We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Treasure”
Review of Queen In The West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen In The West
Ranked #24 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay within walking distance of Lincoln’s sights. We were only really expecting a cramped room to sleep over night, but the owners have made a real effort and provide a good quality service.

The room (of which there are only two) was clean, quite spacious for the UK, and had good quality furiniture and fittings. The bed was comfortable, with nice clean sheets, and a very nice duvet. There was a TV with several channels, and a good heating. The bathroom was very spacious with a good shower and, again, good quality towels etc…

The surrounding area is quiet and safe, with many interesting residential buildings to make a walk into town very rewarding. The walk to the Castle or Cathedral takes about 15 – 20 minutes, and burns off about 500 calories. If you don’t fancy the climb, I would think a taxi would be fairly cheap as it really isn’t far.

There is free parking on the road outside with the local residents parking pass that they give you when you check in.

Breakfast was a real treat; a traditional Full English, no need to say any more.

All in all, if you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced, good quality, and with character to stay in Lincoln, then I would strongly recommend this place. We will certainly stay there again when we return.

Room Tip: Room 2 is upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Thankyou Amanda for a wonderful overnight stay at the Queen of the West, it was mine and my Hubby`s joint 50th so we stayed over night. We stayed in the upstairs room of the cottage at the side of the Pub, clean comforatable room although no heating the portable heater warmed it niceley, the bed was very comfy with lovely bedding and big comfy pillows, nice large bathroom next door ( not en suite) with shower and loo it has a stone floor so take some slippers with you. we parked on the road at the side and were given a permit and was allowed the permit the next day while we had checked out to explore Lincoln.. huge,gorgeous, yummy breakfast with lovely lincolnshire sausages we were stuffed when we finished it, you eat breakfast in the pub which was great as we watched Jezzy Kyle on the large TV ha ha ... couldnt fault it at all small pub for locals really and oldie worldy but friendly punters, no noise when the pub closes..we slept really well and then after breakfast we sat in the lovely beer garden and read while soaking up the hot sun def recommend and cannot wait to return...upstairs room not suitable for anyone with mobility problems this is a cottage and the stairs are steep , there is a downstairs room though. we ate at Damons restaurant at the other side of the city and really really enjoyed Homemade Scones with Jam and fresh cream with a cup of tea at at the steep hill cafe on the way up to the Castle. Great location ten mins walk to Centre of Lincoln.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panaceaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very clean, warm and comfortable. Basic accommodation but very good value. Great full English breakfast. Friendly, helpful service. We asked to borrow a hairdrier, iron and ironing board and this was arranged promptly. Good location within easy walking distance of Lincoln city centre and free parking on the street outside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazNLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed one night , accomadation is basic but clean and comfy , we only got changed and slept in it so perfect for us . On street parking is permit only , but they give you a permit from the pub so ok there. Its a ten minute stroll into the city centre , which was nice . Breakfast was lovely and the staff all friendly . Bargain at the price and will definetly be re booking next time we out in lincoln.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVIEBgrimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

John and Amanda make visitors to the Queen in the West very welcome in this quaint pub just off the city centre in Lincoln. The accomodation is basic but clean and comfortable, but at the price, what do you expect. We enjoyed our 2 night stay there and would return if only for the excellent pint of Hobgoblin.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the ground floor room as the stairs can be a challenge after a night in the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed in Lincoln for a wedding, and found this B&B to stay in.

The location is good, a ten minute walk straight into the town centre, or a £4 taxi ride if you're not up for the walk. The staff were helpful enough to provide several numbers.

The breakfast served in the morning was lovely, offered a full range and it was beautifully cooked.

The room was basic, with a television, shower and a lovely warm, sturdy bed. My girlfriend and I had a great night's sleep.

Overall, a lovely, convenient place to stay in Lincoln.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcJPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Queen. The room was small and basic, and the on-suite quite cramped and cold. OK if you are spending little time indoors.
Our bed was very creaky, so not easy to sleep soundly.
Breakfast was excellent, and staff were friendly and helpful. Main bar was comfortable, used mainly by locals it seems. Lounge bar was more sparse, and seemed popular with students.
All in all good basic accommodation, and good value for the price paid.
There are undoubtedly better places to stay in Lincoln, but for those you will pay a lot more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
3.4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
766 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#25 of 51 in Lincoln
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Bail House & Mews
Bail House & Mews
#18 of 51 in Lincoln
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pemberton House
Pemberton House
#47 of 51 in Lincoln
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen In The West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen In The West

Address: 12/14 Moor Street, Lincoln LN1 1PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £55 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Queen In The West 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional pub with 2 separate double B&B rooms adjacent to the pub building, tea & coffee tray provided in both rooms, full English breakfast served 7.30-9.30. Parking available outside rooms, parking permits provided with a £10 deposit. Check in from 15.30, earlier check in can be arranged, check out 11.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Queen In The West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing