We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lovely Bed and breakfast in great location"”
Review of St. Clements Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Clements Lodge
Ranked #9 of 44 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast with the magnificent Lincoln cathedral on the doorstep! It's actually on a very quiet street yet so close to all the bars,restaurants and shops.All the positive comments that have previously been said are completely true including the fantastic breakfast! My husband had the full English which he said was delicious and was huge! I had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which was also delicious! A real treat!
We were a bit apprehensive about our room as the bathroom was separate but we need not have worried as it's only across the landing and is for the use of that room only therefore totally private. It has a huge shower and bath which are absolutely spotless as is the rest of the house.
Our only negative is that one morning we had to share our breakfast table with another couple. Due to them being complete strangers this made us feel slightly uncomfortable and we felt that the other couple felt this too!
All in all Bill and Janet are a very friendly and welcoming couple and we would highly recommend their bed and breakfast if you are visiting Lincoln!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thanks for your very kind words. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Having only a relatively small dining room compared to the rest of the house, when we are full, which is quite often we're pleased to say, 2 couples sometimes have to share a table at breakfast. We do try to match those couples for age, temperament, reasons for visiting Lincoln etc. and introduce them to each other to break the ice and usually they are very soon in conversation and sharing their visitor experiences and advice. Unfortunately it didn't quite work for you for which we are sorry and apologise.
If you come again, which we hope you do, we'll make sure we put you on the small table on your own. Once again, many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was our second stay at St Clements Lodge, Janet & Bill the owners once again made us feel very welcome, Our first stay was 10 years ago and we were still remembered after all that time. Rooms are really spacious and comfortable, and breakfast is worth getting up for, and cooked just the way you like it. It's easy to see why they are still going strong after all these years. Would recommend the St Clements Lodge to anyone wishing to visit Lincoln, Janet & Bill will make you feel welcomed and are full of loads of useful information on the area and places to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thanks Davina, so pleased you enjoyed your second stay here. We look forward to, hopefully, looking after you again and, hopefully again, in a little less than 10 years this time!! Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

St Clement's Lodge offers the best accommodation I have ever experienced. After a disappointing and below standard stay in a local hotel, this was an absolutely top class experience ! Spotlessly clean, very very comfortable and many thoughtful extras. Brilliant,Janet and Bill ! Absolute stars!

Room Tip: Bathroom separate but top class. If you need en-suite, best to enquire. This was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Hello Sue P and thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that, after your initial bad experience elsewhere, you enjoyed our hospitality. We hope to see you and look after you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A truly lovely place to stay and equally lovely hosts! The rooms are very tastefully done and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Thank you, we had a fantastic weekend. We shall definitely stay here again if we visit Lincoln in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for those very kind words - we do hope that you WILL come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Me, my mother, brother and grandma all stayed with Bill and Janet on the 5th and 6th Sept 2012 for my graduation ceremony, they were very welcoming and kind. Mine and my mother's room didn't have an en-suite bathroom but I think the large one we were allocated downstairs certainly compensated, it was a gorgeous bathroom. The breakfasts were amazing, perfectly cooked and presented, I especially appreciated the fresh herbs, the selection of cereals was also pleasantly surprising with a large variety and as much "Propa" tea as my grandma could have wanted :D Overall Bill and Janet are lovely people who really do take good care of their guests, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and their company, we hope to stay with them again if we ever find ourselves in Lincoln.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for those kind words. Janet and I wish you all the very best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have stayed at St Clements Lodge a number of times, Janet & Bill make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The rooms are perfect, spotlessly clean and the beds are so comfy, and after a good night sleep, you are then treated to the best english breakfast. All in all we had a perfect time. Thank you Janet & Bill.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thanks for your kind words, we both look forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A really clean homely welcoming B&B set in the heart of Loncoln,so close you can hear the chimes of the cathedral. Breakfast was "the best english" according to my husband who is an expert on a cooked breakfast. We had room 3 which had an enormous bed which was soooo comfy. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you want a bath that is so big your feet dont touch the other side, also a shower room 3 has a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50birthdaygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Many thanks for your kind, unexpected, review of our place. We're just pleased that you had a nice time here in Lincoln and that we helped a bit! Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#8 of 9 in Lincoln
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lincoln
1,915 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lincoln
884 reviews
1.7 mi away
Creston Villa Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 44 in Lincoln
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Clements Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Clements Lodge

Address: 21 Langworthgate, Lincoln LN2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your "home from home" only 300 yards from Cathedral, castle etc and superb places to dine, restaurants and pubsWinner of "Lincoln Accommodation Establishment of the Year" award and finalist in AA "Landlady of the Year" competition.Lovely large, comfortable rooms and super breakfasts with many choices - smoked haddock with poached eggs or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon to name just a couple.Leave the car here and walk to all the sights. Come and be pampered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing