We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and Central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lincoln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Just had a 1 night break at this hotel,just wanted somewhere central,good price and parking. It didnt dissapoint.. Spotless,friendly staff..breakfast was gorgeous and the staff couldnt do enough for you. Cant wait to come here again,and Lincoln is beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
GW1980

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and hopefully you’ll be able to spend a little longer with us to see all that the hotel and Lincoln has to offer.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    355
    149
    48
    34
See reviews for
120
381
40
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I didn't stay at this hotel, but have just attended our works Christmas meal! Well I use the term meal very loosely! I have received better quality food at 2 for £10 venues. I don't like huge meals anyway, but even for me they were tiny. The food was cold, nothing as described in the menu and if I had 3 slices of carrot I was lucky. The dessert was a Lemon n Lime Tart, with soggy pastry that came out warm, probably warmer than the Main Meal. They couldn't even supply cream with your dessert. For some reason the tart had a strange flavour of aniseed to it! Bizarre! My friends husband had to send his meal back as it was cold, and I could see several other meals going back too! Meals came out missing potatoes, all 3 small ones at that! Apparently the Gents toilet facilities were disgusting too! Well Holiday Inn if that is all you can offer, I don't think you will be seeing any of our party again in a hurry! I did ask to see the manager, who was a waste of space, and all he could do was apologise and say we would have to contact the party organiser! Oh yes don't worry we all will be! I think this has to be the worst meal at a Christmas party I have ever had! If they can't cope with this volume of people then they shouldn't offer to cater for such large parties! AVOID EATING HERE!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Last year I gave this hotel a really good review, and that hasn't altered. However, I didn't mention that we'd had a problem booking in, because I thought it was a one-off, but went to stay there this year and again had the same problem booking in. Again they had no record of our reservation and whilst we were at the front desk sorting it out, several guests returned to reception to say the room they were given already had people in them! The person who attended to us was a girl called Gemma, and she couldn't have been nicer or more polite. It's not her fault that the Holiday Inn booking system is faulty. Once we were finally in our room, with which we were very happy, we had the experience of someone having been given our room! Then about an hour later, a woman from housekeeping opened our door and walked in, and she was really surprised to see us there as she thought the room was empty! Not good at all. So Holiday Inn, if you're reading this you have to get your act together! Apart from that, our stay was just as good as last year, I can recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. We were on a special deal which included dinner on one night and that was really delicious. Just be prepared for and anticipate possible problems when you book in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Lia H

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay with us, I am pleased that on the whole your stay was everything you expected. It is pleasing to hear that you would recommend the hotel to others and that you found the meal to be delicious.

Obviously on the other hand it is disappointing to hear that you experience problems checking in on two consecutive occasions. This is not the norm and the procedures have been looked at recently, I offer my most sincere apologies for this experience. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future and we can put right that final thing to make your stay as perfect as it should be.

Thank you once again for you comments and I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I always book this hotel as it is in an excellent location for exploring the town, but I wasn't impressed this time. The room was mostly fine although the bath needed a good clean and I spent ages trying to work out where the flush was for the toilet (behind the shower curtain).
Check in was ok. Although the key didn't work so I had to go back downstairs to get a new one.
They charge for wifi in the hotel, which I can't believe when they charge so much for the hotel rooms.
The breakfast was excellent as ever, although on the second morning they poured me tea but didn't give me any milk. After 5 mins, I asked where the milk was for my tea, they said to get a glass of milk.
In the bathroom, the toiletries include handwash by the sink and all in one showergel/shampoo by the bath. However, on the second morning, there was no showergel left, which meant I had to get out the bath to get some handwash to use.

When I checked in, I was not told the check out time, so I looked round the room and on the back of the door there was a sign clearly saying that the check out time was 1300. So having spent my morning shopping, I went back and just got out the shower when I got a phonecall to say that check out was at 1200 and I needed to vacate the room. When I said there was a sign on the back of the door saying it was 1300, she basically said I had misread the sign and that was for people who had arranged late check out. This was not the case - it said 1300 unless a late checkout had been arranged. Her attitude was rather rude so I ensured I took a photo to prove to her that it was the sign that was wrong. I then rushed to pack my bags and vacated the room with soaking wet hair and generally looking a complete state. Arriving in reception, there was a large party wanting to check in and she made them say out loud the checking in and out times - I felt that this was aimed at me as the party had obviously heard the phonecall. I silently stood there getting more angry. I then had to wait at least 20 minutes whilst the group checked in. However, there had been a problem with their booking so I had to wait whilst this was sorted out, still stood there looking like a drowned rat.

When she finally got round to serving me, I showed her the photo clearly stating check out time is 1300 and she made a rude comment, as if I should have known better - really?!? To make matters worse, she then gave me the bill and they had charged me extra for breakfast, which should have been included in the price. So they then had to sort that out. I left the hotel furious, but had kept quiet throughout.

There are hotels nearby of a similar standard where the wifi is free and the staff don't patronise you, so I'm more likely to go there next time. Although the room is nice, the problems I experienced this time will mean I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretonext1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear wheretonext1979,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is delightful to know that our location was of convenience and the breakfast served suited your liking. It is disappointing though that the level of service received did not completely meet your liking. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Holiday Inn Lincoln is in a fantastic location, central, in the hustle 'n' bustle and has its own car park, a great bonus in a city where parking is as freely available as bananas at the North Pole. Being a slightly needy guest, only at times, the staff and in particular management were enthusiastic in their endeavours and no request was too much trouble. The rooms are large and very clean living up to the Holiday Inn standard as you would expect. The bar, themed Sporty, have a great range of meals and drinks with a Starbucks at the front tops off the experience nicely.

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel and will hopefully, one day in the future, I will be able to return.

Room Tip: Take your time on the wharf - it's magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScaryBadgerFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
ScaryBadgerFace

It is so pleasing to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us from rooms to the Sports Bar and the Starbucks.

What is particularly nice to read however is that you found our staff and the management to be so enthusiastic towards your needs, we do pride ourselves on making our guests feel valued and going that extra mile.

As you say, you hope to return in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to do so.

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Friday to Sunday with dinner first night deal. Location is excellent and hotel parking in city centre is reasonable. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was a nice size however bathroom decor was dated. The first night dinner was only ok and we did complain about the fatty meat and received a round of drinks free. The breakfast was excellent though and the room was nice a quiet. Overall a nice but not special place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2bestmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear 2bestmates,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be friendly. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with your in-room bathroom and the dinner you had did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for one night and the room was clean and the staff very friendly. The location of this hotel is good and easily accessible. Just out the front door and you are on the Brayford with lots of restaurants and the cinema, very useful.

At busy times it might be necessary to have more than one person on reception.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MurfinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear MurfinK,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and impression of the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us what a positive experience you had with our convenient hotel location and appreciate the kind remarks on our clean rooms and friendly staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Property: Holiday Inn Lincoln
Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing