We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go and come back again!!!”
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Ranked #13 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go and come back again!!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

On high recommendation, and keen foodies, We rolled up at the old bakery last Saturday at 12.10 for lunch, were seated, offered menus to peruse, to be told only 10 minutes later that a cookery demonstartion was going on and food ordered in the restaurant would be at least a 30 minutes wait!!!
So we left, but duly returned (?) 30 minutes later to accompany about 8 other diners - already seated. The starters - fish cake and risotto patty were still slow in coming - - and along with the mains - a blade of beef - were somewhat disappointing and did not live up to our expectations. The chef was was busy entertaining his flock of trainee cooks with stories - clearly his eye was off the ball.
No bread was served to us - so we had to ask for some?
This is 2012 - with hard earned money to spend, don't turn diners away and tell them come back later and dont forget the attention to detail.
We won't be giving the old bakery a second stab, but if you are considering giving this place a try - make sure the chef is in the kitchen!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    56
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
16
158
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portstewart N.Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This restaurant has been a favourite of mine for years and my visits to Lincoln wouldn't be complete without a meal here. The food is consistently good, the staff attentive and the atmosphere cosy.
There's always an element of surprise and last night it was the Bloody Mary jellies. A taste sensation!
In six years I have never been disappointed in my eating experience here. Treat yourself. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiltie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting The Old Bakery, Lincoln for the first time just over a week ago, and have been recommending it ever-since based on our experience. We enjoyed a superb, imaginative, tasty and very reasonably priced 3-course lunchtime meal accompanied by a refreshing wine. The staff were appropriately attentive and friendly. A thoroughly enjoyable experience, that we followed up with a stroll through the historic City and its art galleries. A perfect start to our Valentine weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Well, what can I say? No parking at the Old Bakery, and my 'Catch of the Day' fish choice in the restaurant had flown half-way across the world (instead of being caught off Grimsby as I'd hoped), but never mind. There are snug little bedrooms, and wonderful breakfasts! Make sure you ask for the home-made hash-browns, Alan will serve them with a smile, and believe me, they are almost as good as the ones available at the Ffive star Pan Pacific hotel in Singapore!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlaraZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I love the food - interesting and well put together flavour combinations and beautifully presented. I don't see the problem with portion size (see previous reviews) - this is about good tasty food and you can indulge in 3 courses without feeling overfaced. I also think it's great value. Service, apart from the time of booking, was excellent.

It was just a bit of a shame that I rang to make sure there was a bottle of champagne and glasses on the table ready on arrival as it was a special occasion. The response was we always have champagne chilled and sorry but we are really busy as it's lunchtime service, however it was there as requested when we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveLuxury2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Having just read the review for this restaurant in the Sunday Telegraph, I felt I had to write about our experience, starter good, main course very poor, cod over cooked, pushed it to one side, we did point this out.....waitress said she would speak to the chef, heard no more about it. Service poor and arrogant......all in all a bad experience. I would not recommend The Old Bakery.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elizabeth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We decided to pop in here for lunch today after reading the menu that was outside. It read very well, and we thought that a two course lunch for £12.50 was reasonable. We were shown to the conservatory at the back of the restaurant by a lovely waitress, and it was full with other diners chatting away. There was a really smashing atmosphere, and we were made very welcome by the owner of the business. The food was incredibly well presented, and was a real feast for the eyes! We will most definitely be eating here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.4 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 48 in Lincoln
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Property: The Old Bakery
Address: 26-28 Burton Road, Lincoln LN1 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bakery 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bakery rooms which belong to the sister company of The Old Bakery Restaurant have been awarded 4 star AA and 4 star Silver Award Quality in Tourism assessment ratings. The Old Bakery was listed in the September 2007 edition of The Sunday Times Travel Magazine as one of the Top 100 Finest Places to stay in England. We also had a full page feature during March 2009 in The Independent as one of the finest restaurant establishments achieving 5 stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing