We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea”
Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We were very surprised at how the afternoon tea was with a Travelzoo voucher. Amazing quality and choice, great service even though they were catering a wedding.

Great views of the cathedral and Roman ruins with great relaxing environment on the lawn.

Good to have free parking too

Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank 123hannaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience with us. I am delighted that you were able to make the most of the good weather and enjoy the beautiful views of the Cathedral from our outside seating area.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little

General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

On arrival at our Hotel we were put in a small room just to the right of reception. It was shabby with cracks in the wall wallpapered over and only a 3/4 bath. When I complained I was told that it was the last room available which infuriated me because I know that our friends had booked after us. The Resteraunt was fully booked so we ended up going out for a meal and then later that evening there wasn't anywhere to drink unless you wanted a loud young persons bar which was very busy.Yet again we trapesed out to get a drink. When we checked out I was told that the duty manager was on holiday and given a compliments slip with an email scribbled on it ad told to email with my complaint. I emailed them ten days ago but have had no reply. I have seen plenty of good reviews about this hotel. That just makes more disappointing. that I had such a poor experience

Room Tip: Don't choose room to right of reception 121 I think. It is awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarySew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest

I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel and please accept my apologies for any problems you experienced with the customer service you received.

I shall certainly address the problems you mentioned internally with my management team, to ensure our usual high standards are maintained. In the meantime, thank you for your comments as we do appreciate all feedback.

Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Lincoln Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel actually looks a bit out of place next to the medieval sites around Lincoln the outside resembling a rather ordinary architecturally challenged building but it with the quirky 60’s retro interior décor, it actually works well. The staff were helpful, professional and courteous. The rooms are a little plain looking but they are freshly decorated and very acceptable. The hotel lounge/lobby was a very comfortable place for a morning coffee and to read the copious amount of daily newspapers offered for free. The breakfast was excellent quality with a great choice of hot/cold dishes. We didn’t eat in the restaurant but it looked like a high class establishment with a good menu. The location right next to the cathedral complex was perfect and we would definitely stay here if we visit Lincoln again. You need to be on top of the hill in this city – Steep Hill is a well named and not for the unfit. Viewing the cathedral lit up at night was breathtaking so if you are going to stay here, then make sure you take a walk from the hotel when darkness falls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJL1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they will be delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I’m pleased that you had time to take in some of the best views of Lincoln Cathedral from the hotel as it certainly is very beautiful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break at The Lincoln. Receptionist was efficient and professional. Room was good size and quality. The view of the cathedral was great. Free Wifi was brilliant. Star of the stay was our evening meal, it was amazing. We have eaten in some seriously fancy restaurants and the meal we had was the equal of them. The quality, presentation and taste were fabulous. The staff are young but very enthusiastic. We would have eaten here on our 2nd evening if we didn't have prior arrangements. The breakfast offer is again, very good. Cold meats, cereals, fruit, menu options, quality buffet ingredients, freshly cooked and a nice selection of croissants etc. we were very satisfied with our stay and would highly recommend. We hope to return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned as they all work extremely hard to maintain high levels of customer service for all our guests.

It is also very pleasing to hear your positive comments about the standard of your evening meal. All the staff are extremely proud as we were recently awarded Restaurant of the Year in the Select Lincolnshire Food, Drink & Hospitality Awards 2014.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here on a Travel Zoo voucher for 2 nights, including a contribution towards one dinner. The location of the hotel was excellent, just across the road from the cathedral. There is a large car park attached to the hotel for which I was to be charged £5. However, there was no forward knowledge of this charge and it was swiftly removed. Good customer service.

The bedroom was air-conditioned, essential as we stayed through a very hot period. The manager had to demonstrate how to use this appliance as the remote control would only apparently work if it was virtually in contact with the unit! It did however work just fine.

The dinner in the Green Room Restaurant was superb. Good choice, plenty of tasty food and good service. The breakfast was just as good.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

If we return to Lincoln the Lincoln Hotel will be sought out for a booking.

Room Tip: Cathedral view room - the cathedral bells finish at 11pm and recommence at 7am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments about our Green Room restaurant. All the staff are extremely proud as we have recently been awarded Restaurant of the Year in the Select Lincolnshire Food, Drink & Hospitality Awards 2014.

Equally your comments about good customer service are very much appreciated and will of course be passed on the hotel staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very nice hotel staff very helpful, every were was clean. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice. Rooms very nice quite and a good nights sleep.Had no problems at all would recommend it to anyone. It was across.the road from the Cathedral.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side were very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41liz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us; the food served at breakfast and of course the service offered by our team. I am glad that you appear to have been well rested.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I have actually stayed here twice, once for a wedding and once to visit friends who live nearby. Both stays were very pleasant. Because the hotel is in town it's very easy to get anywhere you want to go. It's right opposite the cathedral too so nice views. The staff are nice, the rooms are clean,if a little hot as the aircon is woeful. The breakfast was acceptable. If you work here please tell the manager to stop doing fish and spend more budget on the other items as the salmon was disgusting.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MiserableOldChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, the cleanliness of our rooms and of course the service offered by our team. I will pass your kind comments onto the staff members concerned.

Apologies that you were not impressed with the salmon that you had, I will look into this and rectify anything out of the ordinary immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
872 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £67 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. Our dishes are made using fine, locally sourced, seasonal Lincolnshire produce. You can enjoy your meal with a glass of wine from our carefully chosen list, or another drink from our bar. Finish your day off in style with a delicious three-course meal from our Green Room restaurant. Our chefs have created a menu combining traditional flavours with a contemporary twist. For the perfect end to your dinner, indulge in a delicious dessert or try some of our local Lincolnshire cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing