We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of St. Clements Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Clements Lodge
Ranked #10 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our first ever trip to Lincoln and I would like to say St Clements lodge was a wonderful base to enjoy this lovely city. We stayed for a couple of nights in a room which was huge, very clean and beautifully furnished. Bill and Janet are wonderful hosts and give great recommendations for pubs, places to eat and visit. Breakfast at St Clements is superb with plenty of choices and Bills full breakfast is a great start to the day!! With free parking at St Clements and being a matter of only 5 minutes from the Cathedral this is a great place to stay I would highly recommend it and we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billtaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments, Janet and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our lovely little city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent two nights at St Clements Lodge and it fully lives up to it's excellent reviews. We were immediately made very welcome and my Gluten Free diet was no problem. We had the first floor twin room with ensuite and it's beautifully decorated and very comfortable, lovely bedlinen and plenty of towels.
Breakfast, cooked by Bill, was great and between us we had the 'very' Full English breakfast and the Smoked Salmon and scrambled eggs, also toast with Janets delicious home made Plum Jam. Bill and Janet make you feel really 'at home' and are very helpful with suggestions of where to eat, how to catch the 'hop on/hop off' shuttle (if the return journey up the 'steep hill' from the river to the Cathedral is too much for you) and also a little local history.
We really liked being based near the Cathedral and Castle in the historic part of town, where all the independant shops, boutiques and restaurants are, so much character, I'm so glad we didn't stay at the bottom of the hill where all the typical high street shops and chain restaurants etc are. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Star-electra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Many thanks for those lovely comments - we're both very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Lincoln itself. Do, please,come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at St Clements lodge and i must say Bill and Janet are lovely,they treat you like friends and give us some excellent recommendations on restaurants and places to visit.The lodge is just a 5 minute flat walk to the cathedral, numerous bars and restaurants so you don't have to walk down or up steep hill,i recommend OLE OLE tapas which was very good with large portions, we were a walk in but we had a table within 10 mins which we were very happy with as they were very busy.We also tried Gabbys Greek taverna down over the rail line near The Ritz pub and the food was excellent and very well cooked.Ok back to the Lodge the and very slight negative first,the wooden floorboards were a little creaky but i have concrete floors so were not used to floorboards .The good.the room was very clean and tidy and deco was lovely,the bed was very comfy with plenty of pillows.the bathroom is a little small with a sloping roof but is clean and tidy with a few very nice touches,the dining room is very nice and you can watch Bill make your excellent breakfast(dont burn the toast Bill lol),i had the LARGE full English and Bill cooked it perfect,my wife had the scrambled eggs with salmon which she absolutely loved,Parking was no problem around the side of the lodge,i would highly recommend St Clements lodge and will be returning to this wonderful excellent value for money B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1crisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for those kind comments Pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and uphill Lincoln. .Timer on toaster now fixed so won't (hopefully) burn any more toast!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Previous reviewers have used all the superlatives so I'm a bit stuck.

Suffice it to say I would recommend Bill and Janet's establishment to anyone and you'd have to be humungously fussy not to fall in love with the place, the lovely folk who run it (I should add Bill is from Yorkshire but then none of us is perfect!!) AND the enormous breakfast, freshly cooked.

St Clement's Lodge is a 5 minute walk from the wonderful Lincoln Minster, the large selection of restaurants adjacent and the famous Steep Hill.

Without a doubt the best B&B we have ever experienced (AND we are humungously fussy!!!) and resounding value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the room at the top of the house-bags of space and dual aspect windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaamersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thanks very, very much for those kind words. So pleased you enjoyed your stay here and our lovely little city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Can't recommend St Clements enough. Bill is a wonderful host. The room we had was huge and wonderfully furnished. It was a nice change to talk to Bill while he cooked our breakfast and boy, he can cook! Superb and varied menu as well. Within a gentle stroll to cathedral and good restaurants and the ones Bill recommended were fab. Lincoln is lovely and St Clements is a wonderful base with free parking!

Room Tip: Leave it to Bill as from what we could tell every room is furnished in impecable style
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dalyanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Many, many thanks for those kind comments. So pleased you enjoyed your stay here and our lovely little city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hosts, Janet and Bill, were warm and friendly, with a great sense of humour. The accommodation is outstandingly excellent - the room was absolutely pristine. The breakfast was second to none. Another bonus is very fast WiFi - we got about 15Mb/s on our room. Perfect location for the Cathedral and Steep Hill. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

HI. Many thanks for those very kind sentiments. Janet and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and your visit to our lovely little city. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We recieved such a warm welcome from Bill & Janet at St Clements Lodge. Our room was lovely, immaculately clean and nicely decorated, with a neat en suite. The B&B is in a great location for the cathedral and 'old town' part of the city, with all its interesting shops, tearooms and restaurants, and has the bonus of free parking. Breakfast in the morning was delicious - a choice of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals, followed by the freshly cooked option we had selected the night before. Nice to have some choices beyond the usual full english - I had smoked haddock with poached eggs. I would definitely recommend St Clements Lodge to anyone visiting Lincoln.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Owner at St. Clements Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much fir those kind words, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
565 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.4 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#3 of 51 in Lincoln
606 reviews
1.7 mi away
Creston Villa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Clements Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Clements Lodge

Address: 21 Langworthgate, Lincoln LN2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Clements Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your "home from home" only 300 yards from Cathedral, castle etc and superb places to dine, restaurants and pubsWinner of "Lincoln Accommodation Establishment of the Year" award and finalist in AA "Landlady of the Year" competition.Lovely large, comfortable rooms and super breakfasts with many choices - smoked haddock with poached eggs or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon to name just a couple.Leave the car here and walk to all the sights. Come and be pampered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing