We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Tennyson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tennyson
Ranked #20 of 49 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel was in a great location, easy walking distance to town. It was warm and comfortable, with nice thoughtful touches in the room, a phone charger with adaptors, sewing kit, proper chairs in the rooms, teddy on the bed, free wifi, full sized kettle. Also a nice lounge with computer, books to borrow and sweets. Breakfast was excellent, good choice and perfectly cooked. The only downside was that the shower was rubbish, hot but no power, and bath towels were tiny. We were made to feel welcome and could also park easily. We had read that traffic noise was an issue in the front bedrooms, we did not find this to be a problem at all, and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    34
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
15
69
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

a very warm welcome, attention to detail, very clean, bedrooms comfortable and nicely furnished and breakfast excellent, owners very helpful. Good off road carparking.
Tip if not used to traffic noise request back room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Booked this hotel at the 'last minute' and was pleasantly surprised both by the quality of the hotel and its distance from the Christmas market (just over a mile).

Plenty of parking, fabulous breakfast and a spacious room. Wifi was available (but we didn't use it) and overall a great find. Will return next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Great B&B to chill out and have some quiet 'me' time and be comfortable. Very warm staff, caring and welcoming. Well heated, cosy room. Wireless included. Living room area to chill out in. Close to local high street. Good value.

Room Tip: Follow your gut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazeena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just had two very informal and relaxed nights at the Tennyson. Paul gave us a very warm welcome. The breakfast was amazing and the service out standing. They could not have been more helpful. Street maps printed out for you to take with you, umbrellas for you to use if its raining. Sweeties in a bowl in a lovely lounge area. Facilities to sit and eat a takeaway if you wanted. All in all a fab place to stay. I e-mail prior to leaving to ask if my son could join us for breakfast and was e-mailed back. "Yes thats fine, no extra charge" That is above and beyond I think. Thank you Paul for a lovely couple of days. Jacky and Jeff Malvern Worcestershire.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Tennyson its very good value for money and our room was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked and of a high standard.Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a perfect place as a base to visit the surrounding area.

Room Tip: front rooms can be a bit noisy from the traffic but the size of the room and cleanliness more than m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My Husband and I stayed for a weekend break in the middle of September. We very much enjoyed everything about "The Tennyson." This Guest House represents excellent value for money. The owners clearly understand the importance of attention to detail and this is reflected throughout all areas of the Guest experience.
The rooms are well presented and very clean. The breakfast itself and breakfast service are of an equally high standard. The Customer Service offered is very helpful and friendly but not intrusive.
Overall, a fantastic Guest House. I would not hesitate to recommend-a perfect base for Business or Leisure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
1.5 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,753 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennyson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennyson

Property: Tennyson
Address: 7 South Park, Lincoln LN5 8EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tennyson 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Tennyson Guest House The Tennyson is located in Lincoln, a magnificent city in the East Midlands of England with much to offer all visitors to see and do in picturesque and historical surroundings. The Romans established a port. The Normans built a castle. The Victorians built a prison and the medieval bishops built a magnificent Cathedral. Come and visit Castle Square, which is lined with beautiful medieval houses and the famous Lincoln Castle. The Victorian prison sits behind the castle walls, which is a great place to go visit. Finish your visit with a walk along the castle walls to see spectacular views across Lincolnshire. In the evening, what could be more pleasant than a stroll along the High Street seeking out a suitable restaurant under the magnificent spectacle of the floodlit cathedral. Lincoln is blessed with a great variety of restaurants and to help you in your choice we provide a restaurant guide in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Tennyson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing