We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Centre haven, informal & friendly”
Review of Hillcrest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

a great little hotel a short walk from the city centre. great location and very welcoming. rooms are well decorated retaining period features too which is nice. limited parking but we found the street to be safe. cold breakfast choices sufficient but limited although cooked was lovely (and I'm fussy!). bar had limited hours which was a pity, stock up or have a night cap elsewhere :-) landlady was very dog friendly which meant our border collies loved their stay and especially the park which was directly out the back of the hotel. lincoln is a beautiful city to visit and we would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: if you have mobility issues make sure you have a ground floor room due to stairs
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Work2TravelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Hillcrest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just got back from a trip to Lincoln.
This was a nice hotel only a short walk to the Cathedral. The people were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was good. The breakfast room overlooking the garden was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is clean and modern and quirky really enjoyed our stay here couldn't fault it at all we stayed in a garden facing room and the views from our room where great deserve way more than the 2 stars it has.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed overnight whilst visiting daughter at uni. It is a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, bright and welcoming. The breakfast was very good and nothin was to much trouble. It is a really beautiful building which mixes the old with the new really well. I loved all the magnificent lights around the hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay there again. Well done to all,,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one night with my friend....Lincoln is a half way point in the country for us to meet. Free car parking is attractive when I look for a hotel. The decor was striking....I could tell that the owners had spent a lot of money creating the "wow" effect. The room was great...we just wanted a base to stay and it ticked all the boxes. We walked to and from Lincoln with ease and found the walk enjoyable, The breakfast was perfect...lots of choice and to eat in the conservatory overlooking the park was very pleasant. I was also thrilled to bits when I rang up the hotel a week after my stay to see if they had found an earring in the room we had stayed in and the answer was "yes". The owner gladly forwarded this on to me straight away which I thought was wonderful. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev_j_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were on a business trip near Lincoln and decided to stay overnight and visit the Cathedral. I found Hillcrest via a dog-friendly web site and there was no extra charge for our large companion.
We had room 1, right next to the front door so very convenient, and there is a path down the side of the building directly into the Arboretum. It couldn't have been easier.
The bed was comfortable and the hotel was completely silent all night.
We had supper at a pub called the Wig and Mitre, about ten minutes away on foot, and the dog was welcome there too. The food was great.
Breakfast was plentiful and the fresh fruit was lovely and ripe.
Despite it being early April, the garden was really well looked after and in the summer it would be a lovely place to sit and relax with a drink.
Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a lovely welcome, despute arriving late and the hotel was warm, clean and ideal for our 4 night stay. Yes, the bathrooms are small but the beds are very comfy and the breakfasts were great. I've paid far more for far worse and would happily stay again.

Close to the cathedral and the Christmas market the position is ideal and whilst the car park is small the road is wide with plenty of space for parking so this isn't an issue. The family who run the hotel put a lot of effort into ensuring guests have a good stay and are professional and courteous, the bar was also very welcome after walking up and down Steep Hill all day.

I'd recommend it and happily stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,798 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
355 reviews
2.2 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest

Address: 15 Lindum Terrace, Lincoln LN2 5RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: £82 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillcrest 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcrest Hotel is a small family run hotel which backs onto Lincoln's tree park, the ideal place to go for walk or a jog, or simply sit in our conservatory and watch the world go by.All our rooms are ensuite, mostly with showers, all include flat screen televisions with Freeview, complimentary in room beverages, Free WiFi throughout, feather duvets & top pillows, which can be changed if required, please advise us at time of reservation.We are pleased to offer complimentary on site parking, which is limited, with reservations not being possible, also ample free on street parking.Hillcrest is situated only a short stroll to Lincoln Cathedral, Castle, Steep Hill, with all their amenities, when you are all shopped out why not visit The Usher Gallery & museum, or Lincoln Archives in Rumbold Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing