We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOMELY AND COMFORTABLE”

Bells’ Tea and Coffee House
Ranked #10 of 33 Coffee & Tea in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A traditional English tea shop, located just five minutes from both Lincoln Castle and Lincoln Cathedral at the top of Steep Hill. Wherever possible we use local produce and ingredients and all food is prepared to order. We have a great selection of loose leaf teas and coffee and delicious homemade cakes and scones. We serve a delicious full English breakfast all day and tasty sandwiches, paninis and jacket potatoes.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“HOMELY AND COMFORTABLE”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Service was excellent and everyone was very polite, go for the full English if you are allowed to but there are many other tempting treats so you will not go hungry

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    63
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay Away - Rude and Unfriendly”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were visiting elderly relatives in Lincoln for two days and wanted to treat them to a lovely lunch and tea out by the Cathderal. I went into the Bells Tea and Coffee House because it looked so nice and bright and had very welcoming signs on the door. Unfortunately there was no spare table for four and we were told to wait around 15 minutes. That wasn't a problem so we went to another tea house for lunch and wanted to return to Bells for afternoon tea and scones.

We arrived back at around 2:30pm to find the tea room half empty. I asked for a table for 4 and, before the lady at the counter could answer, a "gentleman" came down the stairs and said he wanted "to catch up" and there wasn't a table for us. In my opinion, he was rude and unfriendly - business must be really good if he can turn away customers from a tea and coffee house because he has been too busy - and remember it was 2:30pm on a Tuesday afternoon and the place was half full.

Bells do not deserve customers with an attitude like this - by the way, we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch, tea and scones at the next door cafe Pimento. They were very friendly towards overseas visitors and kind and considerate to our 82 year old local relatives

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Stewartf505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely tearoom.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a bite to eat and just thought it was lovely. The children's lunch was perfect for my little boy and they even made it first as he was asking for his ninner every time someone walked into the room. My panini was lovely and so was my husband's sandwich. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners_Sept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfasts!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in Lincoln for the Bank Holiday weekend and wanted to eat out for breakfast . We were so glad when we found Bells that we went back the following morning too!! We both had scrambled eggs and bacon the first time....scrambled eggs cooked properly - amazing!!! The produce was all first class which makes a huge difference to the meal so on Sunday morning we both couldn't resist a Full English and we weren't disappointed!!! Lovely service too x

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplejulesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Excellent”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently had afternoon tea and felt we had to let people know how delicious it was. It is recommended to book in advance in order that the tea room can provide a good selection of delicious cakes and pastries. The sandwiches are also excellent. There was 5 of us and we booked afternoon tea for 4, and the food was plentiful and enough for all of us. Highly recommended and would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathanandlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bells’ Tea and Coffee House also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Bells’ Tea and Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing