We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for visit to Lincon”
Review of The Old Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Palace
Ranked #12 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

What a lovely hotel and Fantastic food in the restaurant. The lamb was wonderful.
Hotel it a bit hard to find when your sat nav takes you to the back gate so if you are planning a visit. Investigate the approach on Google. We phoned the hotel for directions and they were very good.
The hotel does not have a bar yet but you can get drinks in the drawing room.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Lots of local
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedipstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
There are newer reviews for The Old Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Booked here for a 2 night stay in December 2013, the hotel is excellent, were in a room in the old chapel located outside. The room was clean and spacious, but best of all it was quite. The only criticism would be the heat in the room, at times it was unbearable, and we struggled to turn it down. The breakfast was really nice, with plenty of choice. The hotel is less than 2 minutes from steep hill if you go through the garden. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The afternoon tea was excellent, we all had our own individual cake standards which we did not expect. We were also given a private room as we were a family group which was also a bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great afternoon and are now planning to go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendi1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Me and my wife stayed for the night on the 31st January, we were accommodated in the Green Room which was absolutely delightful. The staff throughout the hotel were exceedingly friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. Breakfast the following morning was a treat, the food cooked to perfection and served up by the lovely staff. We ate in a local restaurant the evening before, but now regret not trying the hotel restaurant as the breakfast was so nice. We would love to stay there again and would whole heartedly recommend anyone visiting Lincoln to do so. Situated next to the cathedral it is in a wonderful location, less than five minutes walk to the lovely Bailgate area of the City. Its even got free parking (not always the case with many city centre hotels).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It is right next to the Cathedral, not for from the castle and generally surrounded by very beautiful period buildings. Our room faced out onto Lincoln and since the position of the hotel is elevated it gave a stunning view out onto the city.

One complaint if there was one was that when we arrived the staff were very busy and so appeared to be more pressured than welcoming. But this wasn't a general rule with the service as when we ate breakfast the staff were very accomodating (particularly one member of staff called Rachel).

I was concerned about the sound of the Cathedral bells, but while my wife was woken up once, apart from that we bearly noticed them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polytriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

we stayed in the tower suite which had an amazing view of the cathedral and was even more amazing in the evening with it being all lite up.... The only thing that let our stay down was the size of the shower in the room and the noise that the toilet made when flushed also sometimes the bathroom did smell... Breakfast was very enjoyable...

Would stay again....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOB19712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Simply lovely. Stayed in the tower suite, great views, great suite, friendly staff, great restaurant. Will def stay here again. The only change is the TV was a little on the small side. Also appreciated the easy and free parking, it's nice to see a hotel that doesn't charge for everything and had its guests at the heart of what they do.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mikeyred09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
2.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace

Address: Minster Yard, Lincoln LN2 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £80 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing