We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs”
Review of Hillcrest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillcrest
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel and was very disappointed at the room I was in, the bathroom was so small and smelt of mould and damp, the shower cubical was so small making it difficult to shower properly it was mouldy and full of scum and the sink wouldn't drain, the bedroom was dark and dingy although clean and tidy but really in need of upgrading, when I went to sit in the garden there was lovely rattan garden furniture I but could not sit on any of the chairs as all the cushions look like they had been left out all winter and were dirty and mouldy I find this really unacceptable, I fully understand this hotel is only a 2* and my standards are usually higher but I really expected better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank buckshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    58
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
85
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Don't be put off by the 2 star rating. The hotel is excellent and worth a full 5 stars. The hotel is family run, clean, comfy and dog friendly. We received a warm welcome and the staff were polite and friendly throughout our two day stay. The hotel is 5 mins away from the cathedral and city centre.
The hotel was so quiet we thought we were the only ones staying there and was quite taken back the first morning at breakfast to find 20 others sitting there!
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a comfy nights sleep choose Hillcrest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this B&B based upon past reviews. Not let down. Mark and Amanda are so welcoming and make you feel relaxed from the start. The B&B offers a full breakfast which is really great and sts one up for a full day. The location is perfect. There a fantastic garden to sit in and relax, and a lounge area with bar Right next to the local park, 10 mins from the town and only 5 mins from the Cathedral and castle. Also close to the Lincoln Life museum. In all well recommended and great to see and explore Lincoln which has more to offer than one may initially think.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Faultless. Comfortable clean room, high standard of accommodation. Friendly professional staff and quality breakfast. Free parking. Five minutes walk from the cathedral. While in Lincoln we saw some of the other hotels that are highly rated on here and glad we booked Hillcrest. Will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

a great little hotel a short walk from the city centre. great location and very welcoming. rooms are well decorated retaining period features too which is nice. limited parking but we found the street to be safe. cold breakfast choices sufficient but limited although cooked was lovely (and I'm fussy!). bar had limited hours which was a pity, stock up or have a night cap elsewhere :-) landlady was very dog friendly which meant our border collies loved their stay and especially the park which was directly out the back of the hotel. lincoln is a beautiful city to visit and we would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: if you have mobility issues make sure you have a ground floor room due to stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Work2TravelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just got back from a trip to Lincoln.
This was a nice hotel only a short walk to the Cathedral. The people were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was good. The breakfast room overlooking the garden was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is clean and modern and quirky really enjoyed our stay here couldn't fault it at all we stayed in a garden facing room and the views from our room where great deserve way more than the 2 stars it has.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,751 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
344 reviews
2.2 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest

Property: Hillcrest
Address: 15 Lindum Terrace, Lincoln LN2 5RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillcrest 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcrest Hotel is a small family run hotel which backs onto Lincoln's tree park, the ideal place to go for walk or a jog, or simply sit in our conservatory and watch the world go by.All our rooms are ensuite, mostly with showers, all include flat screen televisions with Freeview, complimentary in room beverages, Free WiFi throughout, feather duvets & top pillows, which can be changed if required, please advise us at time of reservation.We are pleased to offer complimentary on site parking, which is limited, with reservations not being possible, also ample free on street parking.Hillcrest is situated only a short stroll to Lincoln Cathedral, Castle, Steep Hill, with all their amenities, when you are all shopped out why not visit The Usher Gallery & museum, or Lincoln Archives in Rumbold Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing