We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside location, spacious room and good value - book early to get the best deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My partner and I spent 3 nights at the hotel as we were attending the Steampunk Festival taking place in the City last weekend. We booked an Executive Double overlooking the Marina back in February and got a quiet, spacious room with great views over the water for £290 (not including breakfast). As other reviewers have experienced, our room was very clean with good facilities, including a safe and mini bar.

We arrived 2 hours ahead of the stated check in but there was a room available and the staff on Reception were friendly and helpful. Because we were spending most of the weekend at the other end of town, we did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on breakfast or dinner. However, we did use the hotel's Starbucks on our last morning and enjoyed sitting outside in the sun with cappuccinos watching the world go by.

The waterside location is undoubtedly one of the hotel's major plus points and although this is a popular and busy area, we found it surprisingly quiet at night. This is the right end of town for the Marina, shopping, restaurants and general entertainment. The Castle, Cathedral and quirky independent shops are approximately 10 minutes away and are reached via Steep Hill. As its name suggests, it's a hlll and it's very steep! Fortunately, there are conveniently located benches half way up. It's well worth the slog. If you want to take the car instead, parking will cost around £7.00 for a day.

I have stayed in several Holiday Inns and have never been disappointed. They seem to be very consistent and, in my view, offer value for money. Of course, as with many things, it pays to book early and I think we got a very good deal for £290 (prepaid rate). The Receptionists said that they are usually busy so booking/paying early would seem to pay off.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are at the front of the hotel overlooking the Marina and, although they may cost mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleEmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the hotel. I am pleased that over your 3 day visit you experienced our usually high standards of cleanliness and took advantage of the hotel facilities.
It was also nice to see that despite your early arrival we were able to accommodate you, to enable your break to start sooner.
Thank you again for your comments, they are invaluable to us and a great comfort for the hard work our team puts in.
Regards
Scott Randall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

A high quality hotel with wonderful location. Five minutes from town centre and surrounded by a wide choice of good restaurants. Situated right on water front. The staff were also very friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a room with view over waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for posting your review, I am glad you had an enjoyable visit to our lovely town of Lincoln. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Scott Randall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife,daughter and myself stayed at the Holiday inn in Lincoln in September for my daughters graduation.When we arrived.at 11am we were told we could have the first room available,which was 10 mins later and parked the car in the inn carpark.The room was basic but very clean,overlooking the canal basin.
Breakfast was self service and excellant.

Room Tip: Ring up and ask to have the first room available.car parking costs £5 per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank churchview10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,
It is nice to read along with your wife and daughter that you all enjoyed your recent visit to Lincoln. Congratulations by the way for the graduation!
Thank you as well for the comments about breakfast, I am also pleased we managed to accommodate you early on arrival.
Many thanks again
Scott Randall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel just for one night, has lovely views over the Brayford if you have a room facing out that way (think you have to pay a bit more to get this though), even if you are on the other side of the hotel though there is a view of the cathedral which is also quite nice.

Rooms very clean and modern, had everything you need for a comfortable night's sleep. Plenty of parking out the back although this is not free.

Best thing about this hotel is definitely the location-it is situated right next to the river surrounded by bars and restaurants and its literally a 5 minute walk to the town centre.

Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Lincoln for any reason.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsworth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to pass on details of a recent visit to the Holiday Inn Lincoln. I am pleased that the recent refurbishments are being enjoyed by our guests.
It is also nice to see we are maintaining our high levels of cleanliness throughout.
Regarding the location of the hotel again you are certainly correct that we are blesed with fantastic views of either Brayford Wharf, or the Historic views of Lincoln Cathedral and Castle.
Again thank you for your comments they are always reviewed and used by the whole team.
Kind regards
Scott Randall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just had 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Lincoln and had a very nice stay. The hotel was quite busy but the service remained good throughout our time there. The room was spacious and clean and very quiet. Breakfast was also very good with a toaster that actually worked well. The location was perfect right on the water front, where there were plenty of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel rooms are quite nice. Big comfy beds and a powerful shower, and not forgetting the view over looking the carpark...what more would you want?....well maybe the Marina view would have been better. The prices i thought were a little steep. The only good point of the location is it's very near to other restaurants and only a 5 minute walk from the town centre. We ate in the hotel all 3 nights. The food was poor and every menu was very basic and the sports bar menu didn't taste that much nicer. The saving grace was the good service by the Irish waitress. I didn't see the gym but apparently it is also very basic, unfortunately this doesn't have a swimming pool. I don't think we will be staying here again, thats unless the hotel reduce the prices dramatically or maybe consider a room only stay. The only other point i'd raise, more anoying than anything and that's the tv clock. I'd recommend you cover it up before you go to bed because it's the brightest night light ever.....

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear mrskitchener,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased you liked the beds and the shower. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. We will use your comments to improve our efforts. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for a long weekend recently.The room was lovely. Great comfy kingsize bed and a powerful shower and with a view over looking the carpark...what more can you want?. Well maybe the marina view would have been better!. The prices of this hotel i feel are a little steep. I guess the only justification for paying the price is the location. Right by the restaurants, and the town is only 5 minutes walk. We ate all 3 nights in the hotel as this was included in the price . Unfortunately the food wasn't to our standards. Menu's each night very basic and even the sports bar menu didn't taste much better. The service was very good from the Irish waitress which was it's saving grace. I didn't get a look at the gym on offer but i was told it's very basic. I don't think i'll be stopping here again unless the hotel re think the prices, because i would definately stop for just room only. The only other thing...not a major put off but bloody anoying. The clock on the tv is very bright...so i'd cover up the clock before going to bed as it makes one bright night light!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £72 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing