We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snazzy, modern and comfy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snazzy, modern and comfy Hotel”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have stayed here a few times and enjoyed every time.

The rooms are cosy , modern and especially love the power shower .

The electric bar does the best Bellini cocktail and the food is amazing, cooked well and full of flavour .

I would definatly recommend the double tree Hilton and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowchoicebyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your great review.

Good to read that this was a return visit and we still delivered good service and food - especially the cocktails!!

Best Wishes

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    550
    174
    73
    55
See reviews for
253
861
45
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I've stayed here previously and loved it, so decided to have a meal in the restaurant as a treat for a special occasion. We rode up to the Electric Bar in the scenic elevator and had a drink while enjoying the beautiful views over the marina and beyond. With the snow still on the ground and the lights stretching out across the city it really was magical and a perfect start to the evening.

The restaurant staff couldn't have been better, very courteous and professional but without any of the pretensions that you can sometimes get in a top restaurant. They were friendly and attentive without being intrusive, and very knowledgeable about the menu and wine. The food was just exquisite.

Beautiful views again from here and the atmosphere was the perfect combination of elegant sophistication and relaxation. Every part of the evening lived up to expectations and delivered the very special occasion we wanted. Well worth a visit for a truly fantastic dining experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for posting your review on your recent visit to our restaurant.

I was really pleased to read that this was a return visit to the Electric Restaurant and we still can deliver really good service and food.

Great feedback and such a positive review of our restaurant which all the staff appreciate.

Thank you once again.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Amazing location, incredible views, warm and friendly service. Thats what you get when you stay at The Doubletree in Lincoln. Enjoyed superb food in the restaurant with the views of the cathedral in the background, very romantic. The Electric Bar is extremely different, trendy but friendly, nice atmosphere for all ages. The rooms were spacious and clean with no noise, just what my partner and I wanted. A great night was had at the hotel and I see why people rave about it. I will definitely be going back and I recommend it. A day shopping, a night in the hotel and a walk along the Brayford after... ideal. An absolute must for anyone thinking about booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your review really sims up our hotel on many levels.

We dont always get it 100% right but when we do, we do.

Thank you once again and i look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The welcome is warm and efficient. The parking is convenient but is first come first served and limited. The location is good and is only a few minutes, steep, walk from the Cathedral. If you book a suite you might get a view across the Brayford Pool. We had asked for a room with a view but were given a room with a view of a wall, which was disappointing. The rooms and bathrooms are a good size with a large comfortable bed. The decor is grey with the usual blandness preferred by most chains. It is a pity they don't try to give their rooms some character especially if they are trying to appeal to tourists rather than business travellers.

The restaruant was fine rather than excellent. The menu was limited but the food was well cooked and the service attentive. Others have lamented the popularity of the hotel bar with locals as it was so busy when we visited we immediately gave up try to get a drink. It did not help that there was also a post Xmas corporate party. This is a growing problem with many hotels - residents don't count when it comes to using the bar or getting a table in the restaurant.

If you want a well located hotel with a comfortable bedroom, reasonable value for money and a convenient restaurant - then this is a good choice. If you want character and special treatment as a resident then you might want to look elsewhere. The trouble is there doesn't appear to be much choice in Lincoln.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a parking space and book a table in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaSerriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was glad to read that you generally enjoyed your stay, but again as i have pointed out in other reviews, we do have a very busy bar and restaurant which i would say is a good thing. The difficulty is that unlike most hotel bars and restaurants, you do have to pre book our restaurant especially on a Friday and Saturday night as it is very popular with non resident guests.

Resident guests are very important to us but the expectations some guests have that they never need to book because they are residents does not work at our venue. Many many other hotel restaurants do do this as they only have a resident customer base and do not require pre booking.

If guests want to eat in the Restaurant, my advice is to book it in advance, as it will be very difficult to get a table unless this is done.

Thank you once again for your feedback and i hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, but if you want to experience the Restaurant, my advice would be to book in advance.

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Fabulous rooms and the greeting on arrival is fantastic - complete with warm cookies for Hilton Honours members. Beautiful room but the heating/cooling system is a nightmare. Really comfortable beds and pillows.

The hotel makes much of the Electric bar which, if it hadn't have been freezing cold outside, would have been fantastic to sit out in the open and overlook the marina. However, what the hotel doesn't tell you is that the Electric Bar is the trendiest venue in Lincoln and by 11:00 on a Saturday evening it is heaving with young ladies dressed very smartly in next to nothing hottly pursued by hormonal young men. The cocktails are great but expensive. There is no lounge bar for residents and we were told that we should have used the small bar area in the hotel lobby which was actually shut.

The restaurant is ridiculously expensive and there is no room service after 11:00 pm which for this standard of hotel is simply not on. Good quality breakfast but they have a 11:00 am check out and they warn you that on Sundays the restaurant will be packed between 09:00 and 10:30 which begs the question about when they expect you to take breakfast at your leisure. Car parking is very limited and cost £10.

I will go back in the summer but will probably stay at the Holiday Inn next door. It has much more parking and is without the gimmicky Electric Bar.

Room Tip: Ask the management to demonstrate how to make the air temperature control work as there are no instr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

I was pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay but was dissapointed that you were so negative about how busy the bar was during your stay, surely the success of a business in these tough times should be encouraged and applauded, not put down because it was busy?

Wherever possible, we try to give our guests as much information as we can, therefore, the information regarding breakfast is given as in our experience, everyone wants to eat at 9am on a sunday morning which means that it is inevitable that guests will have too queue or wait for a table in the bar. This information is given to you so that you can make your own mind up as to what time you want to eat - 8am not as many guests, might be a little more relaxing or 9am when everyone wants to eat?

Thank you once again for your comments and i hope that you enjoy your next stay in the city, wherever it may be.

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A new hotel overlooking Brayford Wharf, close to shops, cinema, numerous restaurants and bars. Car parking was available at a charge but we did not need to move it in the two days we spent there. The reception area and lounge/coffee shop was extremely cold. The bedrooms were modern and comfortably furnished with lovely large beds and soft pillows. The downside was the low lighting with no lighting on one side of room making it difficult to do hair and makeup the bathroom also has low lighting. There was little natural light due to small windows On the plus side breakfast was good with food that stayed hot served on hot plates. It would be good to return in summer as the fifth floor bar and restaurant has balcony seating with lovely views of Cathedral or Wharf.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms face the side of hotel next door but are very quiet, Front facing rooms may be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for psoting your review.

I am sorry that you felt that the lobby was cold on arrival, we do have an awful lot of glass in the reception area and with the extreme cold and snow, it does take alot of time and energy to heat this area, it improves as the day goes on and can be alittle cold at night.

Great to read you generally enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the summer to enjoy those views.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip on 16 th January. When I checked into the room it was freezing cold, the aircon having been set at 16 degrees. I workek in my room for an hur and a half and had to wear my coat, the room did not warm up despite resetting the temperature to 21.
After etimg in the hotel restaurant, the food was good, the room eventually warmed up but the aircon and fan were so noisy that i had to turn them off. If it wasntbfr the ear plugs that I always travel with the fan would have kept me awake. All this for £192 B&B makes the hotel terrible value.
I complained about the temperature at the time and again when ckecking out, asking for a reduction to the bill but the hotel flatly refused. they did knock off the £10 car park fee, which at £192 for the room is an insult.
I will look for much better value and customer care next time I stay in Lincoln.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich111s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay.

It is always disapointing to receive such feedback, but we will ensure that we check the settings of the air conditioning when the room is cleaned and checked to alter the temperature from 16 degrees from the previous occupant.

We will also check the unit that you had in your room to ensure that it is not faulty in anyway.

I am sorry you felt the rate was to high, but the demand in the city dictates the prices we charge just like any business selling goods and services in an strong market. If you are not happy initially with the rate then things appear worse than they are from the minute you check in.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,751 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
506 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Address: Doubletree By Hilton Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln is a contemporary, upscale hotel situated in the heart of the city. Commanding unrivalled views, the hotel boasts a stunning rooftop restaurant, the Electric Bar, as well as a ballroom, all overlooking the stunning Cathedral skyline or waterfront skyline. All designed with elegance and opulence in mind. In addition a stunning panoramic lift at the front of the building is a spectacular feature. The hotel features 115 rooms, including eight suites with stunning views of the either the Cathedral skyline or the waterfront. All our contemporary rooms offer complimentary WiFi, flat screen LED TV's, and luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding. The hotel is one of the city’s most unique and contemporary buildings exuding luxury and style.The restaurant will offer fine-dining in incredible surroundings whilst the Electric bar will offer a fresh alternative to the city’s nightlife. A contemporary bar with a retro edge it will be the perfect place for relaxation, recreation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing