We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely pub.”
Review of Queen In The West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen In The West
Ranked #24 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

John and Amanda make visitors to the Queen in the West very welcome in this quaint pub just off the city centre in Lincoln. The accomodation is basic but clean and comfortable, but at the price, what do you expect. We enjoyed our 2 night stay there and would return if only for the excellent pint of Hobgoblin.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the ground floor room as the stairs can be a challenge after a night in the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed in Lincoln for a wedding, and found this B&B to stay in.

The location is good, a ten minute walk straight into the town centre, or a £4 taxi ride if you're not up for the walk. The staff were helpful enough to provide several numbers.

The breakfast served in the morning was lovely, offered a full range and it was beautifully cooked.

The room was basic, with a television, shower and a lovely warm, sturdy bed. My girlfriend and I had a great night's sleep.

Overall, a lovely, convenient place to stay in Lincoln.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcJPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Queen. The room was small and basic, and the on-suite quite cramped and cold. OK if you are spending little time indoors.
Our bed was very creaky, so not easy to sleep soundly.
Breakfast was excellent, and staff were friendly and helpful. Main bar was comfortable, used mainly by locals it seems. Lounge bar was more sparse, and seemed popular with students.
All in all good basic accommodation, and good value for the price paid.
There are undoubtedly better places to stay in Lincoln, but for those you will pay a lot more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Am pradeep I stayed there for one night.. The room is very clean, feels so good, fantastic bed, and also the peoples are awesome... They are very friendly and reliable service... I would highly recommend this to everyone... Once again thank you so much for this awesome service

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pradeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The beds are firm, there is virgin tv with all the sport in the rooms, there is good selection of real ale at the bar, the breakfast was great and we felt very welcome. I don't know what else you could ask for. I would rather stay in places like this than a Hilton or Travel Inn. The staff were very helpful too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just wanted a bed for the night while visiting the city so booked because of the decent price, but was very impressed with the greeting we received, the choice of two lovely rooms and the yummy breakfast in the morning. Easy walk into the main city with lots of restaurants and attractions nearby and thoroughly welcoming hosts. Will be staying here again when next in Lincoln.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Cannot rate this place enough!
It's just outside the main part of Lincoln, from what I remember it was about £5 in a taxi from the bailgate.
We stayed in a gorgeous ensuite room in a cottage out the back of the pub. Very nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. There was even a door to access the street so that we didn't have to walk through the bar whenever you left or entered your room.
We had a lovely freshly cooked to order breakfast in the morning.
This place is just what you'd expect from a hotel, infact much better than quite a few "hotels" we have stayed in!
All of the staff were friendly an helpful and it is excellent value for money!!!!!
would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: we stayed in the ground floor cottage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tye-Smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.8 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,891 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
1.1 mi away
Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Damons Hotel
Damons Hotel
#31 of 51 in Lincoln
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen In The West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen In The West

Address: 12/14 Moor Street, Lincoln LN1 1PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £54 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Queen In The West 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional pub with 2 separate double B&B rooms adjacent to the pub building, tea & coffee tray provided in both rooms, full English breakfast served 7.30-9.30. Parking available outside rooms, parking permits provided with a £10 deposit. Check in from 15.30, earlier check in can be arranged, check out 11.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Queen In The West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing