We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Amazing location, incredible views, warm and friendly service. Thats what you get when you stay at The Doubletree in Lincoln. Enjoyed superb food in the restaurant with the views of the cathedral in the background, very romantic. The Electric Bar is extremely different, trendy but friendly, nice atmosphere for all ages. The rooms were spacious and clean with no noise, just what my partner and I wanted. A great night was had at the hotel and I see why people rave about it. I will definitely be going back and I recommend it. A day shopping, a night in the hotel and a walk along the Brayford after... ideal. An absolute must for anyone thinking about booking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverleyT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your review really sims up our hotel on many levels.

We dont always get it 100% right but when we do, we do.

Thank you once again and i look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,662 - 1,668 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

The welcome is warm and efficient. The parking is convenient but is first come first served and limited. The location is good and is only a few minutes, steep, walk from the Cathedral. If you book a suite you might get a view across the Brayford Pool. We had asked for a room with a view but were given a room with a view of a wall, which was disappointing. The rooms and bathrooms are a good size with a large comfortable bed. The decor is grey with the usual blandness preferred by most chains. It is a pity they don't try to give their rooms some character especially if they are trying to appeal to tourists rather than business travellers.

The restaruant was fine rather than excellent. The menu was limited but the food was well cooked and the service attentive. Others have lamented the popularity of the hotel bar with locals as it was so busy when we visited we immediately gave up try to get a drink. It did not help that there was also a post Xmas corporate party. This is a growing problem with many hotels - residents don't count when it comes to using the bar or getting a table in the restaurant.

If you want a well located hotel with a comfortable bedroom, reasonable value for money and a convenient restaurant - then this is a good choice. If you want character and special treatment as a resident then you might want to look elsewhere. The trouble is there doesn't appear to be much choice in Lincoln.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a parking space and book a table in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaSerriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was glad to read that you generally enjoyed your stay, but again as i have pointed out in other reviews, we do have a very busy bar and restaurant which i would say is a good thing. The difficulty is that unlike most hotel bars and restaurants, you do have to pre book our restaurant especially on a Friday and Saturday night as it is very popular with non resident guests.

Resident guests are very important to us but the expectations some guests have that they never need to book because they are residents does not work at our venue. Many many other hotel restaurants do do this as they only have a resident customer base and do not require pre booking.

If guests want to eat in the Restaurant, my advice is to book it in advance, as it will be very difficult to get a table unless this is done.

Thank you once again for your feedback and i hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, but if you want to experience the Restaurant, my advice would be to book in advance.

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Fabulous rooms and the greeting on arrival is fantastic - complete with warm cookies for Hilton Honours members. Beautiful room but the heating/cooling system is a nightmare. Really comfortable beds and pillows.

The hotel makes much of the Electric bar which, if it hadn't have been freezing cold outside, would have been fantastic to sit out in the open and overlook the marina. However, what the hotel doesn't tell you is that the Electric Bar is the trendiest venue in Lincoln and by 11:00 on a Saturday evening it is heaving with young ladies dressed very smartly in next to nothing hottly pursued by hormonal young men. The cocktails are great but expensive. There is no lounge bar for residents and we were told that we should have used the small bar area in the hotel lobby which was actually shut.

The restaurant is ridiculously expensive and there is no room service after 11:00 pm which for this standard of hotel is simply not on. Good quality breakfast but they have a 11:00 am check out and they warn you that on Sundays the restaurant will be packed between 09:00 and 10:30 which begs the question about when they expect you to take breakfast at your leisure. Car parking is very limited and cost £10.

I will go back in the summer but will probably stay at the Holiday Inn next door. It has much more parking and is without the gimmicky Electric Bar.

Room Tip: Ask the management to demonstrate how to make the air temperature control work as there are no instr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for posting your review.

I was pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay but was dissapointed that you were so negative about how busy the bar was during your stay, surely the success of a business in these tough times should be encouraged and applauded, not put down because it was busy?

Wherever possible, we try to give our guests as much information as we can, therefore, the information regarding breakfast is given as in our experience, everyone wants to eat at 9am on a sunday morning which means that it is inevitable that guests will have too queue or wait for a table in the bar. This information is given to you so that you can make your own mind up as to what time you want to eat - 8am not as many guests, might be a little more relaxing or 9am when everyone wants to eat?

Thank you once again for your comments and i hope that you enjoy your next stay in the city, wherever it may be.

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A new hotel overlooking Brayford Wharf, close to shops, cinema, numerous restaurants and bars. Car parking was available at a charge but we did not need to move it in the two days we spent there. The reception area and lounge/coffee shop was extremely cold. The bedrooms were modern and comfortably furnished with lovely large beds and soft pillows. The downside was the low lighting with no lighting on one side of room making it difficult to do hair and makeup the bathroom also has low lighting. There was little natural light due to small windows On the plus side breakfast was good with food that stayed hot served on hot plates. It would be good to return in summer as the fifth floor bar and restaurant has balcony seating with lovely views of Cathedral or Wharf.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms face the side of hotel next door but are very quiet, Front facing rooms may be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for psoting your review.

I am sorry that you felt that the lobby was cold on arrival, we do have an awful lot of glass in the reception area and with the extreme cold and snow, it does take alot of time and energy to heat this area, it improves as the day goes on and can be alittle cold at night.

Great to read you generally enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the summer to enjoy those views.

Regards

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip on 16 th January. When I checked into the room it was freezing cold, the aircon having been set at 16 degrees. I workek in my room for an hur and a half and had to wear my coat, the room did not warm up despite resetting the temperature to 21.
After etimg in the hotel restaurant, the food was good, the room eventually warmed up but the aircon and fan were so noisy that i had to turn them off. If it wasntbfr the ear plugs that I always travel with the fan would have kept me awake. All this for £192 B&B makes the hotel terrible value.
I complained about the temperature at the time and again when ckecking out, asking for a reduction to the bill but the hotel flatly refused. they did knock off the £10 car park fee, which at £192 for the room is an insult.
I will look for much better value and customer care next time I stay in Lincoln.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich111s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay.

It is always disapointing to receive such feedback, but we will ensure that we check the settings of the air conditioning when the room is cleaned and checked to alter the temperature from 16 degrees from the previous occupant.

We will also check the unit that you had in your room to ensure that it is not faulty in anyway.

I am sorry you felt the rate was to high, but the demand in the city dictates the prices we charge just like any business selling goods and services in an strong market. If you are not happy initially with the rate then things appear worse than they are from the minute you check in.

Regards

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My girlfriend & I stayed here in December as a birthday treat whilst visiting the christmas market.
When booking in advance i did think that the £230(B&B) we paid was a little pricey, however i was understanding as this is a new hotel in a great location and it was the market season.
I was a little apprehensive that we may get a small / average room but just charged more, however we couldnt have been more wrong about the room or any other aspect.
Prior to arriving booking was quick & simple, and when contacting the hotel a week before arrival for directions and parking advise they were extremely helpfull and courteous.
When we arrived far too early in the morning the reception staff were not grumpy like many may well be they simple accomadated our luggage and and registered our details for later. The arrival was really profesional and welcoming and the warm cooky to take away was a nice touch, very tasty and warm which we enjoyed with a starbucks from next door.
When we checked into our room later we were again very pleased large, clean, comfortable, great tv, power shower, well made bed and quiet. Overall a great deluxe room that would stand up to any in london.
Overall this is a fantastic contemporary but elegent hotel with a great location. We thought all staff encoutered were very well trained and profesional. We paid a lot for the hotel but didnt mind a penny as the hotel delivered a good 4* deluxe experience.
Only slight comments would be F&B was a little but short in my opinion. The bar menu & R/S menu was a little short & had some stange items on. The bar in the afternoon lacked atmosphere however it came to life at night and the staff were very competent.
The breakfast selection was very good and the tea/coffee/juice offering were done so straight away unlike many hotels. Only downside was the hot offering wasnt the best and luke warm but in fairness it was late and i do understand how hard it is to keep food fresh.
Really looking forward to visititng this hotel again in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thanks for your detailed review of your stay with us.

The christmas market is a very busy time for the hotel and i was really pleased to read that you enjoyed it so much.

The team are a credit to our hotel and really work hard on ensuring that we deliver good service with a smile.

I have passed your comments regarding breakfast onto our restaurant team to action and ensure that they are checking the hot items on a regular basis.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I recently visited the Electric Bar one evening for a drink. Having not, ordered food, or stayed at the hotel, I can only comment about the bar I had heard great reviews about the view, atmosphere and service.

Sadly, when I arrived, I was a little dissapointed. There was only one Server on the bar, meaning service was slow, but the cocktails were delicious!

The view itself, was ok, overlooking the flyover. Perhaps on a nice summer's evening, the view would be improved. The bar itself was a box, lacking atmosphere or design.

The location is great. right on the waterfront, close to other restaurants and bars

Although maybe not a great first impression,I will visit again to see if it's a different experience next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hickorychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review for the Electric Bar.

I am sorry that you felt that the views were not great, but generally the feedback we get is that the views are stunning especially on a summers evening which you did refer to in your review.

I am aslo sorry that you experienced some delay in your drinks order - we try to ensure that we staff the bar according to business levels and January can catch you out sometimes when you least expect it.

Please come back when you are next in Lincoln, i am sure your experience will be a more positive one.

Regards

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
553 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Address: Doubletree By Hilton Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £70 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln is a contemporary, upscale hotel situated in the heart of the city. Commanding unrivalled views, the hotel boasts a stunning rooftop restaurant, the Electric Bar, as well as a ballroom, all overlooking the stunning Cathedral skyline or waterfront skyline. All designed with elegance and opulence in mind. In addition a stunning panoramic lift at the front of the building is a spectacular feature. The hotel features 115 rooms, including eight suites with stunning views of the either the Cathedral skyline or the waterfront. All our contemporary rooms offer complimentary WiFi, flat screen LED TV's, and luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding. The hotel is one of the city’s most unique and contemporary buildings exuding luxury and style.The restaurant will offer fine-dining in incredible surroundings whilst the Electric bar will offer a fresh alternative to the city’s nightlife. A contemporary bar with a retro edge it will be the perfect place for relaxation, recreation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing