We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food in Quirky Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crust

Crust
Ranked #76 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
312 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in Quirky Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Having done Gabby's Greek Taverna the night before we thought we would continue the quirky theme and dine at Crust. Great stuff. The place really is a step back through the corners of your mind. Could well have been a seventies restaurant film set right down to the home built tile roofed bar in the corner. This was mirrored by the wine list which contained every wine you first tried drinking thirty years ago. The only one missing was Hirondelle. Having said that we did find a nice white Bordeaux. When you had stopped looking around, Oliver's waiter service was excellent. He was very friendly, attentive and informative and whatever else you say about the place, the food is excellent with lots of French classics still being delivered silver service style. Fantastic value as well.
Thank you Victor and Oliver for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AleksHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    43
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! Great food, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stumbled upon this small restaurant with a free friends. The food was delicious! service was fantastic

Highly recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EthelSt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous homemade pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fantastic service and lovely homemade food. The homemade ravioli and sauce was delicious. The restaurant is old fashioned but very homely, it reminded us of visiting a taverna abroad. We would definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliep44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like stepping into a time warp... but go there for a romantic and affordable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to Lincoln for a short weekend break and had booked in to an expensive restaurant, but having looked at the menu and it not being to our tastes tried to find somewhere else on a Friday night. I found this place by chance on Trip Advisor from another review and have to say was not sure what to expect. Yes the decor is from another era but the service, quality and price is fantastic. There are not many places like this left and would highly recommend this as a great place to go for lunch/dinner in Lincoln, a tourist attraction no less. My boyfriend and I would definitely go back if we are in Lincoln. Also great for vegetarians! Lots of options which is always nice when some places only do a couple of veggie dishes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home made food, lovely staff and brilliant value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

From the front the restaurant doesn't even look like a restaurant but once you get up the stairs your welcomed with smiles and the gorgeous aroma of home made food! Me and my partner want for my 20th and we are going again for our anniversary. The decor is very homely and warm and the tables are set out beautifully. We arrived very early but the place soon filled up with groups of people of all ages.
The service was quick and we ordered a bottle of wine which was cheap and cheerful.
When our food arrived it was served on floral plates which reminded me of eating at my nan's house. The food was presented in a homely fashion with non of this posh restaurant style were you only get one tiny bit of food in the middle of your plate. And the taste was just as homely, tender meat that fell of the bone and tastes that made your mouth water.
The owner served us and he is so welcoming and chatty, it felt like he'd known us for years!
All in all a wonderful experience eating out and the best part is it was nice and cheap.
EXCELLENT! Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandriaB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crust also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing