We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect venue for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Palace
Ranked #12 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the old Palace before and booked for our daughter's wedding. The wedding was perfect, as we intended it to be less formal than most, with the reception as a garden party. The guests were all impressed by the building and the garden. The location is perfect as the wedding was at the Judge's Lodgings by the cathedral and it was a lovely walk there and back from the hotel.

The staff could not have been more pleasant, attentive or hard working. Even if we never did get a do not disturb sign for our room! The team serving the wedding reception met all the timings and were happy and engaging all night. The wedding planning team were also excellent before the event. We paid for a late music licence until 11.30pm and the guests were partying well in the garden until then.

The rooms are not quite perfect, as a result of being in a historic building. The ones in the Lodge (the converted chapel) are more modern and all unusual. There are limited opening windows to some rooms as the windows are the old church windows. The ones in the main building have a less modern feel, but that suits the building. The views in the main building are impressive, either toward the cathedral or long views to the south over Lincoln.

The food is good. I can recommend the restaurant where the food is excellent and the breakfast is good quality and plentiful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    216
    92
    29
    16
See reviews for
84
479
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed in The Lodge here as part of a wedding party and was very impressed with our room. It was spacious and the en suite was very roomy with a double sized shower cubicle. As it was such a hot weekend there was even a fan in our room! We had a short walk to the main building for breakfast each day but that wasn't a problem at all. The staff were friendly and helpful; the food was great and we were made to feel welcome at all times. The magnificent cathedral was just next to us and the old town was a stone's throw away with all the cobbled streets and olde worlde ale houses. We will be coming back to stay again and explore this lovely city!

Room Tip: Stay in The Lodge where there is a nice open lounge area to sit as well as the bedrooms and the cath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is difficult to find, no sign outside the door, we were there but didn't realise it. We stayed in room 2 and it was fine except for the noise of the lift saying ''door closing, going down'' breakfast and the breakfast staff were superb and the grounds are fantastic. I asked a maid if the place was haunted and she said yes although nothing was experienced. The wifi from this room was poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

our reservation didn't work: we had made the reservation 8 months ago for 2 superior room. We mentioned that we are a family with 2 children. When we arrived they tried to put our children in another building in a cellar room with nearly no daylight (it was evident that this room wasn't of superior quality). The manager was very friendly and tried to find another solution. but we were really upset about this kind of service!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We attended our niece's wedding reception which was held at The Old Palace and we along with a lot of the guests stayed overnight at the hotel

From the time that we arrived ( their satnav directions were spot on) to the time that we left we experienced a very high level of customer service and care from all the members of staff that we had the fortune of meeting

The hotel is situated in the heart of Lincoln and is therefore a perfect spot if you are visiting the town. Parking is ample in their car park and the views of the cathedral and overlooking Lincoln are lovely

The reception was held in their beautiful garden and hosted magnificently by the hotel and what a great location for a wedding reception

We chose a Superior room which was clean, modern, bright and a good size although i hear that the Standard rooms can be quite small and so perhaps worth paying a few more pounds for the Superior room

We will certainly stay here again to spend a few days exploring Lincoln

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. It took me about 20 minutes driving round and round the minster to eventually get there. The postcode doesn't take you to the hotel - it takes you to the other side of the minster - best to ring the hotel first. Even when you get to the right side of the minster, there are no signs indicating it's an hotel - look out for the sign which says "Medieval bishop's palace" and drive through an arch. Having complained about the postcode and the signage, I have to say it is a lovely hotel set in the shadow of the minster. I was lucky enough to be there on a warm summer's evening and enjoyed a g and t in the garden with spectacular views over Lincoln. The staff were very attentive. My room was located in the old church next to the main building - it was very new and nicely decorated. Good choices for dinner and the food was well prepared and very enjoyable. If you are looking to tour LIncoln you couldn't do better than stay here - the minster is about 50 yards from the hotel and lit up at night to give a lovely backdrop.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old church next door are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

not bad, we stayed here in march paid for a double superior room for my birthday, found it was two single beds pushed together and room was right next to the kitchen, not impressed, wont stay there again for the price

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace

Property: The Old Palace
Address: Minster Yard, Lincoln LN2 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing