We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of St. Clements Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Clements Lodge
Ranked #9 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

After a four hour drive in the rain we found this calm oasis in a quiet street near the cathedral. Bill helped us with our bags and Janet showed us our rooms. Both they and the rooms were delightful. We had come to see the Mystery Plays and explore Lincoln and our two nights at St Clements Lodge really enhanced the experience. Spotless ensuite rooms with complimentary tea, coffee, bottled water and chocolate and hearty breakfasts including Lincolnshire sausages. Perfect.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for St. Clements Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

In my view, St Clement's Lodge is everything you would wish for in a B&B.

The room I stayed in (at the top of the house) was spacious with a large bathroom, complete with walk-in shower with a large head. It had a double aspect, so was nice and light. The room (and the house in general) was very clean and immaculately maintained. The decor is contemporary, in soothing colours. The bed was comfortable and the room well equipped, with good attention to detail.

I have stayed here 3 times and each time I arrive to a very warm welcome. Bill carries my case to my room and when I return home in the evening, a light is left on in my room and a little chocolate snack has been left with the tea/coffee.

Bill cooks a first class breakfast and offers a good choice.

Bill and Janet are very accommodating and helpful. For example, they are happy for you to use their wi-fi and were happy for me to check-in in the middle of the day.

St Clement's Lodge is within a short walking distance of the Cathedral and Castle - about 5 mins.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have windows on both sides so are light and airy, as well as being a good size.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your very kind comments. We enjoyed your company and looking after you and hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards. Bill T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here twice,quite small but the top room in the Attic is the one to have.Could'nt be better place for the cathedral Quarter of lincoln,though Parking at the B&B is a little tricky & limited.Nice Hosts,Lovely Breakfast.

Room Tip: Attic Bedroom is the best!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Hi John S
Thanks for your kind comments. Just as a matter of interest -when exactly did you stay with us?
I've looked through our diary and for 3 weeks of last September we were on holiday and for the week we actually were here nobody with a Lincoln phone number stayed. Mystery!
Looking forward to a reply.
Regards,
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

we stayed here the night we got married at lincoln cathedral,,,,the attic room was amazing and Bill was an excellent host as Janet was away......a wonderful to our married life,,,,couldnt have been better,,,,,well well well worth staying ,,,,thank you

Room Tip: the attic room was fantastic,,,spacious and relaxing
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent the wekend of 30th march 2012 in the lovely home of Janet and Bill, we booked the three rooms for our family, the rooms were all fabulous, the beds devine, a quiet location but within a 5 min walk to the hustle and bustle. We were looked after very well, supberb breakfast with a hugh choice. We all had a smashing time, would strongly recomend, we will be back!
Thanks you Janet and Bill.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms were of great standard, we had the honeymoon suite, which is very spacious, if you get t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It is rare to find a B&B that truly lives up to the 'home from home' description, but St Clements Lodge is exactly that. The owners had only just returned from holiday when we arrived, nonetheless everything was spotless and nothing was too much trouble in their homely B&B.

We had a good sized room with a huge bed and ensuite shower room on the first floor of their house overlooking the tennis courts to the rear. The bed was beautifully comfortable and the tea tray excellent. The location was superb, just a few minutes walk from the cathedral and the castle, (both of which were open for free the weekend that we visited) and in easy walking distance of a huge range of restaurants.

Breakfast was served in the dining room with doors opening onto the spotless kitchen so advice could be offered about our plans for the day whilst cooking - I choose poached eggs and haddock which was delicious and the other half had a beautifully cooked full English also with a perfectly poached egg. Toast was freshly cut from a bloomer loaf and absolutely lovely with home-made jam.

The thing with B&B is that the clue is in the title - a comfortable bed followed by an excellent breakfast is really de rigeur - I'm delighted to report that St Clements Lodge have got it spot on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerbell013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Not wanting to stay in a ubiquitous characterless Macdonalds type hotel, of which we have more or less identical ones in France we took time to look for an authentic and cosy place to stay while visiting family in Lincoln. We wanted to stay in a more personal environment which would be more like home from home. We were lucky to happen upon Janet and Bill's lovely home bang in the centre of the city. Our room, the honeymoon suite, with its newly installed ensuite walk-in shower and separate dressing area was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, cosy and luxurious. We had a tea station (to us, coming from France, this was an unexpected bonus) and were able to wander out of the front door and be in the heart of the restaurant area (of which there are several nearby) within a few minutes. In the morning we had a choice of several different breakfasts but we chose a full English cooked breakfast, something we look forward to when visiting the UK from our home in France where continental breakfast is the norm. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay; Bill had been a pig farmer (amongst other things) in his pre B&B days and we were given the best Lincoln sausages, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and hash browns. Lashings of coffee, orange juice and a delicious fresh fruit salad were all part of the breakfast. Pampering over we were nicely set up for the day's sight-seeing and shopping ahead. Janet and Bill were were the perfect hosts and full of helpful information to set us on our way. We would thoroughly recommend staying at their lovely home if you are lucky enough to find they have a vacancy when you visit Lincoln.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite at the very top has the best views but don't worry too much if you can't res...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reposriberac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,798 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#4 of 51 in Lincoln
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Clements Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Clements Lodge

Address: 21 Langworthgate, Lincoln LN2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Clements Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your "home from home" only 300 yards from Cathedral, castle etc and superb places to dine, restaurants and pubsWinner of "Lincoln Accommodation Establishment of the Year" award and finalist in AA "Landlady of the Year" competition.Lovely large, comfortable rooms and super breakfasts with many choices - smoked haddock with poached eggs or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon to name just a couple.Leave the car here and walk to all the sights. Come and be pampered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing