We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Buckets of character and charm, child friendly...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Summerhouse
Early morning last winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Buckets of character and charm, child friendly, excellent location.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This place was a real find and how just how lucky were we to find it. The Old Rectory Stables is a stunning conversion abounding in original features and has a unique history. Very well equipped with white goods and kitchen equipment. All those things you forgot to pack will be just lying in the range of kitchen, bathroom and bedroom cupboards and how do they get the towels so fluffy? Geared up for families boxes of toys, lego, books, jigsaws, DVDS and even a dressing up box come as standard. A cot and high chair and stair gate also provided.
The owners are at hand, welcoming and thoughtful. The place is in a brilliant location, just outside the ancient city of Lincoln yet within an hours drive of the flat sandy beaches, a feature of this coast. A short drive away are the Wolds, countryside and unspoilt historic market towns.
This is somewhere out of the ordinary, a place with a unique backstory , yet within the larger context of a magnificent Elizabethan estate. Add to that the use of
an amazing garden, walled and gated, a place where children are welcome to play and exercise their imaginations in complete safety.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melwick20...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect venue for a restful break”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We first stayed at The Stables in August 2016 whilst attending a family wedding and was adamant that we would be making a return visit.
It is without doubt one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. There were six of us in our party including my two teenage daughters and everything was catered for. The grounds are perfect and along with the large fully equipped kitchen there is a very comfortable, homely lounge complete with a log fire.
Our host was waiting for us on our arrival and was. very welcoming and hospitable. He made it very clear that we could call on him if we had any problems and of course we had none.
We enjoyed a beautiful meal at the restaurant next to the property and also enjoyed a very enjoyable breakfast at the café attached to the Farm Shop.
I would highly recommend this venue to anyone and will definitely be returning again..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel26r...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay for Christmas!”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My family came over from the US for an English Christmas and The Stables was just the perfect place for all of us to be together. We took lovely walks and my family enjoyed visiting the shops, and we went to the Cathedral and Castle - an easy drive into town. But a lot of our time - just like everyone over Christmas was just spent having family time in front of the fire, opening presents, and sharing good times and good food. The kitchen is well equipped for feasting, we were very impressed. I thought I would have to bring lots of equipment from home. Our host was very amenable as well. Nice to share a jolly drink with Ian.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Country Hide-Away within reach of everything!”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Countryside living in a beautifully converted stables with a great host.

If you are looking for a country getaway near Lincoln with major routes to elsewhere this is a great find. This was perfect for us with our family of four teenagers to relax in front of the log fire or hang out at the farm-style kitchen.

The Stables provided us with the ideal location to visit family, have plenty of living space, and to be away from it all yet within walking distance of the excellent farm shop / restaurant. All this in the grounds of the fine-looking Doddington Hall as a backdrop.

I look forward to staying here again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvman
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have stayed at The Stables before and it's the perfect place for us to catch up with family in the area. Six adults and my one year old grandson stayed for four nights and were also joined by other family members each day. Plenty of room for us all and everything we could possibly need was provided. There was a dressed Christmas tree waiting for us, a welcome pack which included a bottle of wine, comfy beds with lovely cotton sheets, lots of little extra touches and our host, Ian, was considerate and kind as always. We would certainly recommend The Stables and will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahinDu...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quality, spacious, comfortable place to stay in a great location!”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We feel very lucky to have found such a great place to stay in Lincolnshire. Ian (the owner) was most helpful and confirmed our booking straight away, providing useful information about the Stables and surrounding area. We were welcomed on arrival and given all the information we needed. We were even left some essentials in the fridge which was great after a long journey. We found the accommodation as described- very spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated with quality fittings and furniture. It was lovely to have the use of the garden where our young son could run around and make the most of the lovely weather we enjoyed. We found plenty of interesting things to do nearby- Burghley was definitely worth a visit (lots to entertain children in the secret garden), Belton House, Woolsthorpe Manor, and of course Lincoln only 6 miles away. We also enjoyed a lovely day just staying in and around the Stables, visiting Doddington Hall and the farm shop which had a very nice café. We also bought food from the farm shop to eat in each night as it was such a nice place to be- so peaceful and quiet but it was nice to have the owner just next door in case of any problems (not that we had any). Ian was very welcoming, inviting us over for drinks one evening, and even sent us a lovely letter after our holiday, thanking us for our visit. We had a great holiday, made very memorable by the lovely accommodation and kind hospitality. We hope to be back to stay at the Stables soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and homely feel of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wandereri...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay & very hospitable host”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Had a very comfortable stay for a couple of weeks over Christmas & New Year, house was very warm with a lovely Christmas tree & nibbles awaiting our arrival. Ian was a very hospitable host inviting us over for drinks & extending our stay. Very convenient to have the farm shop right next door & not far to superstore for larger grocery shopping.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing