We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is well located near to Braysford pool and a not to long walk to the famous cathedral with plenty of eateries close to the hotel the town center is close by and some very small alley ways to be explored all in all a very good hotel with close by amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henryno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    499
    149
    63
    49
See reviews for
230
787
44
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here for business, and would recommend it particularly for business travellers. The room was very comfortable with a large useful desk, good lighting and internet access. The location is lovely too and it's restful overlooking the wharf. The choice of local restaurants was good as was the in-room dining. All round, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Reception staff were very helpful and happy. Location is great, rooms spotlessly clean. The bar on the top floor is bright and contemporary although getting served proved very difficult at the time we were there.
Breakfast was excellent and the service of the staff could not be faulted despite us getting to the restaurant 10 minutes before service ended on both mornings. This was a bit of a test to their professionalism yet they even brought out more food. Excellent service. If we returned to lincoln, without a doubt would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were impressed with the location of the hotel on the waterfront in the centre of town. The receptionist who dealt with both check in and departure on our stay went out of her way to be helpful regarding all our requirements. We particularly liked the location of the breakfast room on the top floor and the range of food and drink available and service given by the staff there. The only criticism of the room was that the window could not be opened and the heat extractor by the door was so noisy that we had to remove the key card to switch it off in order to sleep. In summer this would result in the room becoming too hot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Dates: 18-20th April 2014 Inclusive Guest Name: Barry McBride (wife and young son) I write in regard to a recent stay at the Hilton Double Tree Lincoln - dates noted above. I am not an habitual complainer but feel that I should share my experience in the hope that changes can be made for the benefit of other guests. Booking I booked in advance on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. Our preferred choice of a room overlooking the Brayford Water was not available - I understand that the rooms at the front of the hotel are suites. The room that we did get was excellent - large and comfortable. Unfortunately the receptionist failed to explain the process for evening meals i.e. 'tokens' .This resulted in a full charge for the evening meals being applied to the room bill - Queried at checkout , I was refunded £150 immediately. Regrettably the £350 paid for the initial 2 night stay had not been deducted - but again now refunded. Because changes needed to be made to the bill I was advised that a revised bill would be forwarded to my email account - this was not forthcoming. Only received upon chasing this week. Thanks to Stephanie Morgan who has been helpful in explaining the bill - the bill invoice received was not itemised and caused some confusion. Restaurant & Service Friday - The restaurant was very busy but the food and service provided was excellent. Saturday Evening - The restaurant was quiet but I understand a large coach party were dining in the adjoining room. I chose the chicken dish but unfortunately the meal was served cold. Regrettably the customary enquiry from the waiter / waitress if the dish was ok was not forthcoming, nor was anyone available so I could ask for a replacement. The headwaiter did notice I had left my meal when he came to remove the plates - I explained the meal was cold. He very politely apologised and offered a replacement; given that my wife had finished her meal, I declined. The waiter advised that the chicken dish would no be charged for and apologised once again. Note: The adjoining table had a similar problem with the chicken dish - but in their case the chicken was served raw and was returned to the kitchen - the waitress acknowledged to my fellow diner that the chicken was indeed raw. When I received the bill the chicken dish had been charged for and I had to call the headwaiter to explain - again he apologized profusely and deducted the charge. Sunday Evening - The restaurant was busier than it had been on the Saturday evenings but still relatively quiet. The menu differed to the previous evening - We were somewhat surprised the combined cost for a 3 course meal (less any supplements) came to a combined cost of £20 pp. Given we were afforded an allowance of £25 pp - it would appear better value to just pay for the Sunday meal separately. Service was poor on this occasion, somewhat surprising when there seemed an adequate number of staff working - We waited an eternity to place our desert order - not lost on the headwaiter who duly removed the cost from the bill. The experience throughout somewhat spoilt the birthday celebration. Overall observations - Some aprons the staff were wearing were very dirty. Some wine glasses had water marks on the base and some cutlery was dirty - A simple cursory inspection before placing to the table would have identified this. Day 1 the waiter kindly poured the wine and refilled once, but on the Sunday evening the Champagne was not topped up - Not precious over such things but it is customary that the waiter top up the glasses at least once - given that it was quiet and waiters were standing around, I was somewhat surprised. Although waiters and waitresses were very polite and friendly, they were not efficient in what they were doing - apparently lacking supervision and leadership. Christmas Residential Package On the day of arrival we had lunch at the Cafe Bar - great food and service. I picked up the brochure for the Christmas Period and enquired at reception about the residential package, unfortunately the gentleman could not advise with regards a few questions I had (i.e. was evening meal included on the Christmas Eve). I enquired on the Saturday but again no one could provide further information but I was advised that they would endeavour to get information for when I checked out - This was not provided. Upon checkout I was advised that I should contact the Event Team. I have today sent an email and I await a reply. Individually none of the above are massive mistakes - these things happen and can be quickly remedied if there is a will to do so, Unfortunately collectively they combined to tarnish an otherwise great break and birthday celebration. This is our second visit to the hotel and hopefully not our last - Given that we are keen to make a residential Christmas booking for ourselves and other family members, it indicates our desire to revisit. Regards Mr & Mrs McBride.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank eloise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review and extensive feedback, I will take time in sharing with the team to ensure we have more focus on delivering consistency in our service for all future guests. I hope to see you return again in the near future for a more favourable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked the hotel for a girls weekend, one suite and one standard room. My friends (2) and I were in the suite with stunning views and a small balcony overlooking the Brayford Wharf. The suite had a roomy lounge with flatscreen tv and sofa (sofabed), large bathroom with fabulous shower and spacious bedroom with plenty of wardrobe space. The room could have done with a little tlc - the dressing table area of the suite was quite stained with ring marks from hot cups etc., a light bulb was hanging down from the inset lights in the lounge and the dressing gowns had definitely seen better days, the belt loops broken and generally tired. The room was booked for three people so the sofa bed was out on arrival and was a comfortable night’s sleep. We only had 2 cups in the room for drinks and no breakfast tea bags and only 2 towels. The toiletries were also missing in the bathroom, our friends in the standard room had everything we just had shampoo. Customer service were very quick and t bags were brought within 10 mins of calling them.

Check in was swift and efficient, well until we checked out and were charged for what we were told were complimentary papers. The receptionist on check out did remove the charge but made us feel guilty as if we were trying to wangle free papers rather than it was a miscommunication on check in.

All in all a lovely hotel, great position (with some parking) central to a variety of bars and restaurants and a short walk to the high street which leads up to the cathedral, it was very clean and with some very good staff. The warm cookie on arrival is always a welcome treat too, would I stop here again? Yes. Would I book a suite, probably not which is a shame, as I’d love to return with my husband, if the suite lived up to the expectations this would have easily been a 5 star review.

Room Tip: Suites at the front over looking the wharf are definitely worth the money IF they are maintained a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N1NKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Perfectly situated on the Wharf in the middle of restaurants and bars but not noisy at night. Stayed in a deluxe king size, beautiful room. Staff are very professional but friendly with it nothing is too much trouble, John Wong was particularly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was nice with views over Lincoln. Tip- get a taxi from the hotel to the cathedral so you are at the top of steep hill and can walk down it, wouldn't like to walk up it! Lovely shops pubs and restaurants all the way down, Lincoln is definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Address: Doubletree By Hilton Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln is a contemporary, upscale hotel situated in the heart of the city. Commanding unrivalled views, the hotel boasts a stunning rooftop restaurant, the Electric Bar, as well as a ballroom, all overlooking the stunning Cathedral skyline or waterfront skyline. All designed with elegance and opulence in mind. In addition a stunning panoramic lift at the front of the building is a spectacular feature. The hotel features 115 rooms, including eight suites with stunning views of the either the Cathedral skyline or the waterfront. All our contemporary rooms offer complimentary WiFi, flat screen LED TV's, and luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding. The hotel is one of the city’s most unique and contemporary buildings exuding luxury and style.The restaurant will offer fine-dining in incredible surroundings whilst the Electric bar will offer a fresh alternative to the city’s nightlife. A contemporary bar with a retro edge it will be the perfect place for relaxation, recreation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing