We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Disappointing Birthday Tea”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Very Disappointing Birthday Tea”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Knowing that 2 of our party of 4 had specific dietary requirements (one just vegetarian, one wheat intolerant vegetarian) I booked well in advance for a special Birthday Tea at (as I was led to believe) Lincoln's Premier Hotel.
How disappointed we all were. Decor and furniture tired and scuffed. Walls and paintwork dirty in places, Windows and glass doors marked with greasy fingerprints Food looked reasonable but waiting staff could not or would not deviate from set menu . Initial staff contact good but upon meeting the Restaurant Manager to voice concerns, Customer Service was the last thing on this young lady's mind. Argumentative, dismissive and generally very unpleasant. She did not allow for us- the customers- to put concerns forward.Very very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    174
    88
    45
    17
See reviews for
83
209
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend from some years ago came back to Lincoln, staying for a week at the White Hart.We met her there on her first evening and enjoyed a pleasant couple of hours over drinks in the friendly ambiance of the Grille bar.On our second rendevous, we decided to eat in the Grille restaurant. Our meal was beautifully presented by a smiling waitress. The quality was excellent and I was impressed that they served Liver, an old favourite of mine.The four in our party expressed in glowing terms their whole experience. My previous visit to the White Hart, some years ago did not impress me since it was at that time anachronistic and old fashioned. Now there is a vibrancy about the place with Quality and customer care at the top of the agenda. Well done everyone

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent food and service.
Free wi fi
Fantastic parking facilities . Cheaper than other local hotels Tourist attractions on the doorstep .
Restaurant food 5 star rating .
Great value for money .
Room was comfy and clean no air con .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellsbells305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at The White Hart nearly four years ago and again had a very comfortable room with cathedral view. The breakfast was very good, excellent poached eggs, and set us up for the day. The bar is very popular in the evening with a good choice of cocktails. The hotel is in an excellent location and we look forward to staying there again in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now. The hotel had an oldie worldly feel of quality about it. Parking is easy in the car park opposite though be careful where you park. It is a converted garage which is open to the local pigeon fraternity. Choose a spot with no marks on the floor or pay the price in the morning at the local car wash. The rooms are well laid out and spacious. I didn't stay for dinner. Breakfast was good though the service was a little tardy. The location is great for a walk in the evening with great views of the cathedral. All in all I will be staying again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a short break over the May bank holiday. The hotel is excellently situated In the centre of the older part of town. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although busy with a wedding party, the hotel was clean and tidy. Our room (executive room 351) had the most brilliant view of the cathedral. Unfortunately, it was very noisy so my husband went to reception where he was told, by the manager, that it was the kitchen extractor fan, but would go off at 11 pm. We accepted this for the sake of the excellent view.
BUT although it went off on Saturday night, Sunday, it did not turn off. It was like trying to sleep with a lorry beneath your window with its engine running constantly. Unable to sleep, I phoned down to reception at 1am ish and was told that the ovens were being cleaned so the fan had to stay on, and happened every Sunday. It eventually turned off at just after 2am! I was furious, especially as we had specifically asked about this noise. As you can imagine, this spoiled a lovely time away from home!

Room Tip: Ask about noise levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent in all respects. A fantastic view of the Cathedral from our bedroom which had an enormous queen-sized bed. Food was outstanding and well presented. In all this Hotel is exceptional value. Service was excellent and staff very friendly. Would recommend this Hotel to everyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,721 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
868 reviews
2.7 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished atmospheric Hotel at centre of most historic part of city, facing castle & cathedral. Free parking and Wi-Fi. Award winning restaurant and arguably the best cocktail bar in the city! 50 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many with excellent views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Lincoln
White Hart Hotel Lincoln
White Hart Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing