comments about the high standard of food, both at breakfast and in the Green Room. We take great pride in the fact that we won Restaurant of the Year in the Select Lincolnshire Food, Drink and Hospitality Awards 2014.

In the meantime thank you for all of your comments as we do appreciate all feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.


Yours sincerely

Suzanne Watson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My partner and I had a one night stop over here on the way back from Suffolk. We paid £86 for a standard room with breakfast.The room was smaller than I would have liked therefore It couldnt accommodate a king size bed so standard a double was a slight issue for us .Bathroom was very adequate with bath and shower.Wifi did not work in the bedroom but we were on the 3rd floor .
We had a walk down to Brayford water front not to be missed lots of eating and drinking by the waters edge . On returning back to the hotel for a night cap we were informed the bar was closed for a refurb I wish the receptionist had mentioned this on booking in !!
Excellent breakfast the most comprehensive range of fruit, pastries, cheeses ,ham ,smoked salmon ,yoghurts,I have seen at any hotel, on top of this a full english could be ordered which I had and was superb the lincolnshire sausage was delicious will stay again when next In Lincoln .

Room Tip: If you want a room with a cathedral view you need to ask not all rooms have this view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments following your recent stay with us at The Lincoln Hotel.

On your arrival to the hotel I am disappointed to hear that you were not informed of the refurbishment that was taking place in the lounge area and how it may affect you during your stay. We do endeavour to minimise any potential disruptions as all of our guests experiences are equally important to us.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

It is very pleasing to hear your positive comments about the high standard of food at breakfast. We pride ourselves on the quality of our locally sourced produce and the wide variety of foods we offer to our guests.

In the meantime thank you for all of your comments as we do appreciate all feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely
Suzanne Watson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

All you need for stay, close to Cathedral ,friendly staff, good breakfast ,then explore to your hearts content the wonderful sights within walking distance of hotel,highly recommend for stay to see old quarters .

Room Tip: Make sure of "bath- shower" in your room as we found ours needed more hand grips for suppo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmadog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is nice to hear your kind comments about our breakfast and friendliness of staff. I will pass these comments onto our staff as it is always great to hear positive feedback.

I agree, we are ideally situated and in very easy walking distance of uphill Lincoln enabling you to explore the Bailgate area, especially the beautiful Cathedral.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely
James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A very central hotel with excellent views of the cathedral. We had a quiet, comfortable room at the back of the hotel, but unfortunately the internet connection was too far for it to work. Our only negative comment is with the food which was good one the first day but was disappointing thereafter, (the same vegetables were served every day).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spagettibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, Guest Relations Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the Head Chef regarding the food.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

Suzanne Watson
Guest Relations Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at The Lincoln Hotel. Everything was lovely from the moment we checked in to the service when we left. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and booked into our room. She took the time to chat and ask us if we had visited before (we hadn’t) and gave us some great advice on best places to visit in the city.

Our room was lovely. Light, bright and and modern with a view of the cathedral. It was spotlessly clean and had a large comfortable bed, decent shower and a fancy electronic door entry system.

We had booked a table the hotel restaurant for dinner in advance and I’m glad we did, the restaurant was full and it was easy to see why. The food and service was exceptional, and the gin and tonic sorbet was to die for! We didn't have any wine but the list looked reasonably priced.

Breakfast was plentiful, a selection of continental breakfast items or cooked breakfast buffet. I had eggs benedict to order which was delicious and my husband had a selection from the buffet. Staff throughout the hotel were attentive and friendly. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and we shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19Amytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel over the weekend. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked the LIncoln Hotel several weeks before our trip after our local B&B had to cancel. I had stayed there 40 years ago when it was the Eastgate Hotel. Unfortunately, not much has changed in the past 40 years. We originally booked a garden room. When we arrived we were given a key and directions that led to what appeared to be a dungeon. The elevator worked, but the fire door is always locked so we had to tote our luggage down two flights of stairs. The hallway and room were both very dark. The garden is overgrown and not enjoyable. We asked for a different room and received a small but bright room facing the cathedral. The staff is very nice, but the hotel itself looks and smells old....musty. The carpets and drapes are awful. The toilet did not work properly, and it was impossible to take a shower without getting the floor soaking wet. The elevator was simply scary. Breakfast included in the room charge was fine. We had to pay for the entire stay when we originally booked the room....not a good sign of things to come. The location is absolutely perfect and the view of the Cathedral is amazing....so it is incredibly sad that the hotel has been so badly neglected.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to stay!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anglophile13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on our trip advisor website. I was sorry to read of your disappointment following your recent visit to The Lincoln Hotel.

The customer feedback that we receive is usually very positive so I would be happy to discuss the problems you encountered further, to hopefully restore your confidence. In regard to the comment about payments; full payment is only taken at the time of booking if you make the reservation on our online website, just like any other hotel system does. For all other bookings, payment is processed once you have arrived at the hotel on the day of the stay.

In the meantime, thank you for your comments as we do appreciate all feedback. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Lincoln Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £61 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. Our dishes are made using fine, locally sourced, seasonal Lincolnshire produce. You can enjoy your meal with a glass of wine from our carefully chosen list, or another drink from our bar. Finish your day off in style with a delicious three-course meal from our Green Room restaurant. Our chefs have created a menu combining traditional flavours with a contemporary twist. For the perfect end to your dinner, indulge in a delicious dessert or try some of our local Lincolnshire cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing