We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper Northern Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Clements Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Clements Lodge
Ranked #7 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Proper Northern Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two nights here while visiting family and friends in the area, and what a great place to stay! We arrived late after a very long and delayed slog up from London, but Janet and Bill went out of their way to accommodate for this. The room was immaculately clean, very well presented, and after such an arduous journey we were very happy to climb into such a comfortable bed! Bill stoked me up with a hearty Full English both mornings, while my girlfriend was pleased to see a great selection of fruit and cereal. There were also plenty of other cooked alternatives. With fresh orange juice and proper coffee to wash it all down, we were set for the day ahead.

St. Clements Lodge is everything a B&B should be, and we will definitely be back (although we promise we'll try not to be so late next time!). Thank you both!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willbolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for this very kind review - we certainly hope that you WILL be back again! Best wishes from Bill And Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
136
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was our first time at a B&B stay. Janet & Bill were the best hosts. The bedroom was so beautiful done out and the bathroom was amazing. Our breakfast was amazing set out in a sunny room with beautiful linen tablecloth. Unreal breakfast a big thankyou to you both. Amazing B&B you both should be very proud of it.
Lincoln City is amazing one of our favourite, the Cathedral was so beautiful proud eyes to our eyes. A big thankyou to Bill & Janet.

Room Tip: Rooms were very clean, rooms are very quite, parking at the back of house. If visiting Lincoln a mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chez270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you so much for those very kind comments. We're so pleased that your first B and B experience was a good one and hope that the rest of your trip to the UK was a good one and you had some more good B and B experiences. Fair dinkum cobber!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed 1 night on the way to Yorkshire and although we arrived a little late were made to feel most welcome. The room was perfect as was the full English breakfast. Bill & Janet deserve their awards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRMouse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you MRMouse for those kind comments - always good to hear from satisfied guests! Hope you had a great time in "god's own county" - Yorkshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Although it has all been said before, I will reiterate. Bill and Janet were great hosts. This is a little gem.
Clean, spacious room (top floor), great breakfast and well situated for city centre. Value for money too!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkE28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you MarkE28. It's always nice to hear that our guests are happy and satisfied. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife & I stayed here for a 5 night break in April. Bill and Janet were very welcoming and made us feel very much at home. Our room was very clean, spacious with a very comfy bed!
Full English Breakfasts were excellent with a great selection. The B&B is idealy situated for the city centre, cathedral and castle etc. Good, affordable places to eat are also close by.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Many thanks for those kind words, we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed for one night at the beginning of April and wished it could have been longer. Everything about St Clements is wonderful. The warm welcome you receive from Janet and Bill can't be bettered. The rooms are beautiful and luxurious. There was a lovely sitting area in the room we had. The bathrooms are equipped with all you could need. The bed was comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast. The whole stay was so much nicer than a hotel would have been. We cannot speak highly enough of this lovely English guest House in the Cathedral Quarter of Lincoln.l

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieoldie-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Many thanks "Ossieoldie" for those very kind words - from thousands of miles away! We're very pleased to have contributed, in a small way, to to some nice memories you have of the "old country". Our best wishes. Bill and Janet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed here for five nights in March on a work trip, having read all the fantastic reviews. What can I add that hasn't been said already? My room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and with everything you could need. Bill and Janet are fantastically welcoming and make you feel at home straight away but it never feels as if they're intruding or being over-familiar, and Bill must be the best breakfast chef in the county if not the country. I had something different every morning and it was always delicious and cooked to perfection - especially the smoked haddock and poached eggs. I wouldn't choose anywhere else to stay in Lincoln - in fact you should come to Lincoln just to stay here.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank xerxes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Well, what can I say!! You've really given me (the chef) something to live up to! So pleased we made your stay enjoyable and thanks for your wonderful comments from both of us. Bill and Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Clements Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Clements Lodge

Property: St. Clements Lodge
Address: 21 Langworthgate, Lincoln LN2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Clements Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your "home from home" only 300 yards from Cathedral, castle etc and superb places to dine, restaurants and pubsWinner of "Lincoln Accommodation Establishment of the Year" award and finalist in AA "Landlady of the Year" competition.Lovely large, comfortable rooms and super breakfasts with many choices - smoked haddock with poached eggs or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon to name just a couple.Leave the car here and walk to all the sights. Come and be pampered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing