We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cathedral View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wainfleet All Saints, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I were reccomended to stay here by another hotelier, the room was clean,comfortable and very warm. The location is ideal for all shops and restaurants and we will be going there again.many thanks to all for making our Xmas enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    60
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
294
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wainfleet All Saints, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just stayed there for Xmas Eve & Xmas Day with my husband. Had a really lovely stay in comfortable surroundings. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The room was clean and attractively decorated, in totally sympathy with the old building. Can't recommend Cathedral View enough. Would definately stop there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This B&B was a definite winner from the start. We were very taken with the décor and reviews already in place. If you want somewhere extra special with high standards, then look no further. The current owner Paul has run this delightful B&B for 2 and a half years and has a track record for all that time, of Trip Advisors reward of Excellence. The owners have taken time and care to enhance this beautiful building with outstanding décor. The food is superb. The staff welcoming and friendly. All in all a beautiful gem!

Room Tip: Any room is great...two have extra room for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed one night. The room was attractively decorated and very clean. Breakfast was lovely, with fresh ingredients. The location is great, central with plenty of nearby restaurants. Friendly service, I'd stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
251 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful 12th century former coaching house in a great location in the centre of Lincoln's historic quarter in the shadow of the beautiful cathedral with on site parking. Bedroom was spacious with lovely bedding and small but immaculate en suite. Communal areas were tastefully decorated. Breakfast excellent. Nothing too much trouble for owner Paul or his very accommodating staff. Would highly recommend this place. Only down side was that as a city centre establishment it was a little noisy but that didn't bother us. The cost was no more than a Premiere Inn and much nicer and more conveniently located!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClareofTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

It's all been said before, but this is a really great B&B and Paul is friendly and welcoming. Once we had parked the car, rather a tight turn in, as previously described, we didn't use the car for the rest of the weekend as Cathedral View is right in the centre of Lincoln.
We stayed in room 4, on the first floor at the front of the building. I was concerned it would be noisy but we were not troubled at all by any street noise. It has a lovely comfy bed and a superb shower in the bathroom. It was a very cold weekend but our room was plenty warm enough.

Tips for Lincoln : 1. A tour of the cathedral is to be recommended. We found it really interesting and entertaining. thank you Sue.
2. The wig and Mitre pub has good food and is just round the corner from the B&B.
3. Take comfortable shoes to walk around town as Steep Hill really IS steep!
4. The Usher gallery has some really good art, well worth a visit. It's free and has a good cafe. we were entertained with live music on Sunday.

Thank you Paul. If we return to Lincoln we will come and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allotment_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in this fantastic guesthouse. Room spot on with a very comfortable bed.
Great Bathroom, really efficient shower with lashings of hot water.Breakfast superb, full english with perfectly cooked poached eggs,Paul the perfect host and Tracy with an infectious laugh that started your day off to a great start.Nothing was too much trouble.Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View Guest House

Property: Cathedral View Guest House
Address: 6 Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Guest House is a 12th-century grade 2 listed building in the heart of the Bailgate in the Cathedral Quarter, recently renovated to the highest standard just a stone's throw from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing