We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent food and service.
Free wi fi
Fantastic parking facilities . Cheaper than other local hotels Tourist attractions on the doorstep .
Restaurant food 5 star rating .
Great value for money .
Room was comfy and clean no air con .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellsbells305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at The White Hart nearly four years ago and again had a very comfortable room with cathedral view. The breakfast was very good, excellent poached eggs, and set us up for the day. The bar is very popular in the evening with a good choice of cocktails. The hotel is in an excellent location and we look forward to staying there again in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now. The hotel had an oldie worldly feel of quality about it. Parking is easy in the car park opposite though be careful where you park. It is a converted garage which is open to the local pigeon fraternity. Choose a spot with no marks on the floor or pay the price in the morning at the local car wash. The rooms are well laid out and spacious. I didn't stay for dinner. Breakfast was good though the service was a little tardy. The location is great for a walk in the evening with great views of the cathedral. All in all I will be staying again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a short break over the May bank holiday. The hotel is excellently situated In the centre of the older part of town. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although busy with a wedding party, the hotel was clean and tidy. Our room (executive room 351) had the most brilliant view of the cathedral. Unfortunately, it was very noisy so my husband went to reception where he was told, by the manager, that it was the kitchen extractor fan, but would go off at 11 pm. We accepted this for the sake of the excellent view.
BUT although it went off on Saturday night, Sunday, it did not turn off. It was like trying to sleep with a lorry beneath your window with its engine running constantly. Unable to sleep, I phoned down to reception at 1am ish and was told that the ovens were being cleaned so the fan had to stay on, and happened every Sunday. It eventually turned off at just after 2am! I was furious, especially as we had specifically asked about this noise. As you can imagine, this spoiled a lovely time away from home!

Room Tip: Ask about noise levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent in all respects. A fantastic view of the Cathedral from our bedroom which had an enormous queen-sized bed. Food was outstanding and well presented. In all this Hotel is exceptional value. Service was excellent and staff very friendly. Would recommend this Hotel to everyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and i recently stayed at the White Hart in Lincoln for a weekend break,...its a very large hotel and we checked in promptly and were asked if we needed help with our cases which we declined,,,in hindsight we should of accepted as it was a bit of a maze to find our room,we eventually found it on the 3rd floor..it was a large ,well appointed room with a view of the cathederal.the hotel has its own bar and restaurant..We had breakfast on the 2 mornings we were there and there was enough to feed a family of 6.all in all .a very nice weekend.

Room Tip: Try and get a first floor room,its a bit of a trek to the other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisdonohue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This Hotel is in a wonderful setting, our room looked out on the Cathedral. The staff were very helpful and the rooms very comfortable. But not really boutique as advertised. The restaurant was rather over priced and the food was pretty average. However, the breakfast was very good.

Our dog was also made very welcome!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,891 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: £91 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished atmospheric Hotel at centre of most historic part of city, facing castle & cathedral. Free parking and Wi-Fi. Award winning restaurant and arguably the best cocktail bar in the city! 50 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many with excellent views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Lincoln
White Hart Hotel Lincoln
White Hart Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing