We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MaCh Restaurant

MaCh Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indian cuisine served in a modern, vibrant atmosphere where the focus is on the customers and food.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quality and class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Always a treat, and one we really look forward to. Spot on authentic food, nice portion size, dishes you'll struggle to find elsewhere, beautifully laid out and really great staff. A real touch of class in an unusual spot on the road to Skegness and next to a petrol station. Well worth seeking out and visiting regularly! My other favourite Indian restaurant is on the A1 at Sawtry next to a petrol station, maybe that's the key?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RealAleRealBellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    85
    25
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Married couple
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food however don't order your take away to early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are regulars of the Mach and have to say we have always been happy with it however we ordered a takeaway last week and it was not as good, we picked it up around 18.45 hours and the quality was not the same, it was I have to say as though they had used another pervious sauce from the night before and tried to turn it into something else, not good.

I must just add to the fact that we are noticing there portions are getting smaller, they nann bread for example has halved in size to what it used to be three weeks ago.

We will give this place one more go as it was our favourite place, however we will be hoping it goes back to its usual be restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavinder G, Owner at MaCh Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
I am sorry that you felt your takeaway was below par last night, had you called us we would have done everything we could have to put the situation right.

As for using sauces from the previous night and turning it into another curry is something I can assure you we do not do and if you ask anyone who works in an indian restaurant is virtually impossible. As a regular customer I am dissapointed that you think that.

All our food is cooked to order when it is ordered. I take food quality very seriously and high standards of food hygiene is given high priority in our restaurant, which is reflected in our 5 stars recieved from the council for food hygiene standards.

Also there has been no change in portion sizes and no one has ever mentioned that naans have halved in size, something like that would be very noticeable for all our customers.

I hope you do come back as you have been regular customer and any concerns and feedback you may have, please do not hesitate to discuss with me at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Always an excellent place to eat. Service is brilliant. Food is fantastic! We've visited several times, as a couple and with a group of friends and have never been disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jefflyn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Have just managed to a visit again, which has now been twice in the last 3 weeks and as always NEVER leave feeling less than 100% satisfied.

I have six indian restaurants in Retford and there is NO WAY we would go anywhere else than MaCh, it is worth the 40 mile round trip.

The service is always exceptional and the lovely man who meets you and shows you to your table is INFACT very quiet and shy and not in your face, which is what we like. He is a really nice person with a great sense of humour once you get to know him.

All of the staff in the restaurant are extremely hard working and the owner makes sure everything is always as you requested. If your meal is not to your taste, I can assure he would be the first to put it right and make sure your evening went well,

I have never ever had a less than 100% meal here and we have been several times now with friends.

Looking forward to our next visit really soon, but not good for my diet!!!!

Thanks Mav and all the team for a fab night and as always, great to see you all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abirag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wednesday Special!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Have visited a number of times and never been disappointed. By chance visited on a Wednesday which was one of their special nights. Eat as much as you can for £14.50. Great opportunity to order different starters and mains and try new things. Expected it to be buffet style as these special nights often are but this was not the case. We had a lovely mixed starter (1 piece each of every starter) and 4 small main chicken dishes between the 2 of us as well as poppadoms, rice, naan etc. Good value and good service. Will continue to visit and would recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MaCh Restaurant also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to MaCh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing