We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had our wedding at the white hart hotel on the 8th of August 2014, and what can I say...it was an absolutely fantastic venue. We had a room also, or should I say rooms (the top room, cannot remember the number). It was spotlessly clean and although old, very modern.
The reception staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome. The wedding organisers were also great on the day and didn't mind changing things in order to keep everyone happy.
I cannot express how impressed I am by the White Hart, it and it's staff are credit to Lincoln.
The bar area gets busy on a Friday and Saturday night, but the atmosphere in that area is great!
Breakfast was also excellent.
Keep up the good work and good standards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ianho78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for The White Hart
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

The White Hart has a wonderful location- right next to the Cathedral and at the top of Steep Hill. The food at dinner was excellent and the reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The internet signal was strong and reliable.
However, the White Hart is trying to be all things to all people, so at times it tries to be a very traditional hotel and then it tries to be trendy, so it misses at both.
The music in the bar was unnecessarily loud with a constant dump beat. One member of the bar staff denied ever having heard of sherry, though another was able to find it easily. The lift worked intermittently.
Breakfast was poor. On the first day there were curious crescent shaped pasties- I wasn't sure if they were uncooked croissants or over cooked puff pasty. Either way, not good. The second the hotel was clearly less full, so the range of and space for breakfast was greatly reduced, though there were recognisable croissants! Also the tables were sticky on both days and one the waitresses had an unerring ability to bring things to the wrong table.
Tip: Go past the hotel to find the garage.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front can be noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for one Sunday night in August. Very good welcome from reception with friendly and helpful staff. Free parking opposite hotel for duration of stay, under cover and secure.
Lovely spacious bedroom which was up to date and well appointed. Delicious full English breakfast for £10 which made total cost £89. I consider this an absolute bargain given the standard of hotel and location.
The hotel is located round the corner from Lincoln Cathedral which has got to be seen to be believed - awesome. The hotel is in the old city with loads of independent shops and cosy pubs.
Will definitely re-visit .

Room Tip: Higher floors have some rooms with cathedral view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank famagusta80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely big room overlooking Cathedral. Quiet despite very busy bar at weekends. Great restaurant with lovely menu - nicest evening meal we had during our weekend. Ideal location a stones throw from historic sites and shops. Amazing breakfast!

Room Tip: Upgrade to exec rooms for quiet room away from bar, and for lovely views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandBsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel has a superb location in the wonderful old part of Lincoln, sitting between the cathedral and the castle and the fact that parking is available opposite is a bonus. Our executive room and bathroom were exceptionally spacious, if somewhat bare. Whilst the glazing insulated us from outside noise, the internal door did not do the same for those using the corridor outside our room.The bedding was comfortable but the beds themselves were old and very creaky. There is no mini bar or fridge, no air conditioning.
As we arrived, the bar which is by reception, was exceptionally noisy. We appreciate it was a saturday but nonetheless, we thought we might be able to enjoy a quiet drink on arrival. Not so and it remained that way whenever we passed through that evening. The lift is ancient.
It is appreciated that this is an old building with all the issues and compromises this brings but it is high time money was spent to bring this hotel up to the standard it's superb location deserves.

Room Tip: Good luck!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank climbergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here Tuesday 22nd July for 1 night. Great location and friendly reception. Used the lift that time forgot and still had to walk up some stairs and along several corridors. Room was difficult to find. Room was clean and we had lovely soft bath towels. The bed had an unusual slope which prevented a good nights sleep. We were unable to open the window and the room was stiflingly hot which also prevented a comfortable nights sleep. There was a lovely view of the Cathedral from our window and we were woken early by the bells chiming around 6am. The hotel had ample free parking opposite (you need a code to exit). Park outside to prevent your car being covered in pigeon droppings. We were served a good cooked breakfast in The Grille restaurant, staff were polite and cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

didn't stay there but both me and close friend went this sunday I had the chicken and ham pie and my friend had the beef sunday dinner, the pie was awful pale frozen pastry with lumps of cheap meat in a very watery soup sauce,the new potatoes were that hard I couldn't eat them and the green beans were frozen my friend asked for hand cut chips and got oven chips and two aunt bessy roast spuds with a very lardy over cooked Yorkshire pudding the staff had not got got a clue what they were serving all very young teenagers without a clue the food has to be the worst ive had in sometime .

Room Tip: don't stay
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richardjames M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,799 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
355 reviews
2.7 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: £92 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished atmospheric Hotel at centre of most historic part of city, facing castle & cathedral. Free parking and Wi-Fi. Award winning restaurant and arguably the best cocktail bar in the city! 50 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many with excellent views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Lincoln
White Hart Hotel Lincoln
White Hart Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing