We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Friendly people, Great food”
Review of Tennyson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tennyson
Ranked #25 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night and both agreed it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, my boyfriend fell in love with the red sheeting inside the shower, nice en suite, comfy bed, great breakfast . We was also greated fab aswell, def will be staying here again next time we visit lincoln from sunny Spalding.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lavpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Don't usually stay in B&B's or write reviews but thought this was worthy of a mention as extremely friendly service & a very nice place to stay. We usually stop in hotels but stayed here for 1 night as it was very close to a friends house & were made to feel a lot more welcome than you would in a hotel. Rooms were spacious & clean with comfortable beds, wi-fi & digital tv. Breakfast was cooked fresh & thoroughly enjoyable. Nice little touches included free bottled water in a fridge downstairs & a little chocolate Easter bunny with breakfast.... what hotel would do that? Fully recommended & wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anthonybretten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a very nice 1 night stay at the Tennyson. The lady who greeted us and cooked us breakfast was the only staff member we saw (possibly the owner judging by other comments?) and she was brilliant! Very friendly, and my omelette in the morning was fantastic. My girlfriend is veggie and they had plenty of things she could have chosen and she enjoyed her breakfast as much as I did.

Bed was very comfy and the room a good size. The bathroom was very nicely decorated and the shower was warm. The room faced a main road but once we closed the window we genuinely couldn't hear anything.

Hard to fault this place really, only shame was we only stayed one night and because we were visiting family didn't see Lincoln but may well come back again for a weekend in the summer and if we do we'll 100% definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Situated 10 minutes walking on the flat from the town centre. The welcome was warm and friendly. Parking was adequate. The room was clean, warm and the facilities were of a great standard. Wi fi, tea/coffee, TV etc. All the things you expect from a chain hotel in a guest house. Breakfast was perfect. Coffee was great and the food was cooked to order. I will certainly be going back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Panda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Superb in every way; friendly owner, fantastic breakfast, comfortable room. The lady who owns the hotel was the perfect hostess and cooked a wicked breakfast! The bedroom was homely, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and sparklingly clean. I ate well and slept well; what more could you ask for? Definitely deserving of the AA 4* rating!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Essex812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wonderful hotel, fantastic service, lovely lady met us on arrival, told us everything we needed to know, accommodation fantastic, clean, comfortable, bathroom amazing, bed brilliant, breakfast wonderful, would go again and again, no complaints at all! Can not understand why anyone would! Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rach595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed one night here in room 4, as a heavy sleeper i found it okay to sleep but do bare in mind it is next to a busy road but would definitely stay again as spotlessly clean and friendly service, a lovely breakfast too!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter as next to a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
782 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
1.5 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Queen In The West
Queen In The West
#24 of 51 in Lincoln
107 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#26 of 51 in Lincoln
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#3 of 51 in Lincoln
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennyson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennyson

Address: 7 South Park, Lincoln LN5 8EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £48 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tennyson 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Tennyson A Self-Serviced Accommodation The Tennyson is located in Lincoln, a magnificent city in the East Midlands of England with much to offer all visitors to see and do in picturesque and historical surroundings. The Romans established a port. The Normans built a castle. The Victorians built a prison and the medieval bishops built a magnificent Cathedral. Come and visit Castle Square, which is lined with beautiful medieval houses and the famous Lincoln Castle. The Victorian prison sits behind the castle walls, which is a great place to go visit. Finish your visit with a walk along the castle walls to see spectacular views across Lincolnshire. In the evening, what could be more pleasant than a stroll along the High Street seeking out a suitable restaurant under the magnificent spectacle of the floodlit cathedral. Lincoln is blessed with a great variety of restaurants and to help you in your choice we provide a restaurant guide in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tennyson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing