We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique room - dear but nice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tennyson Court

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tennyson Court
Ranked #34 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boutique room - dear but nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Found the boutique room at tennyson to be a tad pricey at £80 however this was a last minute stay and we saved money by cooking at the cottage so won't grumble about the price. Everywhere was very tidy however some cutlery and an oven tray was dirty so was surprised at that. Wasn't too keen on the gothic style (although did know that this was how the cottage was decorated before booking) but absolutely adored the bed and the led lighting. Liked that every appliance was user friendly barring the temperature control for the under floor heating which was initially inviting but soon became uncomfortably warm. Overall though, love the location, the cottages in general and would stay again but maybe not in the boutique room.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daxz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    25
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
29
30
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Looking for top quality self catering accommodation with secure off street parking and great rates in lincoln? Look no further. You will not get better value for money. On a two month tour of the UK and have not found better.
Fully equipt with local supermarket five minutes walk away.
P.S. No, I am not related to the owner

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jimnlinda73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

A great flat at a very good rate - you wouldn't get so much space for so little money elsewhere in Lincoln. Kitchen/diner and lounge, 2 very good sized bedrooms. Stock of ice cubes in freezer - great idea!
Clean and well provided. Large bath towels. Washing up liquid provided too which was a surprise.
Comfy beds.
Quiet and peaceful was able to have windows open all night
Never used a wet room before and am now considering having one installed!

Room Tip: our flat - Shallot - is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

As a frequent visitor to Lincoln, I was looking for self catering which suited me better than a hotel. The website showed some nice photos and I thought the place would be ideal. The setting was attractive with plants around the court yard and the location was good.
However once in the property it became apparent that it needed some serious TLC. There was a layer of dust on all the blinds and the bedhead, and cobwebs and dust under the dressing table. There were blown lightbulbs,the socket for the over bed lighting was hanging off, the bed was very creaky, the lights flickered when how water was turned on, the loo flush was partly broken and all the soap dispensers were empty. All these things could be easily sorted and I am sure they would get repeat bookings but sorry-it won't be me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudwert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Walking distance, half way between the old historical part and the new cit centre. Very secure and self catering apartment. Owner always helpful when a need arose.We arrived late in the afternoon and the owner was very accomodating and came to meet us on arrival.grocery stores were in walking distance which we appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklin770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I needed accommodation close to Lincoln city centre and Tennyson Court fitted the bill. Parking was a bit tight, but secure enough. The accommodation itself was very clean and comfortable. It really was a home from home, as almost anything you could possibly need for a short stay was there, including a washing machine and dishwasher! All this for a very reasonable price. The owner was always helpful too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PaulEC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

6 of us stayed at tennyson Court for a reunion weekend. The location was good as we know Lincoln well and were heading out to bars
The parking was substantial and safe, the rooms were lovely and comfortable. It was the best value for money for a group of 6 people wanting to stay together. It was very clean and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daxz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
Brayford Guest House
Brayford Guest House
#10 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tennyson
The Tennyson
#18 of 52 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pemberton House
Pemberton House
#47 of 52 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grayz Apartments
Grayz Apartments
#3 of 13 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#26 of 52 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#5 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennyson Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennyson Court

Property: Tennyson Court
Address: 3 Tennyson Street, Lincoln LN1 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennyson Court 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering / Bed and Breakfast in Lincoln, Lincolnshire. Set in a 19th-century cobbled courtyard, Tennyson Court was a Victorian racecourse stable. Old beams & wood floors define the classic charm of old England. The building has been elegantly converted, while retaining all the character of the 19th century. Self Catering Cottages in Lincoln, Lincolnshire have 1 double bedroom; 1-3 single or 1 twin & 2 single bedrooms; toilets(s), shower, lounge, kitchen (with dishwasher & washer dryer). Linen and Towels included. Free CableTV, Payphone and FREE Wireless Broadband Internet Access. B&B (Bed & Breakfast) Cottages in Lincoln, Lincolnshire consist of a double bedroom plus 1-3 single or 1 twin & 2 single bedrooms, shower, WC(s) and lounge. Cable TV & Telephone. Continental breakfast included. Secure courtyard parking inside automatic security gates ensure total privacy in an area of the city popular with residents and noted for its quiet Victorian charm and close proximity to the Cathedral, Castle and City centre. (10 min. walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Tennyson Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing