We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hotel in a lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just got back from a girly weekend & thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Its not very often you can get rooms for three or four people of the same sex sharing its normally 2 adults one or two children.We had a lovely 2 double bedded room facing the Brayford Wharf with t.v , tea/coffee, iron/board,hairdryer but no fridge but it had an ice bucket & help yourself ice machine in the corridor very good for chilling our wine .The room was nice modern & comfortable .We did eat in the restaurant but thought the portions were small & the menu very limited. Breakfast on the other hand was lovely with a good hot & cold choice. All staff were nice & pleasant.We loved the location right on the Brayford Wharf marina with plenty of restaurants & bars close by & a lovely pub called Royal William iv with great food & wine.Its 5 mins walk along the marina to the train station & town centre.We would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a 2 double bedded room facing the marina with a lovely view & no noise.you can also get i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyHolidaysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
DerbyHolidaysue

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. It is pleasing to read such a positive review of your girly get away and it is feedback such as yours that motivates the team keep continue to deliver such service. I am pleased to read that you found the bedrooms to be modern and comfortable and the breakfast to be expansive. We have recently re-launched our restaurant so should you visit again you will find the offering greater for you.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    361
    151
    48
    34
See reviews for
123
388
40
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

At the Holiday Inn in lincoln me and my partner experienced the most pleasureable stay at any hotel we have ever been too. (and believe me we have been to alot!!!!)
In the bar we were served all night by a young man named Connor and he is the sole person that made our stay as good as it was!
we were made so welcome and me and my partner talked to him casaully as he was busy working.
He was happy to answer any of our questions regardning lincoln and everything else inbetween.
Earlier on in the night he brought up an iron to our room twice and his politeness and manners were first class.
As i wrote already to reception he truly is an asset to the company and a key member of staff within the hotel... like i said before he is the person that made our night so enjoyable in the sports bar! THANKYOU CONNOR IF YOU READ THIS!

Room Tip: 104 second closest to the bar....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Daniel131

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay at the hotel.

At the hotel we have a policy of putting our guests at the heart of all we do and as is clearly evident from your review Connor exemplified this policy.

Thank you for your kind words regarding Connor and the hotel as a whole and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Having experienced other Holiday Inn's within the UK and attending Lincoln Canoe Club night on 01/03/2014 it was decided that we would stay at the hotel for the night. We found the hotel to be clean and fresh complimented by a team of professional and friendly staff from the moment we arrived at Reception. Our room was extremely well presented suggesting that the housekeepers had done a very good job. The evening meal was well presented and the service staff, led by an excellent manager, were very professional in their approach and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble especially with the number of children present. It was further noted that the restaurant manager was on duty for breakfast (having had not a lot of sleep from the night before). He was extremely helpful for us punters coming to the breakfast bar and is to be commended.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Brayford and for those that like boats and birds (feathered variety) was excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
John W

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay with us.

The Lincoln Canoe Club evening is one of the highlights of our calendar and it is great to read that you found the evening to be a pleasant one. Our staff pride themselves on being professional and approachable and it is lovely to read that this was evident in their service.

It is also pleasing to read that you found bedroom to be fresh and clean.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me and my partner booked the hotel as we had some spare money, we dont often get the chance to treat ourselves as we've recently bought our first house.

The hotel reception was nice and clean and the staff were friendly. There was a queue at check in (3.00) so we had to wait quite a while, they might like to consider staggered check in in the future. However, this didn't bother us too much as these things happen!

Once we got to our room I was quite disappointed. the room was dark with no main light. the lights consisted of a lamp and small light above the door. Extra lamps were available to use but not very effective and one of them didn't even work. We also had a view of the carpark which was a bit disappointing.

There were tea facilities available and a television which was good and the room was very clean.

However, I then went to explore the bathroom. It was very outdated and had a bright fluorescent light like you would imagine an american motel might have. The tap didn't work properly for the sink and the plug would work either. I had to get my partner to push the lever down to hold the plug in so I could wash my face.

Later I had a shower, I was very put off by the fact they still use shower curtains. The last thing you want is someone else grime and dirty water sticking to you. A shower screen would have been expected. I definately wouldn't of had a bath there if you paid me, it looked like it had been decorated in the early 70's and was very off putting.

I wont be staying here again, we regularly stay at the IBIS in lincoln which is only a 2 star and i would say that I would pay even less for this holiday Inn as the IBIS seems to have much nicer rooms and better standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornok19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Lornok19,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. I am pleased to know that you had a smooth check-in experience. However, please accept my apologies if you were dissatisfied with the condition of your room and its bathroom facility. We will consider your comments for upgrades needed.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope you can give us another opportunity to make it as best as it can be.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Booked in for 1 night midweek. Had a room overlooking the marina which was very pleasant. Bathroom a slight negative as sink tap not great and difficult to turn on. Fitness room not very big and rower display broken, not a massive problem though. Overall a decent place to stay for a business overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Delouche

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay with us, I am pleased that you found the room to be pleasant with views of the picturesque Brayford Wharf. I am sorry to read however that you had problems with your taps and the gym equipment but pleased rest assured that we will look into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you choose to visit the city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

To start with the good point, the hotel's location: it is on the rejuvenated and now very attractive Brayford Wharf North, towards the end of a row of lively eating places ('The Homemade Hamburger Co' is strongly recommended). It's within walking distance of the station and both the upper and lower parts of the city centre.

Now to the less good points: the approach is through doors which are not easy to open towards one if carrying luggage, into an absurdly small reception area. I actually had to check that this was Reception, which it's difficult to pass through if more than a couple of people are checking in or checking out.

Another poor design feature is that there are no shelves or drawers in the type of room in which I was staying, so those there for more than one night have nowhere to put clean clothes.

Anywhere purporting to be an hotel should provide the guest's choice of national newspaper, not simply say that only one newspaper is provided (admittedly free, piled up in the breakfast room). The directions to a newsagent were hopelessly wrong.

By now, of course, one is more likely to find fault, but it wasn't difficult. Luckily I travel with my own dongle, as the hotel's wifi was always showing 'Limited or no connectivity'. (As an IHG card holder I hadn't paid for wifi).

The light for my floor in the control panel one of the lifts didn't work throughout my stay, so was obviously not checked on a daily basis. A fellow guest in the lift said - I think seriously - that he stayed in the hotel at least monthly and that it hadn't worked for a year.

Breakfast can get busy and there's no organised form of receiving guests. By now I wasn't really surprised to receive a (steel) cafetiere which was overfull, so spilling coffee everywhere, and to have to find my own milk by taking it from an adjoining table.

The staff (with an unusually high proportion of English amongst them) were friendly enough, but things just don't hang together and I can't recommend this hotel. The Doubletree by Hilton next door looked better, but a colleague strongly recommended 'The Castle', in the higher part of the city by the castle and cathedral.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Sarum_Castle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the condition of our facilities and the service you received. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a deal on the price so were not surprised that we were facing the car park at the rear. This was not important as we would rather spend our money on food and drink outside of the hotel. The check in was efficient and the room spotless and had everything that we needed for our stay. Many bars and restaurants within walking distance.Would return at the right price.

Room Tip: If you wan.t a view of the water it was very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinpongcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Pinpongcrazy

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I am pleased to find that your stay was a pleasant one. It is great to read that you found the hotel and it’s amenities to be efficient and clean.

You have clearly picked the right location if food and drink are you thing as you will have seen the Brayford Wharf offers a wealth of eateries, I do hope that you visited our Sports Bar before you ventured out though.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lincoln and the hotel, and once again, thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Property: Holiday Inn Lincoln
Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing