We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lincoln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Superb location over looking the Marina on Brayford Wharf. Nice sunny afternoon added to the attraction of staying in this setting. Local bars and eateries on he waterfront, what more could one want.
Hotel was not very accessible as difficult to find due to being in pedestrian area with restrictions for motor vehicles but once found nice to have parking to the rear. My Executive room was very clean and modern and the hotel staff were very attentive and polite.

Highly recommended but advise that you research how to find and not rely on your sat-nav !!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank H2499MNmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Mark H

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Lincoln.

I am pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and modern and the staff here to be attentive and polite. I am however sorry that you had difficulties finding us in the initial instance, Brayford Wharf North is however open to vehicals looking for access to the hotel and other businesses along the wharf.

I am pleased that you feel you could recommend the Holiday Inn Lincoln so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    355
    149
    48
    34
See reviews for
120
381
40
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you are in Lincoln for a day or two this is a good place to stay. A great location overlooking
Brayford Wharf. Good housekeeping and although double rooms are not large, they
are adequate and spotlessly clean. A plus is that they offera choice of hard or soft pillows.
There was a group in and so there was a set menu which was well cooked with plenty
of fresh vegetables However when we asked for some extra bread, the waitress reacted
as though she had been asked to give us a pound of her flesh. The bread never came.

There is a terrace outside at ground level overlooking the quay which ought to have
been a nice place to sit but rubbish and cigarette ends littered the floor and the
tables were not clean. We decided to try again after breakfast the next day and
although the floor had been swept, the tables were still unwiped.

The position of the hotel is such that there are lots of lovely places to eat and drink
and a short work along the quay takes you to the town with lots of lovely shops,
a cathedral and a castle but beware the climb and the walk down with its
steep gradient is fun but you need to be mobile.

The trourist bus will drop you off at the top and pick you up if you do not
fancy the walk.

A nice place to visit and the waterfront quay was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAnne190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay.

It is very pleasing to read that you found the cleanliness of our bedrooms to be spotless and you enjoyed the choice of pillows on offer. It is also nice to read that you food the evening meal to be well cooked, it is disappointing to read that you did not receive any extra bread, something that really should have been tended to.

As you can imagine with the volume of customers using our terrace, there are occasions when this can look a little untidy, we do endeavour to keep this as clean as possible, so we will look into our methods to ensure they are cleared more regularly.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Have been to this hotel for a leisure break for the past few years. Excellent location, only a short pleasant walk to the centre of Lincoln and close to restaurants and the cinema. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and efficient.

Our room was large and clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom is a little outdated and could do with modernisation. The hot water tap was very difficult to turn on and off and was leaking dreadfully.

The best thing about this hotel is the fantastic help yourself breakfast with plenty of hot and cold items.

The hotel is beginning to look a little tired but on the whole it is good value for money and in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Gill6_13

Thank you for taking the time to offer this review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Lincoln.

It is very pleasing to read that you found the breakfast to be of a fantastic nature and it is indeed something we are proud of.

Unfortunately, as you have mentioned our bathrooms are beginning to show their age however we are continuously looking to improve them and we are hoping for a full refit in the near future.

Thank you once again for your feedback, it will help us to improve our offering here at the Holiday Inn Lincoln and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A city very close to my heart, had a great time visiting family within the city, the hotel is a great base.

It was a first time at the Holiday Inn Lincoln, on the Brayford Wharf. We had a very pleasant stay in a very comfortable room, with all the amenities that we would require. The room was clean, tidy and modern.

Breakfast good, nice waitress and a quality sausage for once! What more can you ask for.

The hotel as a whole has a warm & fuzzy feeling about it that is hard to find nowadays - you cant really buy that so we will certainly be returning. Friendly staff & an appreciation for our needs sums it up nicely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRay1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay. It is lovely to read that you found the hotel gave you that warm fuzzy feeling, and also that you liked our sausage! I trust you will be visiting Lincoln again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rooms seem to be the usual bland and functional Holiday Inn type - though we had two rooms at the same price but one was much larger than the other and was equipped with a sofa. The location is very good and the views to the front over Brayford Pool are pretty good; but from a ground floor room at the back you can only see a bit of the castle and not much else other than the car park - it might be better higher up and further round. All the staff seemed very pleasant and one of the receptionists did a wonderful job in directing us to a restaurant we had booked - beyond the call of duty. Breakfast was good. At the price this is certainly the one to go for in Lincoln.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wulfruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am pleased that you found the hotel to have functional bedrooms and a good breakfast. What is most pleasing to read is that you found our staff, and in particular our receptionist, to go above and beyond the call of duty.

I hope that you choose to visit the city again and choose to spend your stay with us. Thank you once again for taking the time to offer feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I attended a training course at this hotel and stayed overnight B&B. First the room was clean and functional, the first night I put the air con heater on in the room because it was a bit chilly, this kicked in three times overnight waking me up. OK lesson learned. Breakfast was served in the upstairs area above the sports bar, there was a good selection on offer for breakfast.
Lunch was very good and the whole course enjoyed their lunch. However there was a limited offer on the restaurant menu, I ate in the hotel for my first night, but for the rest of my stay I went next door to the Harvester.
The room we had our course in was fairly small for 13 of us, to get out without disturbing the whole room we started using the door at the back of the room which opened into a bit of a service corridor. One of our group was stopped exiting this door and told it was dangerous to go into the corridor, silly thing to say to a room full of qualified Health and Safety specialists and trainers. If you want to enforce the rules you need to abide by them, as for at least the next hour the fire exit at the end of this corridor was blocked with laundry and cabinets. If pictures are required I have them for use in training, how not to treat a fire exit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldSnowdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
OldSnowdrop

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay with us along with the course you recently attended.

It is pleasing to read that you found your bedroom to be clean and functional, and it is also pleasing to read that you found the hotel’s breakfast and conference lunch offering to be of a good selection and enjoyable. I am sorry however that you found the evening menu to be limited, had you had any special requests our kitchen team would have happily prepared something special for you.

I am sorry that you found the room to be small for the 13 delegates, the room’s dimensions however were available to the booker and this room has been used for similar courses of similar sizes. The member of staff who stopped you was also correct in their actions, this area is a private service corridor and is therefore not for public access. However this does not remove from the fact that you say our own health and safety policies were coming under question, naturally this is not something we condone and have contacted our laundry suppliers and will act appropriately to ensure that this situation is resolved and not repeated.

It is our hope that you do in fact choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton nn2 7ne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I came back from a one night stopper over at the Holliday in at Lincoln today what a super hotel lovely bedrooms and our overlooked the river witham room 211.We were b/b and an evening meal and all I can say is the food was fab and red hot as we'll we could not fault it and the staff all very nice. It had been 20 years since we had stayed there and nothing had changed. We'll done to all at the holiday inn and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: If you are thinking about going Lincoln think holiday inn and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflyer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
highflyer33

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is pleasing to read that you found the bedrooms to be lovely and the food you experienced to be of a high standard. It is also pleasing to read that you found our staff to be nice and friendly.

It is our hope that you don't leave it another 20 years until you visit again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Property: Holiday Inn Lincoln
Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing