We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hampton couple quality stay in Lincoln” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Palace
Ranked #13 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Hampton couple quality stay in Lincoln”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in room 24 which is in a building just off the main hotel and what a find this was! The room is a Suite and certainly has the wow factor. High stained glass windows greet you as you walk in which have blinds you electronically bring down at bed time. The king size bed has an overhead solid carved canopy which could well be antique and the bed is very comfortable. We slept like logs. Our favourite part was the bathroom which looks like part of an old chapel. It has huge solid wood church doors to enter and then beautiful arched windows with lots of stonework and beams and a big room.

The Suite has been lovingly put together, both stylish and period looking. Quality has gone into all the components to make this very special, quiet and tranquil.

The other plus side to our location is that we came out of the building through some gates and we were but a moments walk to the Cathedral, Castle, pubs and restaurants.. You couldn't ask for a better location than that. Breakfast was a generous affair. Lots of choice, too much toast! Outside in the evening you can go into the garden and see the ruins of the medieval Bishop residence lit up in all its glory.

Already booked to go back in December it truly is a great find for us. Try it for yourselves you wont be disappointed but definitely go for a Suite.

Room Tip: Opt for a Suite if it is a romantic trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 351sandraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben O, General Manager at The Old Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear 351sandraj.

Your review is very kind, and I'm very happy that we met your expectations on your recent visit.

It's great to hear that you'll be visiting again in December and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With Best Regards.

Ben Orton
General Manager
The Old Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    213
    92
    29
    16
See reviews for
83
472
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a surprise birthday trip from my husband and just wanted to say what a great hotel it is. There aren't any signs up to say that you are at the hotel though, but that was the only bad thing I could say about The Old Palace! The room was lovely, breakfast was great and the view of Lincoln and the cathedral was nice. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben O, General Manager at The Old Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Suzanne F.

Thank you very much for your very kind review.

We appreciate that we can be difficult to find, however the Grade 1 listed nature of our business prohibits us from using signage. We think it is worth it once you do find us though, and I'm delighted that you agree.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards

Ben Orton
General Manager
The Old Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Set within the Lincoln Cathedral grounds, this hotel is located right next to the ruins of the medieval Bishop Residence and gardens and offering stunning Cathedral views if your room is facing the right side. This makes it an ideal choice of accomodation if the focus of your visit is the upper part of Lincoln, including the Castle and Cathedral in particular.
Unlike many problems which one might encounter with hotels in period buildings, this hotel is totally trouble free, this includes from air conditioning to powerful shower to efficient drainage in bathrooms. The hotel is also extremely clean and well equipped. Menu in restaurant does not offer a large selection, but what was offered was delicious.
I only stayed one night for my trip but would have loved to stay there longer. Definite recommendation !

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marietta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben O, General Manager at The Old Palace, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Marietta F

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Hotel.

We are very proud of how the hotel has been created in such a fantastic historical building and we're delighted that you appreciated this so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Best Regards

Ben Orton
General Manager
The Old Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

It took us while to fathom out the exact location of the hotel… not easy to find so suggest looking it up on the map beforehand. However, once through the archway and into the car park the adventure begins. The hotel is the former Bishop’s Palace and some of the rooms are housed in the converted church next to it known as The Lodge. Our room was there - beautifully redecorated in 2012 and boasted half a large rose window… we were at the top of the conversion. The shower room was very tastefully completed and with the hotel being so close to Lincoln Cathedral and a short walk to the best of things to see, we were able to walk in the grounds and enjoy the surrounding area around before retiring. Breakfast was in the main building and was very good. We stayed in a number of hotels/B & B’s this trip and this was, by far, the most interesting and the best value for money. Staff were great. Will be returning soon to this little gem!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in The Lodge Annexe but this is separate from the main building. Umbrellas are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshire-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben O, General Manager at The Old Palace, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Wiltshire-feet.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and its great that you were able to stay in our fantastic lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Best Regards.

Ben Orton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Firstly IGNORE negative reviews regarding how hard this hotel is to find. It was in face VERY easy. Firstly it is right on the doorstep of probably the biggest landmark in Lincoln, The Cathedral. Secondly, GOOGLE EARTH the place, SIMPLES!!!!!

My wife & i thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this just under a 1000 yr old, historical location.
We were initially a little disappointed with our first allocated room, as we were expecting something a bit more special, however the reception Manager Kate was extremely helpful & understanding, and changed our room without fuss. The room we were given was exactly what we were hoping for.
The room we stayed in was room No30 in The Old Palace Lodge located a short walk from the main building. And what a beautifully decorated and refurbished Victorian Church with Gothic features this was. This room was spacious, and had a large portion of a original stain glass window as the main feature as you walked into the room. The bathroom was ultra modern and tastefully decorated with a fabulous power shower. Tea/coffee making facilities were available & a flat screen wall mounted tv. The bed was very comfortable. The room was well ventilated using the dormer window & a fan was present in case it got too warm.
My wife and i stayed on a bed & breakfast basis, so cant comment on the evening meals, however the breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety. Plenty of cereals, fruit, fresh orange etc..... We had a full English breakfast, which we have no complaints about
My wife and i dined out on the evening, and when we arrived back into the main house we had a 'night cap' in the old Drawing room which had panoramic views over the City of Lincoln. There was no bar, however the attentive staff brought our drinks to us.
On the morning of departure, my wife and i had a pot of tea, in the garden. The garden was quiet and serene, and had wonderful views of Lincoln & St Hughes Chapel. The Chapel itself is worth a look at and is attached to the main building.
All in all, a fantastic place with friendly, professional & attentive staff. Particularly Kate & Rachael.
(We don't make habit of speaking to all staff wherever we stay, however all staff we came into contact with during our stay, were very friendly & polite)

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: The Old Palace Lodge is a must!!! Room 30 was beautiful, however next time we will hopfully try room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999hotlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben O, General Manager at The Old Palace, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear 999hotlips.

Thank you very much for your review regarding our hotel.

Your words about our staff were very kind, and Kate and Rachael were delighted that you were so appreciative of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, when you will hopefully have time for dinner in the restaurant.

With Best Regards

Ben Orton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights and overall we were very happy with our stay at the Old Palace hotel. We travelled quite a distance to get to Lincoln and we're very pleased to find enough parking available. The location of the hotel is fabulous and the hotel itself is very nice. The lounge and terrace were great places to relax in. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our only slight negatives was the room we stayed in was quite dark because if the location of the en-suite however it was plenty big enough and clean so not a major issue. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaK9373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben O, General Manager at The Old Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear AnnaK9373.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, and we are very grateful for your kind words regarding your stay.

Thank you also for your constructive feedback on the lighting in your room, which I will investigate in order to see if any improvements can be made here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Palace in the future.

With Very Best Regards.

Ben Orton

General Manager
The Old Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were in the chapel. The room was small, with a sloping roof. It was hot, but we did have a fan - which we did not notice. Room was very well decorated, bathroom modern. Location was in the cathedral square , so could not have been better. It IS hard to find, as they are not allowed to put adverts at the hotel, and the picture given is of the back of the hotel. We were able to park in the hotel car park all day after check out. Breakfast was good - although the poached eggs were cold!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben O, General Manager at The Old Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Andree W.

I was very happy to read your positive review of The Old Palace; Thank you very much for taking the time to post this.

This lovely summer weather does make the hotel on occasion warm, but definitely a small price to pay for being able to walk around the beautiful grounds of the cathedral in the sun!

I look forward to welcoming you back, when I guarantee that your eggs will be cooked to perfection as they usually are.

With Very Best Regards.

Ben Orton

General Manager
The Old Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace

Property: The Old Palace
Address: Minster Yard, Lincoln LN2 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing