We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and Quirky”
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Ranked #13 of 49 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Quality and Quirky”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you like to stay somewhere with character and history you will like it here. It's within close proximity to the cathedral and town. It's a lovely old building full of original features.
We stayed in the newly refurbished double en suite room. It was beautifully decorated (although the feature wall above the bed had insect wallpaper, albeit classy, for me it doesn't bode well for a good nights sleep!) Another thing that may put people off is the en suite is actually opposite this particular room...although lovely BIG soft robes are provided...a nice touch and I was impressed they were huge...I have a pet hate about "postage size bath towels" for us plus size people...the towels were also a good size, and the bathroom (shower/no bath) was also finished to a high standard, although I found the water pressure/temperature less impressive, which was a shame.
Breakfast was lovely, don't be put off by the not entirely en suite bathroom, the chances of meeting anyone between the 2 doors are remote as there are only 2 other rooms. We will stay there again. I'd advise the later check in as parking is restricted until after 6pm.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    56
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
16
166
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Having booked several months ago, we turned up yesterday at the Old Bakery to discover that it was closed for renovation. After contacting the owner, who rushed over to meet us, his wife disputed the booking although we had a confirmation email, that we showed them later that night. They offered us a small room that was in the middle of all the work and debris, but we decided not to stay as we thought the work noise in the morning would be too much. As we had booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal, we decided that although we would stay at another location, we would still take up the dinner offer. We had a fabulous meal, but were shocked when we were presented with a bill for the meal. £61.20 had been deducted, which the owners wife said was all they got from the offer voucher. I said the whole meal should have been complimentary as we had paid for it through the voucher offer, plus we had to pay for a night at another hotel. NO DEAL! We were very disappointed at the attitude taken, and would never stay there or eat there again

Room Tip: If you arrange anything through the owner Salvo, make sure you get a confirmation from his wife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We went here New Years Eve. It was packed, but the waiters and waitresses gave you excellent service. We had a table in the conservatory which was lovely, intimate, candlelit but private.
Cannot rave enough about this lovely gem.

Room Tip: Request a table in the conservatory
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aphroditeisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Experienced the 5 course taster menu, using a pre-bought offer. We drove 2 hours to get to Lincoln, and wondered, will it be worth it? We were not disappointed! We were treated wonderfully and every dish, drink we had, was also accompanied by extra information, given to us by our waitress. The food was delicious, and very more moreish. Our long journey back, gave us chance to discuss how much we had enjoyed the experience. Fantastic!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Satyed here over the Christmas market weekend. Ended up being the perfect location as we were only 100 metres, if that, from the stalls.
The rooms are in almost like an annexe and we had the double with seperate bathroom. before I got there I was concerned about how far we would have to go to use it but it is literally across the corridor. Bathroom had shower over a bath and was very nice and spacious. The room itself was a decent size my only complaint being that we could feel the mattress springs when we sat down or laid on the bed. Having said this we both slept very well. There wasn't much evening noise as we expected due to proximity to the market- was more in the morning when traders were topping up their stock.

The breakfast was very enjoyable and lots of choice. Cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juices, pastries and yogurts on offer and the cooked breakfast was very filling and just how I liked it.

I would only make two suggestions to the hotel: change the mattresses and offer sweetner is rooms and in breakfast area as standard. I had to keep asking for it and, although it was brought straight away, I did feel like I was being a nuisance.

Room Tip: A flight of stairs is used to access rooms so if you struggle with stairs then don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Have just returned from a night away in Lincoln. We stayed at the old bakery. We arrived in the morning, we were greeted by the owner who showed us up to our room. We had booked a bedroom with private bathroom, but she had a cancellation so she gave us a room with ensuite. It was lovely, everything you needed. tea/coffee. colour telly, hairdryer and toiletries in the ensuite. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but when we came back from town it had a few customers in. I must admit I was a bit worried about the noise from the restaurant when we got into bed as I was thinking how late will this go onto , but come 11 ish, it was all quiet. We slept very well. The breakfast choice was lovely there was something for everyone eating habits.
Our breakfast full Lincolnshire was very good and filling. Definitely book there again if we ever went back to Lincoln. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We recently visited Lincoln and stayed at The Old Bakery. Not only were we greeted with a warm welcome, but our room was unique and extremely comfortable too. Chef Ivano cooked the most wonderful breakfast and spoke to us about the history of the hotel and restaurant. Thank you for making our first trip to Lincoln a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlutterB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#3 of 49 in Lincoln
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Property: The Old Bakery
Address: 26-28 Burton Road, Lincoln LN1 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bakery 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bakery rooms which belong to the sister company of The Old Bakery Restaurant have been awarded 4 star AA and 4 star Silver Award Quality in Tourism assessment ratings. The Old Bakery was listed in the September 2007 edition of The Sunday Times Travel Magazine as one of the Top 100 Finest Places to stay in England. We also had a full page feature during March 2009 in The Independent as one of the finest restaurant establishments achieving 5 stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing