We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Lincoln Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Lincoln Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were both delighted with our stay at The Lincoln Hotel. The accommodation was spacious with a small garden patio for our use. Dinner was taken in The Green Room, which was excellent. Breakfast the following morning followed the same pattern. The staff could not have been more helpful. Yes, we will be going again!

Room Tip: The ground floor, at the back, have rooms which open onto a small garden with a patio where you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJS195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    649
    224
    67
    34
See reviews for
199
909
43
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carshalton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here on a Travel Zoo offer last week and had a lovely large room overlooking the Cathedral. It was a Sunday and there was a Wedding on but it did not affect our enjoyment in any way. The location is second to none, there is a lovely outdoor seating area where we sat for a while enjoying the sunshine. We ate in the Green room restaurant and it was one of the best meals we have ever had. Our breakfasts were also lovely, plenty of choice and eggs cooked to order. Service was friendly everywhere and we felt valued; our two day break was certainly value for money. Lincoln itself is worth a visit although my husband was not keen on Steep Hill!!

Room Tip: Request a Cathedral view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarshaltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

It is also very pleasing to hear your comments about the food in the Green Room. We take great pride in the fact that we recently won Restaurant of the Year in the Select Lincolnshire Food, Drink and Hospitality Awards 2014.

A little tip for your next visit, the Walk & Ride 'Steep Hill Shuttle' bus is a super way to get around Lincoln and the quickest way up the hill. With 13 convenient stops across the city at all the major attractions you can enjoy the stroll down Steep Hill, then hop on the shuttle bus back up to the top.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

on the positive side location cannot be beaten, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the check in process was the easiest ever. Our room was fabulous with the promised views of the cathedral. unfortunately it was also very hot and the air con was not the most efficient I have ever used. the room was a little grubby, the bathroom more so. I was unimpressed that the toilet roll wasn't renewed after our first night. we had dinner in the green room, the menu is limited. it sounded quite nice though. there was no atmosphere in the dining room, we were served warm beers, the two girls doing the waiting on were clearly willing but not well trained or organised. we wanted dessert but after waiting for ages and not managing to get the waitresses eye we gave up. when asked if everything was ok we said we had wanted dessert but had given up and she seemed surprised although she and one other were dealing with the only six tables in the room. oh the food was mediocre, dry and could almost have been the previous days, the only thing I really enjoyed was the new potatoes which were delicious. beds were comfortable. on checking out we were given a surprise of paying for a meal we hadn't had, it got sorted but it was just another minor irritation and given the impression the hotel is trying to give of it being a quality hotel with award winning restaurant they were things which shouldn't be happening. all in all I would happily stay there again, making sure that the cups and glasses were washed by me, and the shower cleaned before use, I would take an extra loo roll, fortunately we had one in our bag from a self catering holiday we had recently been on. I would not eat in the hotel. forgot to mention breakfast, again minor things, having to go to the self service area for your tea and coffee, no spoons at that area to fish tea bag out, being right next to the self service toaster and people not moving over, the food however was good if a little cold.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CodHead73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your recent stay at The Lincoln Hotel, please accept my apologies for any problems you experienced.

I shall certainly address these internally with my management team, to ensure our usual high standards are maintained.

Once again, I am sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion.

Yours sincerely
James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our short break in the Lincoln Hotel. Our room was clean, a good size and equipped with all we needed. The position overlooking the cathedral was wonderful and how thoughtful that the bells stopped at 11pm and did not start again until 7 am, though they were barely audible inside the bedroom. The staff were excellent, interested, helpful and unfailingly pleasant. They do the hotel much credit. Breakfast was good, dinner in the Green Room restaurant was delicious and with plenty of choice. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so pleasant. Ian and Ann

Room Tip: Top floor for a small outdoor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all of the staff as they will be delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was very pleasing to hear you were able to enjoy dining in the Green Room restaurant and also found the bedroom to be clean and comfortable.

I’m glad that you had time to take in some of the best views of Lincoln Cathedral from the hotel as it certainly is very beautiful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I started giving the Lincoln a 4 but when I put 5 in most of the categories changed this to excellent. The modest reviews from other travellers fail to reflect that it is 3*. Also we had a beautifully refurbished room with a Cathedral view.
To summarise, the staff were most friendly and helpful and were all local people including the bedroom cleaner. The hotel was spotlessly clean (as was Lincoln generally) and the food was good with an excellent breakfast selection.
We had a fabulous two days in Lincoln and will certainly go again and stay at the Lincoln Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, especially as you were looked after so well. I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to the team.

Although our building is quite old, we like to embrace the 1960’s features that we still have - they add to its charm and character. As you quite rightly point out we are still only a three star property and are limited to this due to some of our physical features.

However, this does not prevent us from constantly updating and refurbishing each room in turn to ensure that we continue to modernise our offer. As we are privately owned, we feel that we can offer a friendly, warm welcome with personable service to rival any branded corporate operation.

We hope to see you again soon and look forward to welcoming you back to The Lincoln Hotel.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Lincoln Hotel certainly delivers excellent food and service from a well constructed menu and relaxing environment under the watchful eye of GM James the team provide an excellent evening.
The Bar67 offers comfortable alcove seating creating an intermate environment to support the live music from good quality performers . The hotel supports local talent and provides the Bar67 to encourage their contribution. Good to see I wish more hotels had this vision.

Room Tip: Very popular book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Graham

Thank you for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure meeting you, I’m glad that you enjoyed your visit to Lincoln. It’s very pleasing to hear that you particularly enjoyed dining in the Green Room Restaurant and of course listening to the live music entertainment in our very own “Cavern” Bar 67!

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Lincoln Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My other half and I stayed here as a 30th birthday treat from our family, it was also my first night away from my baby girl. I was so excited. We got to the hotel and thought it looked a bit out of place with all the amazing architecture around it. But still full of excitement we let reception know we had arrived, our room wasn't ready yet, so we went on our way and looked around Lincoln. We got back to the hotel about 4ish got our key, to which the receptionist emphasised that they had a wedding and that they were full. I thought fare enough it was nice of her to let us know that it was busy, plus our room would be over the dining room where a wedding was being held. To get to the point, we got to our room full of excitement, opened the door and my face dropped, I just wanted to cry!!! The room was outdated, light fittings (may be picky) were not attached properly. Furniture was tatty, the room was small. It was like being in a travel lodge.For £180 I was expecting something a bit more. I was so gutted, we went to reception who stated they were full because of weddings, when I asked why the room was so expensive they said that was the cost at the time of booking. So I want to know why we didn't get a better room!! The only thing that stopped me going home was my other half and knowing we needed some time together as a couple not just as parents!!! We felt under valued. We had a meal In the green room which came to the total of £50 (included in the £180 price) which meant our room was £130!!! I wish we could say we had a fantastic stay as the location was fab, but it was just a big disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln_Hotel01, General Manager at The Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

I was sorry to read the comments following your recent visit to The Lincoln Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment that you experienced during your stay.
I would be happy to discuss the problems you encountered further and ask that you contact me directly at the hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

James Little
General Manager
The Lincoln Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Hotel

Property: The Lincoln Hotel
Address: Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lincoln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lincoln Hotel is set in the very heart of uphill Lincoln, with the best views of the Cathedral to be found in the city. This stunning part of Lincoln is packed full of history, glamour and sophistication. We want our guests to relax, unwind and rest, after a busy day exploring the historic city, or a stressful day of meetings. With a fully stocked bar and a fantastic restaurant. The Lincoln Hotel offers everything you could possibly need for a memorable and enjoyable Lincoln experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing