We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a deal on the price so were not surprised that we were facing the car park at the rear. This was not important as we would rather spend our money on food and drink outside of the hotel. The check in was efficient and the room spotless and had everything that we needed for our stay. Many bars and restaurants within walking distance.Would return at the right price.

Room Tip: If you wan.t a view of the water it was very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinpongcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Pinpongcrazy

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I am pleased to find that your stay was a pleasant one. It is great to read that you found the hotel and it’s amenities to be efficient and clean.

You have clearly picked the right location if food and drink are you thing as you will have seen the Brayford Wharf offers a wealth of eateries, I do hope that you visited our Sports Bar before you ventured out though.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lincoln and the hotel, and once again, thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

When I arrived near the holiday inn I didn't realise that the car park was behind the hotel. You go down a road called Lucy Tower Street which brings you to a pedestrian zone. You have to turn right and go along the quay side through the pedestrians and this brings you right up to the hotel car park. There were ample parking spaces.
The reception staff were lovely and were helpful when we were asking for nice places to eat. Our room was an executive room, very spacious with a huge bed. The view was overlooking all the boats in Brayford Quay. The room had a sitting area, iron and ironing board and everything that you needed. The mini bar consisted of two bottles of water and a kitkat...which I thought was amusing.
We decided to have breakfast in our room and this service cost £3.95 which we were happy to pay. We ordered almost everything on the list and stated what time we wanted it delivered..the latest time is 10 am on weekdays. The breakfast was delivered on time by two really nice ladies holding fully laiden trays. The food was lovely, but the hot food available for the tray service is sausage, bacon and eggs and not the full English. Everything was fresh and it was a nice change eating in the room.
We left the room at 12 and checked out...again the staff were lovely. I would stay here again for sure. Everything is close by and as a tourist it's a well placed hotel.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catmad1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Catmad1966

Thank you for taking the time to offer you feedback on your stay with us.

I am pleased that you found the executive room you stayed in to be will equipped and the staff to be friendly and helpful. As you mentioned the Brayford Wharf is a lovely area in which to spend some time.

It is also pleasing to read that you were able to relax in the morning with our room service breakfast option.

I hope that should you choose to visit Lincoln again you choose to spend it with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

CHECK IN: Stayed two nights - £140.00 - apparently a special deal - did not include breakfast. Apparently, king-size bedded rooms are ALL located at the rear of the building overlooking the ugly car park so no chance of a room overlooking the harbour, we did ask, so be warned. Room located near a noisy heavy plant building (constant humming) and the bins - so had to keep the bedroom window closed. Lots of banging of bins etc around 2 am. Check-in was slow and laborious - more interested in getting me to sign up as a member and they wanted our bank card number to cover any eventualities - I'm guessing she means buying wifi or buying breakfast - what is that all about? I can do that at check-out!! No offer of a wake-up call or newspaper. Car parking is £5 extra/night. Room is overlooked on all sides so quite dark. BEDROOM: Two 'dead' light bulbs on arrival, replaced immediately but one replacement 'popped' minutes later - must be a problem with the electrics. Mirror placed too high over the dressing/general table so had to stand to dry hair and do makeup. No hairdryer in the room. One armchair only. Stupid hefty office chair - presumably to sit on whilst doing e-mails etc - but the raising mechanism was broken. TV screen needs a good clean. Open wardrobe and no shelving?? BATHROOM: NO hot water - only warm. Just acceptable for a shower but forget using the bath - the water turned cold within seconds of being drawn. Black mouldy grouting around bath. Large area of damage to the enamel of the bath and ugly rusting mark. Extractor fan doesn't work. I personally do not use the shower gels that are provided but I noticed they had just enough gel for one shower...all a bit strange. OVERVIEW: The location is excellent - good eating chains close by - and a great breakfast can be had at Weatherspoons - just a minute away. However, the hotel itself needs a refurb, our room was just plain tired and worn out and the receptionist needs to get a grip on processes...too slow. Overpriced for what we received. Shan't stay again - the Double Tree is next door - will go there.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 106, near the heavy plant building (constant humming) and bins. Be warned, all ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear a l,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality of product and service that we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I just rung up to speak to someone and they seemed more interested in speaking to someone else rather than me on the phone the girl was very rude and wasn't bothered about what I said and hung up the phone it has put me off staying there now.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beany390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Beany390

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent interaction with a member of our team. I sincerely apologise for the way you were treated, our policy is to put our guests at the heart of all that we do, and it is clear on this occasion that this is not the case.

I hope that you still give us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed one night over the weekend & was very pleased. Beautiful room overlooking the quayside with amazing views. Ideal central location within easy walking distance to the town, cathedral, steep hill, restaurants, bars & shops. Food was good. Booked an executive room for 2 which should have included robes & slippers surely for 2 people not just one but the free bottle of wine & free movie were an unexpected addition & a nice surprise. Maybe this was a special for Valentines stays, not sure. Staff extremely friendly and very helpful. So would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Bodi_tori

Thank you for offering feedback on your stay with us over Valentines weekend.

The location of our hotel is indeed perfect, positioned so close to all the bars, shops and beautiful historic attractions. The executive package we offer includes a bottle of wine and a movie as standard, however I apologise that you only had the one robe and pair of slippers left; there should have indeed been two.

I am pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and I’m pleased to hear that you will definitely come back, and when you do we look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

There seemed to be a bit of a shortage of staff to man the coffee bar and the sports bar. Also the beer was a bit expensive. The breakfast was fine and the room was what you would expect. The taps in the bathroom were very stiff and a new set of taps would be good. Overall not bad and well positioned.

Room Tip: Allow some time to check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Bernie9999

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay.

I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be well positioned along Lincoln’s picturesque Brayford Wharf.

Thank you also for offering feedback on the staffing levels within the our coffee shop and bar, our guests feedback is invaluable to us and helps us to improve on a daily basis I will be sure to look into this to ensure that the levels are not inadequate again.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked the Holiday Inn Lincoln for its location; an easy walk from the train station and to the High Street. The cost of my standard room was really reasonable and I wasn't disappointed with the room or the facilities considering the price I'd paid. Reception staff were really helpful and more than happy to help.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Diana W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
3.5 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,852 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £75 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing