We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay in a fantastic hotel with outstanding staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We chose to stay at the Double Tree Hilton as we were in Lincoln for a night, and it's a dog friendly Hilton property.

We were impressed with the look of the hotel, a large, modern property right on the waterfront. I believe this is the only purpose built Double Tree property in the UK.

The lobby is light and elegant with a new mix of the old and very new. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist, who checked us in early without any issue. We were told that a Hilton Honours Gold members we'd been upgraded to a Marina view suite.

We were staying with our dog and the manager came out from behind the desk to greet our dog and chat to us, very personal and memorable service.

The suite we were given was a good sized three room suite with a large marina view balcony. The rooms were a living room, bedroom and a very nice bathroom. The rooms were clean, scuff and stain free and generally to a high standard.

Every member of staff we encountered through out stay was friendly and always made an effort to pay attention to our dog (which he loved).

I understand the restaurant/bar which is on the top floor is 'the place' the go out in Lincoln and the lobby was always busy with people coming and going.

The only issue we encountered was the large queues for breakfast, it was 9am on a Sunday morning so a wait is perhaps expected; but the breakfast room is very small. But this was a small issue and the breakfast itself was delicious and i'd say above par for a Double Tree.

My focus is always service, and this place really delivered! The staff completely made out stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and will be staying again next time we're in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danhnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for such a positive review, I was really pleased that you and you dog enjoyed the stay with us. The staff really make a difference here and I am very proud to be the manage of a team that really try to go the extra mile and deliver the kind of service that is so often forgotten in hotels - making the customer happy!
We do have a smaller than average restaurant for the number of bedrooms and please accept my sincere apologies for the wait you encountered at breakfast on Sunday morning. 9.00am is our busiest time on weekend breakfast days but I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food on offer.
Thank you once again for your kind feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Regards

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,476 - 1,482 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

My daughter and I have been doing the rounds of University open days, stopping over the night before to get a feel for whatever city we're in. This hotel was slightly more expensive than the others but as we use Hotels.com we were owed a free night.

The difference to other chains we had used was really striking. The lighting was calm and stylish; the colour palette was tasteful without being bland; there were lovely toiletries to 'finish at home'; even the biscuits were better than average! We had a side room with a view of both the waterfront and the cathedral (and some fireworks too!)

The downside, as mentioned in other reviews, is the noise from the restaurant above (we were on the fourth floor) It was a muffled noise but you could hear every chair scraping, for what seemed like hours on end. Breakfast was in the same restaurant but it also has a side view and I was slightly disappointed not to have the direct view of the harbour that the bar offers. Wished we had made the most of this the night before.

Generally we were very impressed with the hotel, the city and the university! Would recommend this place to parents visiting their student offspring - but a second or third floor room ideally.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ticketstub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to us.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise you experienced from the fifth floor above your room. We do sometime experience noises from furniture being moved around and I hope that this did not spoil your stay too much.
The feedback regarding the décor and feel of the hotel is excellent and we do try to ensure that we offer better than average products in all we do.
We hope that you daughter chose Lincoln University so we can welcome you back time and time again to visit her.
Regards

Philip Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This relatively new and modern hotel is ideally located for anyone wanting to be in the centre of Lincoln. Situated on the north side of the Brayford Wharf basin it is within easy walking distance of a number of quality restaurants, the Odeon cinema and Lincoln's main shopping street. Lincoln Cathedral is only 15-20 minutes walk - all up hill. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the room was excellent with a view along the canal and basin. The hotel restaurant and bar -named the Electric after the power station on the original site - are located on the top 5th floor. We enjoyed a couple of breakfasts looking across the city towards the Cathedral. For fitness fanatics there is a gym (not visited) and easy access to many miles of good running along the canal path. There is no pool or spa. There were warnings on the availability of car parking when I booked. There are around a dozen slots under coverage at the rear of the hotel. We had no difficulty finding a slot when arriving in the early afternoon and we had no plans to mov the car until leaving. The steep £10/day parking charge was the only disappointment. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that special city break.

Room Tip: Book a room on 4th floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excelllent hotel in a fantastic location. Staff very freindly and you get a warm cookie on booking in :) Rooms are very nice and comfortable. One drawback only a small car parking area for a large hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We visited this hotel on a weekend trip to Lincoln. It is a good place to stay - central and easy walking distance to the town centre. The room was very nice, with views onto the river. Our only negative comment is that we were given a room on the 4th floor. This hotel has its restaurant and bar on the 5th floor. This would have been an excellent room but for the noise from the floor above. If you visit and don't want a compulsory 7am wakeup call, then ask for a lower floor room. Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room below the restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in October. The location is great. It is a very modern hotel. The reception staff are very professional and welcoming. The rooms are immaculate. The food is of a good quality and served piping hot.

What really makes this hotel is the staff. They really work hard and nothing seems to be too much trouble.

Only criticism, the parking. There is insufficient parking for the guests. You have to use an NCP car park some distance away. This is frustrating when you are tired and have heavy bags. In winter I can see this being a real problem.

Room Tip: Inadequate parking to cater for all hotel guests. When making your booking make sure your booking is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This was our sixth visit to this hotel, which we love due to the great food and friendly service.

We stayed in room 402 which is a king suite with separate lounge area and beautiful views. The room was nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. The only down fall was that its directly below the bar. Due to this we had hardly any sleep due to a loud thundering noise coming from above.
We did complain to reception who sent the manger straight up to try and resolve the situation. However it typically didn't sound whilst we were in his company.

During our stay we used room service for both breakfast and dinner, which were both delicious as usual.

Check out and check in was a breeze and once we'd explained our lack of sleep the receptionist kindly adjusted our bill to compensate us.

This is the only let down we've ever experienced with this hotel and it definitely won't put us off returning. However we would ask for a lower floor in future.

Mr and mrs Dickens

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Street_Dickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#8 of 14 in Lincoln
902 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
560 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Address: Doubletree By Hilton Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £68 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln is a contemporary, upscale hotel situated in the heart of the city. Commanding unrivalled views, the hotel boasts a stunning rooftop restaurant, the Electric Bar, as well as a ballroom, all overlooking the stunning Cathedral skyline or waterfront skyline. All designed with elegance and opulence in mind. In addition a stunning panoramic lift at the front of the building is a spectacular feature. The hotel features 115 rooms, including eight suites with stunning views of the either the Cathedral skyline or the waterfront. All our contemporary rooms offer complimentary WiFi, flat screen LED TV's, and luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding. The hotel is one of the city’s most unique and contemporary buildings exuding luxury and style.The restaurant will offer fine-dining in incredible surroundings whilst the Electric bar will offer a fresh alternative to the city’s nightlife. A contemporary bar with a retro edge it will be the perfect place for relaxation, recreation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing