We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and service very good - a great meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Food and service very good - a great meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I should start by saying that this review relates only to a family meal at the hotel - we did not stay there, or use any of the other facilities.

Along with our extended family and friends (approximately 40 people) we attended a celebratory birthday lunch at this hotel. The staff coped really well with a large party and the food was served promptly and was piping hot. It was also very good quality, and everybody in our party commented on how much they had enjoyed the meal. The hotel itself is looking quite tired in places, but that certainly cannot be said of the staff, who were all very pleasant and keen to ensure that we all enjoyed the celebration to the full.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValtteriKnelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent family celebrations at The Lincoln Hotel.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.
It is also very pleasing to hear your positive comments about the standard of food. All the staff are extremely proud as they were awarded Restaurant of the Year in the Select Lincolnshire Food, Drink & Hospitality Awards 2014.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit; hopefully you’ll be able to stay a bit longer.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    661
    229
    72
    36
See reviews for
205
944
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I think this is a very good hotel in an excellent location for exploring the City and further afield. With a fanstastic view of the Cathedral and just five minutes walk away is the Cathedral Quarter with an array of boutique shops, galleries, pubs and resturants. A further 10 minutes is a steep downhill walk to the City centre. Needless to say a good 20 minutes walk back! It is also very easy to drive out of the city and explore the surrounding countryside - the Wolds near Market Rasen being a fine example.
The lounge and reception area over look the cathedral green - a fine way to end the day with a drink and read of the freely available newspapers. Even better was seeing the Peregrine Falcons, resident in the cathedral tower, giving a quick display.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful, pleasant and busy. They seemed to enjoy working there.
I found my hotel room compact but comfortable. There was a good sized TV and an impressive walk in shower. If staying there again I think I might upgrade to 'a room with a view'. My one complaint was that I was woken up by a laundry delivery at 5.30am - this was pointed out to hotel reception staff.
The breakfasts were very good with a broad selection of continental and english. I was able to ask for a fresh pot of tea as I found the communal pot rather over done for my tastes. I noticed others asking for freshly fried eggs - all served quickly and with a smile.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Lincoln and will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneMoreBlueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, and your kind comments about our staff, who all work very hard to maintain high levels of customer service.

I am glad you were fortunate enough to see the Peregrine Falcons during your stay, they really are fantastic to watch!

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little

General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a weekend in early July in a double room overlooking the cathedral and was not disappointed. The view from the large window of the cathedral was stunning, especially when lit in the dark. The stay got even better with an excellent dinner in the Green Room restaurant on the first evening. Breakfasts were good although service was slow, possibly due to the large wedding parties on both mornings! Will definitely visit again and will possibly pay the extra for a room with a balcony or patio.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel.

It is also very pleasing to hear your positive comments about the standard of food, both at Breakfast and in the Green Room. The staff are extremely proud because the Green Room Restaurant won Restaurant of the Year in the Select Lincolnshire Food, Drink & Hospitality Awards 2014 and it is always great to receive positive feedback such as yours.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business in a 'garden room'. The bed was ok apart from feeling the join down the middle. Bathroom had a large walk in shower and everything worked. But ........ The garden looked as though it was in need of some extra care and a good tidy up and the stairwell down to the basement rooms was like a staff only area - a bit grim to say the least.
I had difficulty finding the car park entrance and had to phone the hotel for directions despite having a sat nav.
I ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was good - better than the breakfast which was the normal buffet style.
Certainly not a cheap option - would I stay again? Probably not until some real investment has been made to refurbish the 'tired looking areas'.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you thought the food that we serve was good. The Green Room won Restaurant of the year 2014 so we are very proud of this product.

Although the building is very old, which adds to its charm and character, we are constantly updating and refurbishing each room in turn to ensure that we continue to modernise our offer. Since being in private ownership we are striving to update the whole hotel, naturally this can’t all be done in one go but we are planning and investing hugely into improving the building.

Here are a few of the projects that we have undertaken just recently:
• Replace the old hot water system to cope with modern demands
• Install free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel
• Completely remove and refurbish the gents public toilets
• Replace all the flooring in the banqueting room
• Refurbish all of the banqueting room including curtains
• Renovate and replace old en-suites in many of the bedrooms
• Replace many of the bedroom carpets
• Decorate the main Lounge
• Replace every bedroom door with new and install an electronic key card system

There are still some areas that require some attention and we are focussing on these next as we have to carefully plan these works around our guests so as to not cause any disruption.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel very soon so that you can experience first-hand the improvements that we are making.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

On arrival we were greated by a most helpful receptionist who advised us of the car parking arrangements, the facilities of the hotel and the arrangements for our stay. Our room was well appointed overlooking an area of garden that could do with a bit of tlc. however the trees shielded the hotel from being overlooked and taking account that the hotel was situated in the centre of Lincoln the room was quiet. The restaurant staff were most professional and we noticed that the food at breakfast time was regularly temperature tested. The menu was modern and well presented. as stated the hotel is very close to the Cathedral and walking distance from the attractions of Lincoln. a very pleasant Stay

Room Tip: see notes above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_south_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel over the weekend.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
691 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I last stayed here 13 years ago when it was a Moat House hotel called the Eastgate. The position is wonderful, just opposite the Cathedral the bell of which strikes up to 1100 and starts again at 7.00. Superficially there have been a lot of cosmetic improvements making it feel much brighter. No longer were there were frayed carpets! However, I noted that much of the furniture (tables in the bar) had seen better days.
On arrival I was well received initially but then they tried to make me paid for a room booked by my company’s agent, and I had to give the receptionist a copy of the booking confirmation! The rate she tried to charge me was £165 per night. The receptionist seemed a little stretched and not fully focused. I asked for an alarm call for both nights but it didn’t happen on the second morning.
The Car Park entrance may not be clear to a guest unfamiliar with the hotel as it is located on the out of city side of the road to the north. There is a side entrance into the hotel with a lift.
I was allocated a standard room on the ground floor. The corridor was clean, wide and bright. The room was approximately 5m x 4m + an entrance hall 2m x 2m with a bathroom of 2m x 1m. Cream walls. Dark carpet. The room and bathroom were clean. The furniture included a skeleton wardrobe in the entrance hall, occasional table, 2 occasional chairs, desk and chair, bedside drawers. There was a large picture window and heavy drapes but blackout was poor. The television was a 36 inch freeview. The bed was a little firm for my liking but I slept well. The room was quiet but when I tried to turn the radiator on in the evening, I could get no heat.
The wifi worked very well.
The hospitality tray was pleasant and well stocked. Toiletries were ample but both were not completely restocked the second day.
The shower worked very well and was hot and easy to operate, towels were very soft. I noted a significant crack in the wash hand basin and on the toilet seat. The bathroom floor was black granite tiles which was very marked from water leakage.
The breakfasts were slightly better than basic but the fruit was clearly recycled daily and hadn’t unfrozen from the deep freeze. I had two bar meals, a recently excellent Caesar salad and a superb cheesecake and on the second night a tasty steak baguette. Both meals came quickly and service was pleasant.
Overall I enjoyed my stay but I would have been pretty disappointed at the rack rate – not worth £165 a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, your very positive comments about the standard of food and cleanliness will certainly be relayed to the team.

I’m also glad that you have had the opportunity to return to The Lincoln Hotel now that we are fortunate enough to be privately owned. Since then we are constantly updating and refurbishing each room in turn to ensure that we continue to modernise our offer. The Long Room Bar area has just undergone a refurbishment to brighten up the appearance. The furniture in here is shortly to be replaced also, which will then complete this update.

Please don’t leave it so long again before you return, you should come and enjoy the changes that we are making to improve our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for only 1 night as part of a wedding but from what I could see the hotel was really well looked after and presented in as good a fashion as possible. Location was brilliant being a short stroll from the Cathedral but not in the thick of all the action. Staff were super friendly and helpful and really provided a 1st class service. Room was quite modern with a nice bathroom. The bedroom was on the small side and parts of the hotel are quite dated but overall I would rather enjoy staying here again if the opportunity presented itself.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, some don't. Some are in the old building some in the new, so dependi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJP419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, especially your comments about the service offered by our team. I will ensure that these are passed on to them, as they all work extremely hard.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely
James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Property: The Lincoln Hotel
Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing