We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not 4 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice but not 4 star.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Friday to Sunday with dinner first night deal. Location is excellent and hotel parking in city centre is reasonable. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was a nice size however bathroom decor was dated. The first night dinner was only ok and we did complain about the fatty meat and received a round of drinks free. The breakfast was excellent though and the room was nice a quiet. Overall a nice but not special place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2bestmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear 2bestmates,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be friendly. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with your in-room bathroom and the dinner you had did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    366
    153
    48
    34
See reviews for
124
395
40
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Balderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for one night and the room was clean and the staff very friendly. The location of this hotel is good and easily accessible. Just out the front door and you are on the Brayford with lots of restaurants and the cinema, very useful.

At busy times it might be necessary to have more than one person on reception.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MurfinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear MurfinK,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and impression of the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us what a positive experience you had with our convenient hotel location and appreciate the kind remarks on our clean rooms and friendly staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn and were so pleased with our choice.
The receptionists were so friendly and helpful.
Our room was over looking the Marina so had a great view. It was spotless and the beds were really comfy.
Location was great and there was no problem finding a car park space. There was a £5 charge but car park is secure and right next hotel so seemed like a reasonable fee.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina if you want a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicD403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
VicD403

Thank you for going to the trouble of posting your feedback here.

I am pleased to read that you found our reception team friendly and helpful and the bedroom itself was a comfortable place for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you choose to visit Lincoln again.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

All the staff have been friendly from first checking in, I have been at the same hotel since October, following a move from a hotel where the food was not the best. I am due to stay until Christmas and can't see any reason why I will be leaving this one. Conner in the bar and Gemma reception have made this stay a good one, displaying excellent customer service.
*** down sides***
Parking £5 per night (I will never understand this)!
Wifi £4.95 (tip from the top, from the man with top tips. Just become an ihg member and get free wifi)!
Great location for getting almost any kind of food with a selection of waterfront restaurants to choose from.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Inspectorpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to deliver your feedback, it is particularly pleasing to read your comments regarding two specific members of our team.

As you mention there is a charge to the wifi connection, but as you say this is complimentary to any IHG rewards member, which is free to join and the points you accrue never expire.

With parking being at a premium within the city we made the decision to charge a subsidised rate for our parking which does offer secure parking next to the hotel.

Should you ever need to visit Lincoln again we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just a one night stay when visiting friends. The hotel has great location on the waterfront in the heart of the city. Everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Nice to see fresh fruit on the breakfast buffet although the hot food selection was a little disappointing (burnt potatoes)

Room Tip: worth paying a supplement for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlechef2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Littlechef2012

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you say our location at the heart of the vibrant city of Lincoln is second to none.

I am pleased you enjoyed the fresh fruit on our breakfast buffet but it is disappointing to read that you found our rosti potatoes to be overcooked; our breakfast is something we pride ourselves on with over fifty different cooked and continental items so I would like to apologise for the problems you experienced.

It is our hope that should you choose to visit Lincoln again you would choose to spend it with us.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had had a lovely day in Lincoln and wanted to stay overnight so we could take advantage of the wealth of restaurants on Bradford wharf that evening.So we walked into this hotel and were lucky enough to get the last room.

Room Tip: Adapted room available and rooms nice and quiet even though they backed onto a car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincoln-rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Lincoln-rocky

It is pleasing to hear that you had a lovely last minute stay with us. Should you choose to stay over in Lincoln again hopefully you will choose to stay with us once more.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Having stayed at this hotel many times and attending previous New Years functions, I was disgusted to find out that this new years eve function has changed to not allow children in on 31st December, they have arranged a Gala Night at a greatly inflated price of £49.95. When I questioned the Duty Manager there named Daniel, he actually palmed me off saying that the evening they are allowing children inn is on 30th December and they can bring in the new year then, I'm sure that even Children would know the next day is not the new year. Daniel then went on to tell me that they were competing with the Double Tree Hilton next door to them. Daniel then hung the phone on me. When I called back and asked for Daniel again, I was put through to a rather rude and abrupt General Manager named Charlotte who was at home, I was threatened by this lady with the Police if I called again.

This hotel is a nice hotel but I will never set foot in it again until the management change especially after being threatened and talked to lik I was.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Gary D,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret the incident you described regarding the New Year's Eve celebration. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers. We always appreciate comments from our guests, and we will use this feedback in making these type of decisions in the future.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Property: Holiday Inn Lincoln
Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing