We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
Review of St. Clements Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Clements Lodge
Ranked #7 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I've been coming to stay at st Clements lodge once month for the past 18months when im in lincoln for work.Rooms are Very clean and homely, they also have a very good cooked breakfast. The owners Bill and Janet are very welcoming and very helpful on anything I needed. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norah55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Hi Nora and thanks for your very kind words. I hope you will allow us to continue to look after you when you come up here for a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
144
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Quite simply excellent accommodation accompanied by an excellent breakfast and hosts who do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable and relaxed.
St Clements Lodge is well situated within sight (and earshot) of Lincoln Cathedral and is a beautiful old house which has been lovingly decorated to provide luxurious accommodation which matches any top class hotel. However, in my view it surpasses the standards of the impersonal formulaic hotels by providing the essential ingredient of hosts who work hard to ensure that their guests are comfortable and relaxed.
Janet and Bill make it look easy but their attention to detail and the cleanliness of the well-appointed rooms is the result of a commitment to quality and high standards.
The breakfast choice is comprehensive and cannot fail to satisfy and the rooms are beautifully furnished.
The ideal place to stay in this beautiful, compact city but beware Steep Hill if you are (literally) faint hearted !

Room Tip: All rooms have private facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Many, many thanks for your kind words. Janet and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Highly recommended! An excellent place, owned by lovely, friendly, helpful, uncomplicated, cosmopolitan people with a good sense of humor. Incredibly good breakfast (quite early, though, for owls like us, but that was absolutely ok ;-)), fantastic, very cosy rooms. Optimal location! THANK YOU, BILL and JANET! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Many thanks for those kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast with the magnificent Lincoln cathedral on the doorstep! It's actually on a very quiet street yet so close to all the bars,restaurants and shops.All the positive comments that have previously been said are completely true including the fantastic breakfast! My husband had the full English which he said was delicious and was huge! I had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which was also delicious! A real treat!
We were a bit apprehensive about our room as the bathroom was separate but we need not have worried as it's only across the landing and is for the use of that room only therefore totally private. It has a huge shower and bath which are absolutely spotless as is the rest of the house.
Our only negative is that one morning we had to share our breakfast table with another couple. Due to them being complete strangers this made us feel slightly uncomfortable and we felt that the other couple felt this too!
All in all Bill and Janet are a very friendly and welcoming couple and we would highly recommend their bed and breakfast if you are visiting Lincoln!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thanks for your very kind words. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Having only a relatively small dining room compared to the rest of the house, when we are full, which is quite often we're pleased to say, 2 couples sometimes have to share a table at breakfast. We do try to match those couples for age, temperament, reasons for visiting Lincoln etc. and introduce them to each other to break the ice and usually they are very soon in conversation and sharing their visitor experiences and advice. Unfortunately it didn't quite work for you for which we are sorry and apologise.
If you come again, which we hope you do, we'll make sure we put you on the small table on your own. Once again, many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaddesden, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was our second stay at St Clements Lodge, Janet & Bill the owners once again made us feel very welcome, Our first stay was 10 years ago and we were still remembered after all that time. Rooms are really spacious and comfortable, and breakfast is worth getting up for, and cooked just the way you like it. It's easy to see why they are still going strong after all these years. Would recommend the St Clements Lodge to anyone wishing to visit Lincoln, Janet & Bill will make you feel welcomed and are full of loads of useful information on the area and places to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thanks Davina, so pleased you enjoyed your second stay here. We look forward to, hopefully, looking after you again and, hopefully again, in a little less than 10 years this time!! Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornhill on tweed
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

St Clement's Lodge offers the best accommodation I have ever experienced. After a disappointing and below standard stay in a local hotel, this was an absolutely top class experience ! Spotlessly clean, very very comfortable and many thoughtful extras. Brilliant,Janet and Bill ! Absolute stars!

Room Tip: Bathroom separate but top class. If you need en-suite, best to enquire. This was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Hello Sue P and thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that, after your initial bad experience elsewhere, you enjoyed our hospitality. We hope to see you and look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A truly lovely place to stay and equally lovely hosts! The rooms are very tastefully done and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Thank you, we had a fantastic weekend. We shall definitely stay here again if we visit Lincoln in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for those very kind words - we do hope that you WILL come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Clements Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Clements Lodge

Property: St. Clements Lodge
Address: 21 Langworthgate, Lincoln LN2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Clements Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your "home from home" only 300 yards from Cathedral, castle etc and superb places to dine, restaurants and pubsWinner of "Lincoln Accommodation Establishment of the Year" award and finalist in AA "Landlady of the Year" competition.Lovely large, comfortable rooms and super breakfasts with many choices - smoked haddock with poached eggs or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon to name just a couple.Leave the car here and walk to all the sights. Come and be pampered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing