We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location -ideal for "Up step Hill"”
Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ideal location at the top of the town across from the Cathedral, good parking, Food good, staff friendly and helpful, and a lot easier to park and get into than the Hart.
Well worth the price, our room had lovely views to the Cathedral and a small balcony to sit on and watch the sun set behind the spires, and thank goodness the bells stop ringing at 11 pm !
Cannot understand why it does not have 4 stars it easily deserves them

Room Tip: pay a little extra and get a Cathedral view its worth the money see photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your very kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, especially as you were able to take in some of the best views of Lincoln Cathedral from your private balcony.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location, nice hotel (a little tired in places) helpful staff and good food (breakfast and Dinner were enjoyed whilst at the hotel), we were fortunate to have a two day break this week at the Lincoln Hotel, Excellent room view of the Cathedral just across the road, the only disappointment was that our room, on the second floor, did not have air conditioning which was needed due to a south facing room and the warm weather recently, we did open the windows to get some relief but then got the road noise and the Cathedral bells so disrupted our sleep either way. I believe some of the rooms on the third floor did have air conditioning and would make sure we booked one of these next time. All in all a great place to stay, relaxing area to the front of the hotel, enjoyed sitting there with a nice cold beer. Would definitely go back again if in the area

Room Tip: if it's summer, get a room with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, especially your comments about our good food.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely
James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from a one night stay, and would like to highly praise the staff at this hotel - genuinely friendly and helpful (especially the young gentleman on the evening bar service). Average hotel though,nice room with Cathedral view but our bath a major disappointment in an otherwise lovely space, would benefit from an enamel repair kit and some bleach around the plug area and in the sink...pitted on the bottom of the bath and not nice to look at. Great air con system in the room, really quiet and much appreciated on a warm night. Over fussy light shade, cobwebs galore!! Breakfast served 7.30am - 9.30am on the usual hotplate, but sadly plates cold. Coffee ran out at 9am, gave up and left!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on our Tripadvisor website. I am sorry that you did not enjoy all of your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel, please accept my apologies.

We have been going through a period of refurbishment recently and unfortunately some of our baths are yet to be completed. We usually receive very good feedback for the cleanliness of the hotel so I shall certainly address the problems you mentioned internally with my housekeeping team to rectify immediately.

On a more positive note, I’m delighted by your comments of “Great staff” and “highly praise the staff”, I will be sure to pass this on to the people concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lincoln Hotel again very soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second stay at the lincoln hotel. Our first room had cathedral view which was spectacular. Our recent room had a garden view. The room was adequate although it had two single beds rather than the double we had booked. It was air show week so we didnt persue this, thinking they were fully booked. Fairly clean. Good location for cathedral and steep hill attractions, shops, restaurants and bars. Hotel bar nice if you can get access; at our last stay a wedding party prohibited use.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel over what was an extremely busy weekend. The Air Show is certainly a fantastic event that attracts thousands of extra visitors to the city.

The Long Room bar area at the front of the hotel is the hotel’s function room so unfortunately is private to guests of that specific function, for example a wedding. The hotel’s public and residents bar is called Bar 67 and is our converted wine cellar style bar, located on the ground floor. This is open seven days a week and also welcomes non-residents; we even have live music acts performing on a regular basis. It certainly is one not to be missed. For any guest wishing to order a drink and sit with the beautiful views of the Cathedral we also of course, offer a table service from our Reception Lounge area.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a lovely Hotel in a sensational setting across from the Cathedral and don't worry about the cathedral bells they do not cause any inconvenience.The room was air conditioned and on the day we were there it was much appreciated
The hotel restaurant and bar are relaxed and the steak meal we had was exceptional.The bar tariff is reasonable and t be honest it was the best drink we had all night having sampled one or two local pubs including two Wetherspoons.The breakfast offering was of a high quality and of the buffet type so eat as much or a little as you would wish.
Beware if you are not to good on your feet or a tad unfit the walk down to the town and back is very steep and covered in cobbles but we are told there is a shuttle bus to use if required.

Well worth a visit and we hope to call again ourselves.

Room Tip: A Cathedral view is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mickcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us and the food served at breakfast and dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little

General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Really good meal for 16 in the private Elizabeth 1st room....Sunday lunch was special and excellent 3 course meal including caviar! £20 a head...even the Red Arrows flew over for my other half's birthday...room reasonable for £108 per night with Cathedral view...breakfast 5 star...full English with flat top mushrooms!....smoked Salmon also on breakfast...Lincoln a bit limited for things to do would recommend 2 night only for short break....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Reiceproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, in particular your kind comments regarding our Sunday lunch and breakfasts which will be passed on to our kitchen team.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Lincoln Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I should start by saying that this review relates only to a family meal at the hotel - we did not stay there, or use any of the other facilities.

Along with our extended family and friends (approximately 40 people) we attended a celebratory birthday lunch at this hotel. The staff coped really well with a large party and the food was served promptly and was piping hot. It was also very good quality, and everybody in our party commented on how much they had enjoyed the meal. The hotel itself is looking quite tired in places, but that certainly cannot be said of the staff, who were all very pleasant and keen to ensure that we all enjoyed the celebration to the full.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValtteriKnelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent family celebrations at The Lincoln Hotel.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.
It is also very pleasing to hear your positive comments about the standard of food. All the staff are extremely proud as they were awarded Restaurant of the Year in the Select Lincolnshire Food, Drink & Hospitality Awards 2014.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit; hopefully you’ll be able to stay a bit longer.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £66 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. Our dishes are made using fine, locally sourced, seasonal Lincolnshire produce. You can enjoy your meal with a glass of wine from our carefully chosen list, or another drink from our bar. Finish your day off in style with a delicious three-course meal from our Green Room restaurant. Our chefs have created a menu combining traditional flavours with a contemporary twist. For the perfect end to your dinner, indulge in a delicious dessert or try some of our local Lincolnshire cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing